We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unforgettable experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stamford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stamford Lodge Guest House
Ranked #4 of 18 Stamford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An unforgettable experience”
Reviewed 9 September 2012 via mobile

Our first B&B traveling and this was an amazing start. Beautifully presented accommodation with such unique touches of welcoming in every aspect of B&B. The best breakfast ever and the warmth and friendliness will leave a lasting impression on our stay in Stamford. Don't miss the opportunity to stay here.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nerrida S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
81
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Amazing. Brilliant. Fantastic. This place is incredible and you would be completely bonkers to stay anywhere else when staying in Stamford. I had never been to a B&B before and my stay at Stamford Lodge Guest House was a wonderful introduction. Gemma was a lovely host - friendly, helpful and happy to accomodate early check ins. The room was beautifully decorated and little touches like L'Occitane soaps and home made biscuits made it even more special. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept on and the breakfast in the morning was delicious (very impressed there was a choice of 4 breakfasts! Full English, Kippers, Scrambled Eggs and smoked salmon or Continental.) It's central location means you're close to a huge choice of restaurants and pubs and easy walking distance from the train station. For those of you who use B&B's regularly, Im sure you'll find this is one of the best establishments of it's kind - and to those of you who normally stay in hotels, I urge you to give this B&B a go. You'll love it. I certainly did!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

A friend and myself spent a couple of nights at Stamford Lodge Guest House and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had a twin room which was beautifully furnished with quirky vintage pieces of furniture. The bathroom was a bit small but had a good shower and we were provided with L'Occitane soap, which was a nice touch. Gemma Larke was very friendly and welcoming and did her best to make us feel at home. Breakfast was delicious, with a muesli and fruit cocktail as a "starter" which I thought was very original. We also had cooked breakfasts to order. This B & B is in a very convenient location just a few minutes' walk from the town centre and a few minutes' walk in the opposite direction from a big Waitrose. There is also parking across the road. I would definitely recommend this B & B to other visitors to Stamford and I am sure we will be returning at some point in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We were greeted with a lovely welcome and from that moment our experience at this hotel was far better than expectations. We enjoyed a friendly personal service and it was the additional little touches that made this place stand out. Fresh milk on hand for tea and coffee, lovely biscuits in the room and fabulous home prepared food for breakfast. The decor was very tasteful and looked like it had been put together with loving care. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ByeByeCliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed for a night at the Stamford Lodge Guest House. Gemma was very welcoming and made us feel at home. Little Alfie is just adorable! We had a twin room which though may be considered on the smaller side was more than adequate for what we needed. The room was furnished to reflect the age of the house. It was spotlessly clean. The beds were extremely comfortable, giving us a good night's sleep. The bathroom was modern and clean. The room had everything we needed for our nights stay. There was an excellent choice of breakfast. Breakfast was lovely and set us up for the day.

The location of the hotel was excellent, with Stamford center within a very short walking distance. Stamford was a gorgeous town. We also went to a performance of "Twelve Night" by the Stamford Shakespeare Company. I would strongly recommend going to see one of their performances whilst in Stamford.

We will be staying at the Guest house again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsnwd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We stayed 2 nights for a relaxed sightseeing of Stamford and Burghley. We were made so welcome by Gemma from the moment we arrived with warm plum bread! The room was lovely and the furnishing and ornaments were charming and reflected the interests of our hostess. We would recommend this home from home to anyone seeking comfort with breakfasts to order with excellent cooking. the recommendations on eating out were spot on so Stamford is well worth visiting.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest, UK
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Gemma is a very welcoming hostess and was eager to fill us in on all things Stamford. We had a nice, if slightly small for 2 cases, room with a modern en-suite and a different type of shower for me to guess how it works. With a new shower design, I like to try and turn it on from outside the shower until I've got the temperature right. This wasn't possible because of the fixed position of the shower head but it warmed up fast and I had a good drenching. The guest house is very close to the main shopping area of this attractive town, and there is a remarkably large choice of places to eat for the size of the place. A few shops don't open until 10am if you are leaving next day. You have to pay for parking in across the road though it is free 6pm to 8am. The car park, midweek, was never full and the maximum charge would be £4 all day. Wifi, secured by password, works well. Breakfast is a real stunner, well described by others, one of the best we've had in a B&B. One client report mentions a discount for staying 2 nights. This wasn't offered to us so don't get too excited.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bugsy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stamford
0.5 mi away
The William Cecil at Stamford
5.7 mi away
Best Western Normanton Park Hotel
7.8 mi away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Haycock Hotel
Haycock Hotel
#17 of 27 in Peterborough
790 reviews
13.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Corby
7.5 mi away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Lodge Guest House

Property: Stamford Lodge Guest House
Address: 66 Scotgate, Stamford PE9 2YB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Stamford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Stamford
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Stamford Lodge Guest House Hotel Stamford
Stamford Lodge Guest House Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing