We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stamford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stamford Lodge Guest House
Ranked #4 of 17 Stamford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This was our first visit to the Stamford Lodge Guest House, and we are so happy and grateful that we made the decision to do so! From the moment we arrived, Gemma could not have been more welcoming and gracious. Our room, a twin on the first floor, was immaculate and elegantly decorated. The bathroom was superb: there were cubbies for storage and a rain shower shower head - bliss! Breakfasts were superb - ample, varied, cooked to order, hot, and delicious. There is plenty of choice. The guest house's location is perfect: walking distance to everything in town. Thank you, Gemma, for making us feel so welcome and for your friendly professionalism! We will be back, and tell all of our friends about you in the mean time!

Room Tip: Twin room is lovely, but faces the road. If you want the window open and road noise bothers you, re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldexplorer0820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

The guest house is very easy to find, it is a couple of minutes walk from the centre of Stamford and there is a car park directly across the road. Lovely after a hot drive to be greeted with a smiling face and a glass of cold white wine. Guests get a key to the front door and their room so free to come and go as you please. Our room was a double at the top of the stairs overlooking a lovely courtyard garden, The bed was massive and very comfortable with lovely bedding. The choice of hot drinks was very good with fresh milk and the little chocolate bars were a nice touch. Everything was very well decorated and quaint with antique glass and china everywhere but despite that the property was immaculate. The bathroom was lovely and the toiletries were good but it was a little on the small side so felt cramped. Don't eat a big dinner as the breakfasts are huge and tasty. Orange juice is fresh and there is a good choice of cereal or home-made yoghurt pot. Full English breakfast or choice of kippers smoked salmon or smoked haddock to follow. Haddock came with two poached eggs and a tomato - the biggest portion I have ever had and beautifully served. Good to have everything in old fashioned dishes including salt and pepper! Great value for money and far more personal touches than you would ever get in even the best hotels..

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor for people who find stairs difficult.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Top quality B&B, arrived to a very friendly welcome, shown to my room and handed a glass of white wine which was perfect after a long drive. Room absolutely lovely, deep bedding, beautiful ornate antique furniture but still modern and a very luxurious ensuite. Breakfast, there was an amazing choice of muesli with summer fruit and other fresh choices followed by full English or salmon and scrambled egg or kippers and other special dishes. I had the salmon and got an enormous portion of the best smoked salmon and yellow eggs with what must have been home-made bread, delicious. Freshly squeezed orange juice was topped up. Couldn't have wanted more, very spoilt. And all for a very reasonable and competitive price in the most beautiful town I've ever stayed in, perfect!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iscra186342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We have just stayed at the Stamford Lodge for 2 nights and felt I had to write a quick reveiw as we throroughly enjoyed ourselves. Gemma is so lovely and can't do enough for you. Our room was wonderful (we were even greeted with a slice of cake each) and the breakfast was delicious! We loved it here and will definitely be back to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stayed for one night at Stamford Lodge...our third stay and, once again, we were wowed....Gemma is simply the best hostess in the world...glass of wine upon arrival, room was wonderfully comfortable and clean....and breakfast the following morning was divine...home made yoghurty pots followed by haddock and eggs....all the china and glassware are individual pieces which adds to the overall charm and ambience...this must be the best B and B in the country!!!

Room Tip: The bedroom at the back is quieter as it does not look out over the road leading into the town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

As many have said before, the hospitality and feel at Stamford Lodge is very special. The breakfast is one of the best I have ever seen and the thoughtfulness of Gemma to bring coffee out to the garden when i had some family visiting briefly was top class. The room i had was a single but the bed is bigger than some doubles i have seen. Very enjoyable stay and on pure service alone is worth every penny of what is a very reasonable price. Highly recommend.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
Thank romo_wob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

From the warmth of the welcome to the wonderful breakfast, all was superb. You would have to go a long way to find a more friendly, better appointed guest house. we loved the quirky touches, the family feel, the books in the bedrooms, in fact everything about our stay was first class.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrbrinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stamford hotels
0.3 mi away
The George Of Stamford
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel Stamford
0.6 mi away
The William Cecil at Stamford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Borderville Farm Guest House
0.4 mi away
Gwynne House
Gwynne House
#10 of 17 in Stamford
86 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stamford House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Lodge Guest House

Address: 66 Scotgate, Stamford PE9 2YB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Stamford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Stamford
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Stamford Lodge Guest House Hotel Stamford
Stamford Lodge Guest House Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing