We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent again...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stamford Lodge Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stamford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stamford Lodge Guest House
Ranked #3 of 19 Stamford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St Brelade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent again...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

I stayed here a couple of years ago and was very impressed. I am pleased to report nothing seems to have changed. The rooms are still very comfortable and full of character; well appointed with lots of personal touches. The guest house is located minutes away (on foot) from shopping, food and drink, has excellent wifi, and Gemma prepares a lovely breakfast full of organic and local foods. Stamford Lodge is excellent value for money, and as Gemma is a local, she will happily suggest places to go for meals, shopping and so on. Go there...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DMA25TheSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
79
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We checked out all the other reviews on trip advisor and these are all correct. We were greeted with a genuine welcome and a mulled cider, yum! Fantastic breakfast, all great quality. One of the single beds that formed the double could do with a change but it would never put us off another visit. You won't find better for the price and we have stayed in most of the hotels in town over the years.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stewart E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

If you're looking for a place to stay in Stamford, this has got to be the place for you.Gemma was the perfect hostess, offering mulled cider and mince pies as a welcome.The room was comfortable and cosy.Her recommendation of the Tobie Norris, for eating out,was inspired.The breakfast was fantastic and cooked to perfection.This was a wonderful experience.The highest recommendation for this one!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Badgercoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Fabulous, quirky and perfect.
Gemma couldn't do enough to make us welcome and comfortable.
From the cake, mulled cider, fabulous breakfast, restaurant recommendations (Tobie Norris was amazing) and free Burghley House passes, to the chocolate mice, this was a perfect stay.
Would not hesitate to recommend Stamford Loge.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OolaTeatime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

My colleague and I stayed at Stamford Lodge for a couple of nights for an event in town. Stamford Lodge is well situated, welcoming, the food is genuinely excellent and the room we stayed in was fantastic. Gemma is a warm and welcoming host. Couldn't have been a better stay and brilliantly priced.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annacolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

My husband and I booked, short notice, for a one night stay in Stamford on our return journey from Martlesham Heath. We journey to Martlesham in ipswich 5/6 times a year and often break the journey up by stopping in Stamford en-route for a walk around and a coffee/lunch break. Since it was also to be our 32nd wedding anniversary, I thought how nice it would be to actually stay there overnight and have an opportunity of taking a really good look around this lovely historic town.

We found the lodge relatively easily (but would have found it even sooner had we taken the correct turn-off the motorway) to be greeted by Gemma who was so welcoming and showed genuine interest in where we had been etc - although we somehown missed out on the glass of wine...........according to other reviews!

She offered to indicate where some of the nicer public houses and restaurants were should we want to venture out later - to which we took up her offer andhad a wonderful evening.

Gemma was attentive but without interfering in anyway. The room was beautiful, the en-suite was excellent and very clean. We were issued with keys to room and front door to allow us to leave and return as and when we wished.

The breakfast was tremendous and I do honestly wonder how Gemma can possibly make any money from the nightly rate - an amazing choice, and more that humanly possible to eat.....surely?

I would certainly like to stay there again, and hopefully for longer than the one night and would most certainly recommend it to my friends and family although I would rather like to keep this little "gem" all to myself.

Well done Gemma for running an excellent Guest House - you should be proud.

Room Tip: choice of twin or double beds - both equally excellently furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 55yorkterrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
184 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

This was our first visit to the Stamford Lodge Guest House, and we are so happy and grateful that we made the decision to do so! From the moment we arrived, Gemma could not have been more welcoming and gracious. Our room, a twin on the first floor, was immaculate and elegantly decorated. The bathroom was superb: there were cubbies for storage and a rain shower shower head - bliss! Breakfasts were superb - ample, varied, cooked to order, hot, and delicious. There is plenty of choice. The guest house's location is perfect: walking distance to everything in town. Thank you, Gemma, for making us feel so welcome and for your friendly professionalism! We will be back, and tell all of our friends about you in the mean time!

Room Tip: Twin room is lovely, but faces the road. If you want the window open and road noise bothers you, re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldexplorer0820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stamford
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel Stamford
0.5 mi away
The William Cecil at Stamford
0.3 mi away
The George Of Stamford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Bull & Swan
The Bull & Swan
#4 of 8 in Stamford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
7.5 mi away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
10.3 mi away
Brook Whipper-In Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Lodge Guest House

Property: Stamford Lodge Guest House
Address: 66 Scotgate, Stamford PE9 2YB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Stamford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Stamford
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Stamford Lodge Guest House Hotel Stamford
Stamford Lodge Guest House Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing