We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place for the perfect weekend.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stamford Lodge Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stamford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stamford Lodge Guest House
Ranked #3 of 19 Stamford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Perfect place for the perfect weekend.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for two nights 7th and 8th March, there are only 5 rooms, but this is Stamford's little gem without a doubt. Gemma is the perfect host and nothing is too much trouble, breakfast was of the highest standard and the perfect cure to a couple of shandy's the night before. It's central location makes it the ideal starting point whatever the reason for your visit. We will definitely be booking again for next years visit.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Robwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
79
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

From the moment we arrived and Jemma offered cake & wine we knew this accomodation was of a high standard. Jemma was very helpful without being overbearing. Great place, superb bed, relaxing weekend, sumptuious setting.

Room Tip: Very quiet if if you get a rear facing room, really peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at The Stamford Guest House. Arriving mid morning on Saturday, we were warmly greeted by Amy, who was looking after guest house in Gemma’s absence. The breakfast room is first thing you see and it was so cosy and welcoming, lit with candles and the walls adorned with an interesting display of pictures and nick nacks, it set the scene for the rest of the house. We were then shown our lovely room, which was a good size at the front of the property overlooking the street. The downstairs cottagy theme continued into the bedrooms, making them feel fresh and cosy. Our shower room was very sleek and pristine. It was well kitted out with cotton wool balls, wash liquid and upmarket creams. Arriving back mid afternoon I popped down to get some sugar and Amy greeted me with pieces of cake. Coupled with all the sweeties that are to be found in the bedroom we were very well looked after for treats.

A pay and display car park is just across the road from the guest house, costing £2 for 2 hours and 4 hours + is only £4. So make sure you have the right change. After 6 p.m. the car park is free, but charging does kick in again at 8 a.m. the following morning. Gemma suggested feeding the meter after 6 p.m. which would save one getting up early to display a new ticket. I was pleased to note however, that It’s free to park on Sundays and Bank holidays.

Breakfast arrangements were refreshingly laid back, Amy asking me what time we would like to have Breakfast as it “was our weekend”. We plumped for a super lazy 10 a.m., but we were not alone, so that made for a nice slow wake on the Sunday morning. We were also greeted by a well kitted out Breakfast bar, full of mix your own mueslis. As we hadn’t stipulated our ‘starters’ two delightful bowls of Greek yogurt with muesli and fresh fruit awaited us - like a breakfast trifle and jolly nice it was too. Fresh orange juice and a choice of tea or coffee was served, along with a choice of breakfast (choices to be made the evening before). We plumped for a full English with mixed toast, the quality of which was excellent. Everything about this place is pure quality and you feel instantly at home.

I should also say that our nights stay had been extremely comfortable, quiet, even though we had a road side room. Indeed I can fault nothing and that's just as well as we had already booked for Easter! The location is superb too, being right in the centre of town, close to all the excellent Stamford Pubs, shops and Restaurants.

Simply perfect.

Room Tip: We were in room 40 which were told was the larger of the double bedrooms. This over looked the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clootiedumpling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

My husband booked us a last minute treat for valentines night and we drove up to Stamford for a one night stay. From the moment we walked in the door we received a lovely welcome from Gemma. The whole place is beautifully decorated with lots of character and our room was lovely with a big comfortable bed. You can see that gemma has not scrimped on quality. Again there were lots of little extras like being able to help yourself to a gin and tonic or a glass of wine from the guest fridge. Breakfast offered good choice and was delicious...again there was no scrimping on quality. Will definitely be going again as this was one of the best B&Bs I have stayed at in some time. Fantastic value. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Longhaulluvvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We booked one nights B&B for Mon 23rd December as a stop off on our way to Leicestershire for Christmas. Effortless booking with Gemma (the owner) and a very warm welcome and on a very wet, windy and miserable day. Gemma was just lovely, welcomed us with hot cider which went down a treat & home-made Banana bread .... Beautiful room at the front of the house with some lovely personal and quirky touches, I loved her style and design. Room was en suite with a lovely bathroom. Everywhere, and especially our room was exceptionally clean. Gemma was full of great info, especially with Restaurant suggestions - we made it to Ned's Yard on her advice and it was excellent. Breakfast was delicious with lots of variety from different cereals, pastries and a full English breakfast - didn't need to eat for the rest of the day. My only one small, I mean teeny, tiny complaint, well it's not really a complaint just a preference, but the pillows were a bit hard or should I say lacked support and I had a sore head and neck first thing in the morning - I usually take my Dunlopillow with me when I travel in the UK but forgot it on this occasion.... they provide excellent support, particularly for the neck - just a thought!

If you plan to visit Stamford - then you must stay at the Stamford Lodge - it's a beautiful home with a wonderfully engaging, welcoming and friendly owner, who provides an excellent service and at a very reasonable rate.

Room Tip: The yellow room in the front of the house is lovely, but then they all were!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eilis007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

I booked a one night stay with my boyfriend and from the moment we got there it was all perfect. Even when booking on the phone Gemma was lovely!
I have never stayed somewhere with such good customer service and the room & interiors were lovely. Also, breakfast was perfect!! Will be recommending to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MollyIsobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Brelade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

I stayed here a couple of years ago and was very impressed. I am pleased to report nothing seems to have changed. The rooms are still very comfortable and full of character; well appointed with lots of personal touches. The guest house is located minutes away (on foot) from shopping, food and drink, has excellent wifi, and Gemma prepares a lovely breakfast full of organic and local foods. Stamford Lodge is excellent value for money, and as Gemma is a local, she will happily suggest places to go for meals, shopping and so on. Go there...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DMA25TheSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stamford
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel Stamford
0.5 mi away
The William Cecil at Stamford
0.3 mi away
The George Of Stamford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Bull & Swan
The Bull & Swan
#4 of 8 in Stamford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
7.5 mi away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
10.3 mi away
Brook Whipper-In Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Lodge Guest House

Property: Stamford Lodge Guest House
Address: 66 Scotgate, Stamford PE9 2YB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Stamford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Stamford
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Stamford Lodge Guest House Hotel Stamford
Stamford Lodge Guest House Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing