We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stamford Lodge Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stamford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stamford Lodge Guest House
Ranked #3 of 18 Stamford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“What a find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We found this B & B on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. We were a little concerned by the lack of car parking when we booked but it is directly opposite a public car park so no problem at all. Our room was beautiful with lots of quirky bits and pieces and we were welcomed with cake. Beds were comfy and the whole place is spotless - breakfast was of the highest quality with 3 fishy options as well as full English. Thank you Gemma.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
79
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We received a very friendly welcome to a beautifully decorated, charming B&B in central Stamford. The breakfast was excellent & the owner couldn't have been more helpful & attentive. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wittle31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Stopping over for our tour and the lady who ran the guest house was lovely (Gemma). the house built in the historic town was full to the brim of character and qwerky touches. Fantastic Hospitality & Breakfast. Room was just perfect, with modern en-suite and features, mixed with niche items such as the mirrors, bed & other items. The breakfast room was also full of character with the owner showing perfect hospitality and excellent service, always doing her best to ensure your stay was perfect. Breakfast consisted of a home made yoghurt pot with fruit and muesli, followed by a locally produced english breakfast. tea, coffee and orange juice were all made and available, with the ability to have tea & coffee in the rooms.

The Stamford Lodge, seated just a few moments walk from the town centre was a perfect location to be able to relax and enjoy the area.

First visit to Stamford and will more than likely visit again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven060101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for two nights 7th and 8th March, there are only 5 rooms, but this is Stamford's little gem without a doubt. Gemma is the perfect host and nothing is too much trouble, breakfast was of the highest standard and the perfect cure to a couple of shandy's the night before. It's central location makes it the ideal starting point whatever the reason for your visit. We will definitely be booking again for next years visit.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Robwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

From the moment we arrived and Jemma offered cake & wine we knew this accomodation was of a high standard. Jemma was very helpful without being overbearing. Great place, superb bed, relaxing weekend, sumptuious setting.

Room Tip: Very quiet if if you get a rear facing room, really peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at The Stamford Guest House. Arriving mid morning on Saturday, we were warmly greeted by Amy, who was looking after guest house in Gemma’s absence. The breakfast room is first thing you see and it was so cosy and welcoming, lit with candles and the walls adorned with an interesting display of pictures and nick nacks, it set the scene for the rest of the house. We were then shown our lovely room, which was a good size at the front of the property overlooking the street. The downstairs cottagy theme continued into the bedrooms, making them feel fresh and cosy. Our shower room was very sleek and pristine. It was well kitted out with cotton wool balls, wash liquid and upmarket creams. Arriving back mid afternoon I popped down to get some sugar and Amy greeted me with pieces of cake. Coupled with all the sweeties that are to be found in the bedroom we were very well looked after for treats.

A pay and display car park is just across the road from the guest house, costing £2 for 2 hours and 4 hours + is only £4. So make sure you have the right change. After 6 p.m. the car park is free, but charging does kick in again at 8 a.m. the following morning. Gemma suggested feeding the meter after 6 p.m. which would save one getting up early to display a new ticket. I was pleased to note however, that It’s free to park on Sundays and Bank holidays.

Breakfast arrangements were refreshingly laid back, Amy asking me what time we would like to have Breakfast as it “was our weekend”. We plumped for a super lazy 10 a.m., but we were not alone, so that made for a nice slow wake on the Sunday morning. We were also greeted by a well kitted out Breakfast bar, full of mix your own mueslis. As we hadn’t stipulated our ‘starters’ two delightful bowls of Greek yogurt with muesli and fresh fruit awaited us - like a breakfast trifle and jolly nice it was too. Fresh orange juice and a choice of tea or coffee was served, along with a choice of breakfast (choices to be made the evening before). We plumped for a full English with mixed toast, the quality of which was excellent. Everything about this place is pure quality and you feel instantly at home.

I should also say that our nights stay had been extremely comfortable, quiet, even though we had a road side room. Indeed I can fault nothing and that's just as well as we had already booked for Easter! The location is superb too, being right in the centre of town, close to all the excellent Stamford Pubs, shops and Restaurants.

Simply perfect.

Room Tip: We were in room 40 which were told was the larger of the double bedrooms. This over looked the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clootiedumpling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

My husband booked us a last minute treat for valentines night and we drove up to Stamford for a one night stay. From the moment we walked in the door we received a lovely welcome from Gemma. The whole place is beautifully decorated with lots of character and our room was lovely with a big comfortable bed. You can see that gemma has not scrimped on quality. Again there were lots of little extras like being able to help yourself to a gin and tonic or a glass of wine from the guest fridge. Breakfast offered good choice and was delicious...again there was no scrimping on quality. Will definitely be going again as this was one of the best B&Bs I have stayed at in some time. Fantastic value. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Longhaulluvvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stamford
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel Stamford
0.5 mi away
The William Cecil at Stamford
0.3 mi away
The George Of Stamford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Bull & Swan
The Bull & Swan
#4 of 8 in Stamford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
6.4 mi away
Greetham Valley Hotel
Greetham Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Greetham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
7.5 mi away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Lodge Guest House

Property: Stamford Lodge Guest House
Address: 66 Scotgate, Stamford PE9 2YB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Stamford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Stamford
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Stamford Lodge Guest House Hotel Stamford
Stamford Lodge Guest House Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing