We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, a secret gem”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stamford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stamford Lodge Guest House
Ranked #4 of 17 Stamford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2011

Never written a review for tripadviser despite staying in some amazing places in my time, but was moved to write a review for what must be one the best guest houses in Britain - and such a contrast to how the place must have been under the previous ownership looking at some old reviews.

Unpretentious and rich in charm, Stamford Lodge provided me and my wife with the an excellent stay in an archetypal English village. The owner is incredibly welcoming and made sure that our stay was one to treasure. And the breakfast is something that has to be experienced to be believed.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chad72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 179 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2010

Coming down South from an outstanding week in York, I decided to spend a night in Stamford (28th), as I had a flight from Stansted to Jersey the next day. I read up on Trip Advisor reviews, and in the midst of lots of lovely B&Bs, I followed my instincts and chose Stamford Lodge.
Boy, did I get it right, because this place is just wonderful.

The rooms are very comfortable and tastefully appointed, with many little personal touches you'll hopefully notice and be pleased with. The beds are just right, the shower is large, the water is hot, and the room has a flat screen TV and excellent Wi-Fi.

The decor reminds me of "Farmhouse French", especially the delightfully cozy dining room. Speaking of which, the breakfast is worth the trip alone. The emphasis is on quality, with freshly squeezed juice, thick farmhouse bread, Organic eggs, and a homemade muesli, fruit and yoghurt bowl.
Finally, there is the owner. Gemma is a hardworking, amicable and thoughtful host, who simply cannot do enough for you, and treats you as if you were an old friend. I will certainly be back....go stay there.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMA25TheSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights while we explored the Stamford area. Small but utterly delightful place refreshed by the current owner (since April 2010 so don't be put off by reviews earlier than that). She goes out of her way to assist in making your stay in the area as comfortable as possible. Good location for strolling the town. Lovely room, great breakfasts and service at its best.

Jerry & Margaret, New Jersey, USA

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerryNJ77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

My husband and I stayed here for one night in July and I could not recommend this high enough. The owner is utterly charming and nothing was too much bother for her. You really felt she was an old friend. We were given a choice of the 2 remaining rooms (difficult as they were both beautiful. However we chose the one to the rear in case of noise.) We were presented with fresh milk in a tasteful little bottle that was perfectly in keeping with all of the charming decor! We were handed our own front door key and left to enjoy the lovely chocolate and biscuits that accompanied the teas and coffees.
Breakfast was wonderful:presentation exquisite! The breakfast room is cosy and intimate and the owner chats away pleasantly as she cooks in the adjoining kitchen.
Stamford is a gem to visit. We were there to meet up with friends at Tolethorpe Hall for The Stamford Shakespeare Company's production of Othello. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening, made all the more memorable by our stay at Stamford Lodge. A big personal thanks to Andrew for the recommendation!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

My wife and I stayed for one night as we were attending the "Battle Proms" which was also very good (first time and not usually something I would go to). Cannons, fireworks and classical music. Took some camping chairs, bubbly and a picnic. Perfect.

The B&B was fab. Very welcoming, cosy and well looked after. A bit like staying at an old friends house. Lots a of great little touches (organic chilli chocolate in our room on arrival, chocolate digestives with your tea, fridge to keep your wine cool, fresh milk).

We got our own key for the front door and our room so could come and go as we pleased. The breakfast was good. All locally source and organic. We had fresh fruit, with yoghurt and muslei with fresh sqeeuzed orange juice followed by a full english with thick toast and tea. Stuffed but just what we needed.

Stamford is a great little town to go an explore. Happily recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank themancalled_Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank droledalien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stamford hotels
0.3 mi away
The George Of Stamford
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel Stamford
0.6 mi away
The William Cecil at Stamford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Bull & Swan
The Bull & Swan
#4 of 7 in Stamford
350 reviews
1.2 mi away
Borderville Farm Guest House
0.4 mi away
Gwynne House
Gwynne House
#10 of 17 in Stamford
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Lodge Guest House

Address: 66 Scotgate, Stamford PE9 2YB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Stamford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Stamford
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Stamford Lodge Guest House Hotel Stamford
Stamford Lodge Guest House Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing