We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This is first class accommodation in every way...”
other travellers have booked this property
Clematis Cottage from the seating area surrounded by mature trees and gardens.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Clematis Cottage from the seating area surrounded by mature trees and gardens.
The fully equipped kitchen complete with double oven fridge/freezer & dishwasher. Dinning area off the kitchen with seating for 8
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Clematis Cottage from the seating area surrounded by mature trees and gardens.
The fully equipped kitchen complete with double oven fridge/freezer & dishwasher.
Dinning area off the kitchen with seating for 8
Oak beamed lounge with comfy seating for up to 8 guests.
Downstairs shower room with high rise toilet and heated towel rail, complete with underfloor heating
Downstairs double bedroom with walk in wardrobe.
Double upstairs bedroom with dressing table and fitted wardrobe.
Summer hollyhocks in the 17th Century farmhouse crew yard
Dine in the garden opposite the cottage or just relax with a book.
Early summer and the Foxgloves & Sweet Williams are in full bloom
We plant our borders to encourage the birds and bees to the garden which helps to flavour our honey.
Happy hens getting ready to lay your breakfast!
Box hedging surrounds the rose beds leading through to the apiary.
In the summer the scent of the Old English Roses fill the air.
We have created a copse for woodland planting, with wild garlic and bluebells.
Walk through the Secret Garden to the wildlife lake and ponds.
Early view of the wildlife lake just starting to mature which now has a collection of resident ducks
The lake is attracting many wildlife visitors.
Summer house at the top of the meadow, looking out over the lake, wildlife ponds and flower meadow.
Our first hatch of little ducklings with a proud Mum keeping a keen watch on proceedings!
Mother duck with her 3 day old ducklings first hatch of 2018
One of our garden elf's and there are loads of other little friends to spot hiding away!
We have planted hundreds of trees, shrubs, hedges flowers and bulbs to attract wildlife.
A beautiful place to sit and watch the ducks and Dragonflies in the evening.
Steps leading from the lake down to the meadow.
Winter 2017 when 'The Beast from the East' came to visit!
Winter Wonderland.
Beautiful sunset in the winter sky.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Stamford, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rupert055
Brough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is first class accommodation in every way and located in beautiful countryside”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This was a return visit to Clematis Cottages and we plan to return many more times. The accommodation is attractive, very clean and a real home from home.
The site is a former farm with a large amount of space for the children to have a good run around and there are beautiful views of the surrounding countryside. However we also found the location to be very convenient with only a 10 minute drive to Stamford, which is a lovely town.
The owners have really thought of everything to make a perfect holiday and are very friendly and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nothing because everything was perfect
Liked least: Nothing because everything was perfect
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2015
Wow! Thank you, what a compliment! I'm so glad that you all enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you and the various Grandchildren again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
20hillvie...
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 13 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

If you like peace and quite and views of the English countryside this place is perfect. We stayed in Number 1 cottage and had 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms plus a laundry. Richard the owner met and greeted us on arrival and was super friendly. I had travelled from Houston Texas with my wife to meet up with my parents and nephew to spend xmas together. We have other family in the area and cooked a full xmas diner for all in the kitchen which was great. The beds and bedding and towels etc had all been fitted and the cottage was very clean and tidy and decorated for xmas. The heating system kept us nice and warm during our stay and there was plenty of parking. Its a 10 minute drive to shops and restaurants which was fine with us as we valued the location. It even snowed on boxing day making the scene even more festive. I would not hestitate to stay in this cottage again and recommend it to like minded folk. Sorry but I cannot find a negative thing to say about the place.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2015
Hi, Great to hear you both arrived home safely. It was lovely for us to meet all your family and we were so pleased that you enjoyed the setting.
Thank you for such a positive review

Kind regards
Kaye
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamHayes...
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic cottages that make for the perfect weekend getaway”
Reviewed 18 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

I would thoroughly recommend anyone who is looking for the ideal getaway in the beautiful Rutland countryside to strongly consider staying in Clematis Cottages. Not only are the Cottages spacious and comfortable, they have a warm, rustic feel that was just what was needed in the midst of November. However, I can also very much see the appeal of a summertime stay here, when (hopefully!) great weather would allow for more exploration of what rural Rutland and the vibrant local town of Stamford has to offer.

I would like to thank Richard and Kay for being absolutely fantastic hosts to myself and my friends. From making meal reservations on our behalf, to picking us up in the damp and cold from Stamford station, they ensured we had a highly enjoyable and comfortable stay which I could not be more appreciative of.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2015
Thank you for such a lovely review it makes all the hard work worthwhile
Kind regards
Kaye
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HollyRutt...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Here's to a delightful weekend in the country”
Reviewed 17 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

This was honestly one of the best weekends I have had in a good ole while.

Travelling from London, a group of us stayed in Richard and Kaye's cottages for the weekend for a dear dear friend's birthday, and I have never felt more welcome or more comfortable in a home that wasn't my own. I left wanting to be adopted by Richard and Kaye and I almost don't want to say anything else.

So instead I will summarise my experience in an Acrostic.

F irst-class accommodation
A bed of heavenly comfort
N othing Richard and Kaye wouldn't do to make our stay perfect
T he most luxurious shower I have ever had the pleasure to shower in
A gorgeous country walk away from an exquisite pub lunch at the Olive Garden
S eriously-super-speedy WiFi
T rees, trees, so many beautiful trees
I dyllic surroundings (imagine the most idyllic place you can. Well, this is more idyllic)
C osy, comfortable and a truly beautiful and restorative way to spend a weekend.

It's a grave shame that the question 'Would you recommend this holiday rental to a friend?' only presents the options 'Yes' or 'No. For if 'Yes, yes, a thousand times yes!' presented itself that is most definitely the one I would select.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2015
What lovely comments! Thank you so much.....it really was our pleasure
Kind regards
Kaye
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cam_milne
1 review
“Feeling truly at home in the countryside”
Reviewed 3 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Clarity of environment breeds clarity of mind. When a small group of young Londoners turned up in rural Rutland, we could almost instantaneously feel the stresses being expunged by the crisp air and beautiful environs.

Furthermore I could not imagine a more welcoming couple than Richard and Kaye. Ever friendly and hospitable, our hosts were delightful company and had excellent recommendations on where to walk. The local surroundings are truly beautiful; we overlooked the duck filled pond as we feasted our eyes on the rolling hills of the midlands. Stamford town is equally picturesque, with quaint pubs and craft shops at almost every turn. It's fantastically refreshing to walk down a high street that isn't just full of chain restaurants and Wetherspoons' pubs!

Staying in the cottages was like being embraced by a dear friend: cosy, safe, and familiar. With all the facilities you could possibly need, it was sometimes hard to get off the sofa or out of bed and bring ourselves to enjoy the shortening autumnal days! Everything was very clean and tidy making for a thoroughly enjoyable experience all round.

I honestly could not recommend the Clematis Cottages enough. Just two hours from London door to door, we could not believe how far away from the perils and worries of city life we had come. Treat yourselves for a weekend (or spoil yourselves with a week!) and book a stay with Richard and Kaye.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Dec 2014
It was a pleasure to welcome you all to Clematis Cottages your party of 14 all appeared to have lots of fun and relaxation, and it was a pleasure to help you out with local information we look forward to seeing you all again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark G
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect weekend escape”
Reviewed 29 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

From the warmest of welcomes to the comfiest of beds, Kaye and Richard ensured a nothing less than perfect stay for our group of 22-24yr olds as we celebrated a friend's birthday with a much-needed escape to the countryside.

The accommodation is lovingly fitted with a mix of both modern and traditional features, which matched with the landscaped gardens, free range chickens and duck pond made for a great base for our trip. Even when we did eventually look to hunt out some lunch, our hosts were more than happy to provide picturesque walking directions along a nearby bridleway toward a local gastropub, calling ahead to ensure we could be seated on arrival.

A stone's throw from the idyllic town of Stamford, and just a short leap from London, this truly was the perfect weekend getaway, leaving us all rested, relaxed and ready to book our next escape.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Dec 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we also enjoyed having you to stay. I hope that it wasn't too difficult to go back to the city after such a relaxing weekend!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aggie R
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A weekend of bliss in the British countryside”
Reviewed 24 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

I have just grudging returned to the big smoke after a weekend at Lodge Farm after staying in one of Richard and Kay Griffin's Clematis cottages.

Arriving on Friday night in the drizzle, our hosts could not have been more helpful. As well as providing maps, recommendations and walking routes, Richard and Kay could not have done more to welcome us to their beautifully restored cottages. From booking us a table at The Olive Branch for lunch to finding an emergency spare earring-back for one of the girls, they were relaxed and charming.

The cottage itself was immaculate and tastefully decorated with a great bathroom and stunning views. The grounds of the farm include an orchard, paddock and very Instagramable duck pond. The Wi-Fi service was top notch and could handle 5 social media addicts wanting to instantly upload pictures and stream videos. I couldn't recommend it more for a rural get away for friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wonderful hosts and great place
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Dec 2014
Thank you for your kind words I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, we will hopefully see you all again in the Springtime when the grounds really do look a picture.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing