We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved this hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bull & Swan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Bull & Swan
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We loved this hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed for two nights last week. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The bedroom, number 6, was huge and the bathroom was lovely. The stairs are steep, which may be problem if you have a disability, but the staff were so helpful with our bags.

We ate there one night. Lovely dining room and food. Breakfast excellent.

The Bull and Swan is also well placed for the town and Burleigh House. Would recommend without reservation.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front and traffic noise could be a problem if you sleep with the window open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HGLL85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James C, Manager at The Bull & Swan, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, unfortunately we are stuck with our very old staircase however I am pleased to read that we had somebody available to assist you with your luggage.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    109
    24
    7
    2
See reviews for
31
209
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile


I'm reviewing the room Nr. 3 which was described as "slightly smaller" than other rooms. This room is supposed to be a double room. I'm pregnant (late stage)  and my stay was just a nightmare. Almost impossible to sleep there for two adults. The room is too noisy during the day because is probably over the kitchen.
The pillows are absolutely unsupportive and really uncomfortable.
I hit TV with my shoulder every time I wanted to go to the bath or along the bed.
The wardrobe had unpleasant smell so couldn't hang any clothes there.
I felt really claustrophobic. The hotel has 4 stars but how could sell this storage room sized aka Nr. 3 room for the that price as a double?
The service during the breakfast was slow. The staff is friendly unfortunately it can not compensate my negative impression. The size of room absolutely unsuitable for more than 1 person and I would think really thoroughly to pay for it the full price. My advice avoid the Nr.3 room even if is everything around fully booked.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ErikaMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James C, Manager at The Bull & Swan, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
I am truly sorry that you didn’t enjoy your recent stay with us, Room three is indeed as advertised the smaller of our rooms which is also reflected in the rate which we charge. I am also some what saddened that you didn’t mention any of your issues during your four night stay, this would have given us the opportunity to put these right and maybe even move you into a different room for your stay.

I will pass on your kind words regarding the staff that you did encounter during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We just stayed one night here to attend a local theatre production. Everything about it was perfect, hotel room was spacious and very comfortable. We had dinner and breakfast which was everything we could have asked for - the food was well presented and delicious. The staff, especially Tom, were just so approachable, polite and helpful. We will definitely be back, perhaps to book the No 1 Room which we understand is even bigger than the one we had this time! Thanks so much, everyone at the Bull and Swan. Full marks to you all. We really enjoyed our stay with you

Room Tip: we stayed in the Lyon room and it was smashing. Roomy, comfortable with a roll top bath and combine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willsandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James C, Manager at The Bull & Swan, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
What a fantastic review thank you, I will be sure to put this in our staff room so that everybody gets the chance to read your extremely kind words,
We all look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future, and I will be sure to hold back room 1 for yourselves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

I stayed for the weekend with friends and we were not disappointed. Everything about the hotel was good - my room was spacious with a large VERY comfortable bed that was even better as I had this all to myself. The pillows and bedding were of the highest quality. The roll top bath was in the room with the toilet and washbasin en suite. The toiletries were really pleasant with a zingy citrus smell if you need waking up in a morning!

We ate dinner there on the first night - the food was really good - even though the kitchen had run out of wild sea bass - and we ate one of the best puddings ever, it involved peanut butter parfait and salted caramel - and it was exceptional (handy hint - there is an awful lot for one unless you are really hungry).

There is plenty of choice at breakfast - eggs benedict, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, full english or kippers... plus all the usuals such as cereals, fruit juice and really nice coffee.

The staff were all really friendly and helpful - some of the best I have come across. Nothing was too much trouble and they really made the effort to engage with guests. They should be proud of what they do.

I would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crissietoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James C, Manager at The Bull & Swan, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
What a lovely review, I am so pleased to read that we hit all the right notes during your stay, the whole team will be thrilled to read that their hard work has paid off
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

The bull and swan exceeded all expectations from the moment we walked through the door.

We went to check in at the bar which was a very relaxed atmosphere, immidetly making us feel at home.
The getlman that checked us in couldn't have done more for us, we had rang the night before to get a table In the restaurant as we forgot on booking the room but there was no availability, much to our disappointment.
However when checking in we mentioned this and the gentleman went out of his way to reserve us a table by a open fire in the bar. Perfect for what we wanted!

Then there was the room, although we got the last room booking and I think the smallest in the hotel it was lovely, and the shower was amazing! We especially liked the complimentary vodka tipple on the bed side table.

The rooms have everything you need from hanging space to a hair dryer, the only down side was the room appeared to be above the kitchen so at times it was noisey. This didn't really bother us during our stay.

The food at the bull and swan was exceptional I would recommend the burger and cooked breakfast! Although we only stayed for one night it felt like we had been off work for a week! We would return in a flash.

Thank you for a lovely valentines! We will Hopefully see you all again soon.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James C, Manager at The Bull & Swan, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
I’m glad to see that we helped to make your recent Valentines stay one to remember, your room was indeed the smaller of the ones we offer, but still contains all of our quirky little extras that grace all of our rooms and I’m pleased to see that these were enjoyed by yourselves.
I will pass on your kind words to Chef regarding the food during your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
79 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Very impressed when we stayed at the Bull & Swan last week. Our room was spacious, recently decorated, but still had plenty of historic features that gave character to the room. Appreciated the excellent coffee, tea and biscuits included. Freshly squeezed orange juice at breakfast always a good sign, and the cooked breakfast that followed was very good.

Staff were helpful and friendly - gave impression that they enjoyed working here.

Great for those without a car. Bus every 30 mins to Peterborough connects with trains to London & the North. Looking forward to making a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank basilfawty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James C, Manager at The Bull & Swan, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
What a fantastic review, thank you! It was a pleasure to have you stay with us for a few days, all the staff pass on their regards and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We have stayed in Stamford many times but this was the first time at the Bull and Swan. We arrived tired and saddened by a visit to an elderly relative, a long drive away and were immediately cheered up by a friendly greeting and shown to the very comfortable Stag room. Our dinner, eaten in the cosy bar, was delicious as was breakfast the following day and the service equally good. We continued our journey feeling much better and are almost looking forward to our next trip to father in law ...if we can stay at the Bull and Swan on our way home.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James C, Manager at The Bull & Swan, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again next time you are on your way back from visiting your father-in-law.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stamford
0.1 mi away
The William Cecil at Stamford
0.1 mi away
The George Of Stamford
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel Stamford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Sibson Inn Hotel
Sibson Inn Hotel
#14 of 27 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
7.8 mi away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
8.1 mi away
Hambleton Hall
Hambleton Hall
#1 of 1 in Hambleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull & Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull & Swan

Property: The Bull & Swan
Address: 24A High Street, Stamford PE9 2LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bull & Swan 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once upon a time there was a drinking club at Burghley House. It was founded by The 5th Earl of Exeter in 1684 and it was called The Honourable Order of Little Bedlam. It had an eclectic bunch of members: The Baptist Earl of Gainsborough was known as Greyhound, The Hon Charles Bertie was The Stag and The Earl of Denbigh was Tyger amongst other nefarious characters. They would have drunk locally brewed ales, feasted on Burghley Estate and other local produce and created total bedlam. Things have a habit of coming round and we are delighted to invite you to dine on our local produce, sup our fine ales and obviously behave very, very well! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Bull & Swan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull & Swan Hotel Stamford
The Bull And Swan
Bull And Swan Stamford
The Bull & Swan Stamford, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing