We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold food and greasy. 10th July 2014”

The Stamford Post - JD Wetherspoon
Ranked #11 of 29 things to do in Stamford
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Stamford Post, named after the original Stamford publication "The Stamford Post", which was the earliest UK new publication, is a family friendly J D Wetherspoon pub.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Reviewed 10 July 2014

After traveling there especially for my husbands curry day, we were greatly dissapointed.
1. It was dearer than other ws we go to.
2. His beer was more expensive, so could not have it with his normal offer.
3. When his meal arrived, (having watched it stud for 5mins on the serving hatch) it was covered in cold grease.
4. My chips of my meal were cold and obviously warmed up!
In our opinion, they haven't changed the cooking oil since they opened.
We shall not be going there again and sticking to our favourite branches at Melton Mowbray and Newark.
We must be fair to the manager at Stamford and say he did remove both our meals and replace them, but to us that was too little too late, as it shouldn.t of happened in the begging.
After reading the reviews for Stamford, there seems to be a problem with the kitchen staff.

1  Thank RUFUS58LINCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StamfordPost, Manager at The Stamford Post - JD Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Hi RUFUS58LINCS.

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your recent visit to The Stamford post. As JD Wetherspoon does not have a standard pricing throughout all of the pubs, our pricing does vary in different areas. Regarding the beer being more expensive - we offer all the club drinks as listed on the menu as standard, regardless of individual price, when included with a meal. If your husband requested a beer that was not included in the offer, then yes, unfortunately we are unable to process the difference. Regarding the issues you had with your meals, we do apologise that the food was not to your usual standard, and this was cooked completely from fresh when requested and replaced for you. We would like to thank you for your review, your feedback is very important to us in our attempt to get everything right everytime for every customer, and when it does on occasion go wrong, with your feedback we can address this and ensure that any mistake is not repeated.

With Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 62 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

My partner and I have come to the Stamford Post numerous time and every time without fail there has been an issue with their stock. 1) Our first visit they said they could not make poached eggs but yet they were still on the menu and we were not informed that they could not be made on arrival.
2) They had ran out of cinnamon swirls.

We have been to other Wetherspoons and enjoyed their waffles so we decided to try them and see if they were the same so we ordered one and yet again 3) they had run out- the annoying thing was that we had just come into Stamford for that soul purpose to have a cheeky waffle. What a waste of petrol!
4) Same thing a few days later 'Oh sorry we've run out of Waffles' so this time we asked to speak to someone and then 'magical' they said we had found some! Hmmm
5) Exactly the same as above.
6) We had chicken and rib combo- the chicken was rock hard, horrible, but they did change it.
7) They ran out of breakfast wraps!

I have no idea why we have come back so many time maybe because of the cheap prices but we aren't going again. Very disappointed. Sorry for the long post but it had been building up. If you are up for disappointments this is the place to be!

2  Thank Olivia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StamfordPost, Manager at The Stamford Post - JD Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Hi Olivia E.

We are sorry that you have had some issues on previous visits to The Stamford Post. We attempt to get things right for every customer on every visit, however sometimes this is not the case. Being a newly opened establishment, we are still in the process of trying to establish a pattern in trade level, and therefore do sometimes run out of things such as waffles, after extremely busy sundays before any delivery arrives on a tuesday, as was explained to your partner. Regarding the cinnamon swirls, in order to offer different choices to our customers, we try and rotate the cakes on offer at the end of the bar, from the swirls, to the tiffin, to the flapjacks, to the various flavour cakes we offer, and therefore cannot guarantee that these items will be available at all times. I hope this has cleared up some of the issues you had. Should you have any further questions, please contact us directly and we would be happy to discuss this further..

With regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The arrival of Wetherspoons in Stamford has been delayed for many years with objections to planning for more than one projected venue,the current Ask premises a case in point.Their policy of selling cheap alcohol with cheap food works but brings associated side effects so it was with trepidation I heard the old Stamford Mercury offices were to be converted into our very own WS.as far as I knew space always appeared limited in there.
It was a sunny,midweek lunchtime when we went,the outside seating area busy,even found three people we knew as we entered...the transformation of internal space was impressive,very stripped back,brickwork,metal,a viewable cooking section..very a la mode,seperatel seating areas..some armchairs,elsewhere high stools around tables,some cubicles but suspiciously some very bier Keller style bench/chair seating dominating the centre...fortunately empty.
So,it's clear we were in at the lunchtime shopping,adult,sensible drinking time of day.
Food,at 7.49 for two mains and two soft drinks we spent just a tender...fine...there were no surprises and I have to say that ,as they are guide dog friendly inside and any dog friendly outside there was nothing that sunny lunchtime that would put me off.We would come back again I'm sure.
The London Inn ,just across the road is the nearest competitor,similar in a lot of ways,but a bit more comfortable internally I think.
There are nods to the heritage of the building and the former Newspaper but not enough to make it the reason for a visit.
I thought about the rating above and it reflects our visit ,on that day,at that time....if I came back on a Friday or Saturday evening or night would I give it four stars.?.......looking at some earlier reviews ,probably not....but then,I won't be there on a Saturday night ,ever.
I hope the management are reading their customer reviews......only they can prove all those folk who prophesied doom and gloom if WS came to town wrong!

Thank chetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StamfordPost, Manager at The Stamford Post - JD Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Hi chetz.

Thank you for your very in depth review of your recent visit to The Stamford Post! We are very glad that you enjoyed your recent visit to us and even with your previous terpidation, you decided to see what we have to offer! We pride ourselves on offering good quality food and drink for an affordable price to cater for everyone, whilst maintaining a certain level of discretion to enable us to create and uphold a good atmosphere for all to enjoy. We hope to welcome you back soon,

With Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I do love what weatherspoons are doing these days and taking over old buildings, Yes you get a slightly lower clientele, but beer is good and food good value. Siting outside here was pleasant in the sun

Thank Bumble1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StamfordPost, Manager at The Stamford Post - JD Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Hi Bumble1980

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to The Stamford post. We are glad you like the buillding here! Retaining the building's heritage is very important to us, especially when it tributes to the UK's oldest publication - The Stamford Mercury!

With Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The only positive is the slightly cheaper drinks. Poor quality food and customer service. This is not what Stamford needs, encouraging irresponsible drinking and rowdy antisocial behaviour.

Thank Sam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StamfordPost, Manager at The Stamford Post - JD Wetherspoon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Hi Sam E.

We are sorry you did not enjoy your recent visit to The Stamford Post. We have in place policies to avoid any form of antisocial behaviour and irresponsible drinking, and thus far we have not had any complaints of either of the above. Should you feel you have any issues in the future with any of our customers and their behaviour, please inform a duty manager immediately who can look into this further and ensure that your visit here is an excellent one.

With regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Stamford Post - JD Wetherspoon also viewed

 
Stamford, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The Stamford Post - JD Wetherspoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing