We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub, good grub”
Review of The Bull and Swan

The Bull and Swan
Ranked #28 of 118 Restaurants in Stamford
Price range: US$6 - US$32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Bull & Swan has oodles of history which we hope we complement with fantastic food & drink. A plethora of great, well conditioned local ales, a diverse but unstuffy wine list and a dedicated, professional and yet relaxed team all add to what we hope will be a perfect visit to the pub! We have our own kitchen garden where you can relax with a pint, grab a pizza from our Pizza Potting Shed Thu-Sat and on Thursday evenings we show films on our outdoor cinema screen. Using local suppliers is at the heart of the pub's ethos - it might be cockles from the Wash, cheese from Cote Hill or simply great fresh vegetables, venison, beef or game from the Burghley Estate. The team combines all these ingredients to create an original and sumptuous menu, with dishes to suit every palate.
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Lovely pub belonging to the same small group as the William Cecil Hotel. Excellent real ales and good food with a warm atmosphere. The pub also has rooms, but have not stayed here yet.

Thank Roseananne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James C, Manager at The Bull and Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for your review. Keep your eye on our website for the best deals on accommodation, that way you can stay the night and enjoy our wonderful ales to your hearts content!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 237 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

We have just been for Sunday lunch. This was the second time we were eating here, as we wanted to give the food another chance. The first experience involved extremely personable and polite staff, passable food but very cold vegetables. Something to do, methinks, with the journey the food has to come on to get to the table. This return visit offered a similar experience. Good, attentive staff. That's the good side. Then there was the Sunday roast. My partner had pork and I the roast lamb. Neither was tender, and neither was hot. The mint sauce was great and fresh. The apple sauce was apple sauce. The vegetables and large Yorskhire puds were luke-warm yet passable (if you're ravenous).... but the roast potatoes a travesty! The worst way you can serve-up these delicacies is semi-reheated and an insipid beige colour. If you have ever had the misfortune to put left over roasties in the fridge, forget about them, then give them 20 seconds on a microwave three days later (which I will own to having done in my salad days when I was green in judgement), then you will have come near to our experience at the Bull and Swan. The desserts this time were little if any different from the last. Four of them (if you discount the option for cheese - with added supplement) to choose from and the three we have tried in our two visits nothing to write home about. The place would be fine for a drink, and is extremely popular with dog-owners on Sundays, and you would have a really pleasant welcome. What a shame that the food so drastically spoils the image and the experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jazzer27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James C, Manager at The Bull and Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. It is through reviews like this that we can learn and grow as a business. Since the time of your review we have looked at ways of improving our Sunday lunch offering which has resulted in us introducing a menu that will change every Sunday (including the desserts).

If you would like to discuss the points you raised in more detail then please contact the hotel direct as I would welcome the opportunity to restore your faith in us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Having stayed the night as an overflow to the nearby William Cecil Hotel, this was certainly not second-best: both the accommodation and breakfast were great. Service was friendly and very attentive. The atmosphere the previous evening was warm and welcoming. Breakfast next day was peaceful and relaxed. A really comfortable option in this area. Not cheap but a real treat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 528AndrewS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James C, Manager at The Bull and Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

I will be sure to pass on your very kind words to everybody involved in making your experience a comfortable one. Do visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I wrote a review of this restaurant last November and gave it only one star. The manager, to his credit, managed to work out who we were and invited all six of us back for a free complimentary meal to make up for our last experience. This time we just had main courses. Prior to the mains we had tiny baked loaves of bread which were still warm. These were light in the middle and served warm and served with cheesy butter. This was something nice to nibble on why we waited for our mains. I had the sirloin steak and it was cooked perfectly as I like it. The steak came with tomatoes on the vine, three crispy onion rings and wedgy chips. My friends had the burgers, gammon and lamb. All of us enjoyed the meal and service was much as it should be - attentive and polite.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TheWhites-123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James C, Manager at The Bull and Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

I was pleased to hear that you took up our offer to put right what went so wrong on your previous visit. We endeavour to exceed every one of our diners expectations and we came up very short previously, as you know I felt the only way to make an appropriate apology was to invite you back to us and show you what we do best.

We do to welcome you back in the near future with your faith restored in The Bull & Swan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Went to lunch recently with a friend. They have a special (only 3 choices) of 2 mains for £12.50. As we had been before and found their Fish and Chips excellent we ordered that. Forty minutes later with only 2 other tables occupied we had not received our food. When we inquired how long it would be we were told "TWO MINUTES". The Fish and Chips duly arrived and the only way I could describe it was inedible. It was totally overcooked to the point that it looks like a piece of dehydrated mammoth that had been just uncovered in the wilds. All dark brown and leathery. Yuk! The chips went from overcooked to almost burnt. It was also extremely greasy and frankly would have made one ill to eat it. When we told the waiter that it was totally unacceptable he just said "that is how we always serve it"!!!!

When we requested a fresh one the plates were brought back about 5 minutes later EXACTLY the same except for a few of the more burnt chips removed and replaced with new ones. We could not believe it. The whole thing was sooo greasy even slightly touching it one had slimy greasy fingers. When we asked what else was available he just said gammon with chips and a fried egg and some mushroom vegetarian option. We said as this was the apparently acceptable standard of food that was being served we would decline and leave - which we did. The small quantity of green peas and tartare sauce that had accompanied the fish was dried up and inedible as well.. What floored us was that the chef apparently appeared to consider this a quite acceptable plate of food to serve to customers! Absolutely Amazing. We had been to this establishment several times before over the years and found it very nice but unfortunately since the owners of this establishment and the nearby William Cecil Hotel poached the chef for the latter things have seriously gone downhill to where the above is now acceptable. Well, not for us I am afraid. We went into the centre of Stamford and had the identical meal, magnificently cooked, speedily served and cheaper.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank GourmetGirl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James C, Manager at The Bull and Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Thank you for your review. We welcome all reviews, whether they are good or bad as it helps us strive to improve what we do at the Bull and Swan. I am however reluctant to agree with anything you have stated in your review.

You were only at the Bull and Swan for 30 minutes before leaving so cannot understand how your meal apparently took 40 minutes to arrive? Whilst I accept you did not appreciate the appearance of the meal, I cannot understand your comments regarding its quality as you failed to try any of the dishes we presented you. Fish and chips is our most popular dish on the menu, and one we very rarely receive complaints about. The same recipe has been used for nearly 12 months and was used for the 16 other satisfied customers that ate fish and chips on the day you visited.

We are the first to admit when we get something wrong and accept that from time to time we do make mistakes. In all these cases, we endeavour to not only learn from the experience but ensure poor experiences are rectified as quickly as possible. Unfortunately you walked out before we had opportunity to do this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bull and Swan also viewed

 
Stamford, Lincolnshire
Stamford, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The Bull and Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing