We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy, Comfortable, Characterful Accommodation...”
other travellers have booked this property
Open plan living room with views of the orchard.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open plan living room with views of the orchard.
Super sunny kitchen, fully equipped for cooking at home. Italian leather sofa for four - settle down in comfort with a bottle of wine to watch a good film!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Open plan living room with views of the orchard.
Super sunny kitchen, fully equipped for cooking at home.
Italian leather sofa for four - settle down in comfort with a bottle of wine to watch a good film!
Cosy wood burner with a full log basket, kindling and fire lighters on arrival.
Rest assured memory foam topped mattress in the king sized bedroom for a great nights sleep.
Built in 1873, and one of three adjoining farm cottages which belonged to the Apethorpe Estate.
Plenty of space for coats and boots after a walk in the woods.
A sunny spot in the garden for lazing away those lovely summer days or eating out in the evening.
Beautiful bluebells, wild garlic and primroses to be seen in nearby nature reserves.
The Haycock, Wansford - and many more great eating places nearby!
The world famous Burghley Horse Trials are right on our doorstep!
Stunning Burghley House with grounds designed by Capability Brown. A must see.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Stamford, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Charles B
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy, Comfortable, Characterful Accommodation with modern convenience”
Reviewed 6 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The surrounding area is blessed with lovely walks, beautiful scenery and a truly restful and peaceful charm. Within easy travelling distance an abundance of lovely gardens and boundless history are accessible. Great market towns, amazing grand estates and we were not disappointed with any of the eateries recommended by our helpful hosts. The cottage was well equipped in all respects and at the time we visited the very effective wood burner was much appreciated and ensured we were able to review our day in warmth and comfort. Very highly recommended!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2017
So glad you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for your kind comments, it was our pleasure to have you to stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallyanne...
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cozy and relaxing”
Reviewed 3 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The Rest and be Thankful cottage near Wansford is very carefully and extremely well equipped and the owners have put a great deal of thought into setting it up to provide everything their guests might need.

The owners made us feeling welcome, were on hand to answer any questions we might have and offered us their help when we needed it.

The day we left workers were on site to start an up grade of the downstairs area of the cottage which will make it an even more pleasurable place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2017
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, luckily, Storm Doris left everything intact! Thankfully, we had some lovely days too and it was great to get the washing line out to share with you. It's made us think that we will add one to the cottage end of the garden for guests to use. Hope you have safe onward travels and enjoy the rest of your year seeing the world.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kellybria...
1 review
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed 5 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

A great cottage for a family get together.the cottage was warm,comfy,lovely fire,very Well equiped and very clean and tidy.owner very helpfull and kind.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2017
So glad you enjoyed your brief stay with us. Hope to see you again next time you visit England!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Dec 2016
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope all went well with the move and have a great Christmas with your family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Beebs495
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Place to spend the Easter weekend”
Reviewed 28 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We've just returned from our lovely stay at this charming cottage. Our hosts were so helpful and were very happy to offer advice on walks, pubs and interesting places to visit. The cottage is absolutely perfect, furnished to a high standard with lots of lovely personal touches. It was a super surprise to see a welcome pack had been placed in the modern, sunny kitchen. Very comfy beds and beautiful views from both bedrooms. We hope to visit again soon. Thank you.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2016
Thank you for your lovely comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. You were so lucky with the weather too! We look forward to seeing you again so you can explore more of the beautiful area we live in.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathon...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“midweek get away with dogs”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Myself and my wife had just come back off our honeymoon and just wanted to get away with our two dogs. The cottage was a perfect size for what we needed with all the amenities and comforts of home. Grounds were great for letting the dogs run free in also to exercise. Plenty of walks to go on as well as dog friendly pubs to eat in. Owners were very helpful and friendly in giving advice on places to eat and visit in the area both in person and also in the form of a welcome folder with useful information also. Would certainly consider returning in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cosey lounge
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and many thanks for the lovely feedback. It would be lovely to see you again sometime in the future. Kind Regards, Kathryn and Jonathon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing