We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally brilliant time!!”
Review of The Eastleigh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Eastleigh
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Skegness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed here last year and had a terrific time, so booked again for this summer. Wasn't disappointed - it was even better than before! We particularly like that we got a text to tell us our room was ready for check-in early and that a parking space had been reserved for us (guaranteed space when you book the suite!).
The room was really spacious and had an extra sitting room with a second TV and fridge filled with free drinks; great to have a cold drink waiting when you get back. Bathroom was spotlessly clean (as was the rest of the room) and had all the toiletries we needed.
Not having to pay for breakfasts that we don't want is a real bonus for us, so well done to The Eastleigh for offering 'room-only' and 'boo' to all those people who moan it's not included. There're plenty of places to get breakfast nearby where you can eat WHAT you want, WHEN you want.
The location is just great - we never needed the car during our stay as everything is within easy walking distance.
We'll be back again next year for sure!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian F, Owner at The Eastleigh, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

We were delighted to have you back to stay with us again and are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for leaving such a generous review - it's really appreciated! We're so glad you like the 'room only' concept. It's proven very popular with our guests, even those returning having stayed when we were 'b and b'.
We look forward to seeing you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

Booked this as a B&B and very disappointed to discover it was only a "B", that is, room only. We booked two rooms for ourselves and another couple. Have stayed before in Skegness down the road at the Stepping Stones, for the same price, and it was far superior, and also on a full B&B basis! Unfortunately, it was not available this time. If we go again we would try and stay there, or next door to this guest-house at the Beachlands which is a B&B and the same price.
This hotel is much too expensive for a room only stay in Skegness in an average guest-house!
We use trip advisor a lot and write many reviews and would not recommend this guest-house on a room only basis at this price.
In our opinions it is an average guest-house, the rooms are not especially big and the owners did not make us feel like we would want to go back again.
The best things were the location, and the lady who cleans, who greeted us when we arrived and let us leave our bags, she had great customer care.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian F, Owner at The Eastleigh, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

It's understandable for guests to be disappointed when they get less than expected, but unfair to blame us for their own mistakes. You booked via our website, where it states quite clearly that we are room-only. We would never try to mislead anyone considering staying with us and we make every effort to ensure that it's clear what we provide on every booking site we use. 99% of our guests are delighted to find room-only accommodation, while the other 1% are people who (despite our efforts) make the same mistake as you. We try very hard to make sure this doesn't happen and are very sorry you ended up in the 1%. The last thing we want are dissatisfied guests - this is clearly not in our best interest.
As far as pricing is concerned, we are confident we offer the best value for money possible in Skegness, as witnessed by all the reviews to be found here on TripAdvisor and many other review sites.
We stand by the quality of our customer service; you were able to drop off your bags prior to check-in time and then able to leave them after checkout the following day. We make every effort to meet guests individual needs and tried hard to meet yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I recently stayed here for a week and I am definitely coming back next year. My whole experience was pleasant. It's near all of my favourite Skegness attractions. Our room was clean and spacious. The bed was so comfortable I had trouble getting out of it. There was a spacious fridge to keep our snacks in. They provided us with free bottled water, fizzy drinks, tea bags, hot chocolate, coffee, sugar, milk and biscuits every single day.

Our room was also very quiet, we never head anything but the seagulls which was fantastic as I was concerned we might hear the noise from the pub down the street, but we didn't. The only thing that I would change was the room cleaning times - but only because my boyfriend and I are so lazy we like to sleep in whilst on holiday. There was also a television with freeview and a DVD player, and free WiFi.

They even upgraded our room to the deluxe suite free of charge, which was absolutely amazing. My boyfriend and I were celebrating our anniversary, so this made it all the more special for us.

Overall a fantastic hotel which I know we will return to year after year.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kaylathomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian F, Owner at The Eastleigh, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thanks so much for staying the week with us and it's great to hear that you had such a nice time. We're glad we were able to contribute to an enjoyable time in Skegness.
Thanks also for mentioning some of the things that make The Eastleigh a little bit special. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My partner and I only booked in for one night but found the experience really easy and the owner really pleasant.
I also liked and appreciated the text I received prior to arrival to tell us our room was ready for whenever we wanted it which was before the official booking in time of 14:00.
The other thing we really appreciated was the bottle of wine that Ian the owner had left in our room due to the fact it was my partners birthday.
The hotel is in a great central location for Skegness and is very close to the beach but the parking can be hit and miss on the road outside...luckily I booked a space at the rear of the hotel.
The room was exceptionally clean and of a reasonable size...one tiny point is the mattress was too soft for our taste but I will not mark the place down on that point alone...some people like a soft mattress.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Darmok67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian F, Owner at The Eastleigh, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thanks again for staying with us and thank you very much for the great review! We're delighted you enjoyed your time at The Eastleigh and that we got everything just right (except the mattress!). We hope you can return again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

i booked the Suite Double En-suite which was on the first floor facing the front street . i booked this dur to the larger shower which it showed in the pictures of the room . however it did not have a larger shower so i could have save myself money and just booked a cheaper room . overall the rooms where clean some slight repairs needed . drinks hwere nice to have in the fridges and very close the the sea front.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidstoncold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian F, Owner at The Eastleigh, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

We would never intentionally mislead anyone by providing inaccurate information, so I'm sorry you were disappointed to find the shower smaller than expected. Having checked, your booking was made through our own website, where all the photographs are correct for each room type and show the correct shower for the room you occupied. It seems you were looking at the larger shower in one of our deluxe rooms, but then booked the suite. An easy mistake to make, but we're sorry it detracted from your overnight stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Many thanks for your hospitality, very nice clean rooms and in good location to the town with free parking, nice staff so couldn't fault it. Free drinks in fridge, nice and comfortable bed even had another room with a sofa and tv so all good

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian F, Owner at The Eastleigh, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thanks for staying with us and thanks for the review. I see you are not a regular TripAdvisor user, so it's even more appreciated that you took the trouble to do so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Good location. Lovely décor and very comfortable bed and extras in room much appreciated. However very small towels (did not even go around body and we are not big people) and room very hot. When expressed comments to owner was told that the same comments had been received before but 'it was not possible to supply bath towels because getting them dry would be too difficult!' Fans had been supplied to 2 other rooms but not the ones at the top that got the most heat.
Would have been excellent but for these strange replies to comments, as apart from these, it was wonderful. Would stay again but only after checking if towels had been upgraded and fan supplied.

Room Tip: Ask for fan if in summer as rooms are hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian F, Owner at The Eastleigh, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thanks again for staying with us and for taking the time to leave a review. I'm sorry you found the towel size inadequate, but as I mentioned 'bath towels' are standard for properties of our size. 'Bath sheets' are normally only supplied in larger (more expensive) establishments. There is a bathrobe in the room for your use if you needed something to wrap around you after showering. (This is not something you'd normally find in a small property such as ours.)
Yes, we have still have to put fans in the remaining two rooms and this will be done this week as we are counting on great weather this summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skegness hotels
1.7 mi away
Southview Park Hotel - Park Resorts
1.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#11 of 25 in Skegness
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Quorn Hotel
The Quorn Hotel
#2 of 25 in Skegness
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Vine Hotel
Best Western Vine Hotel
#5 of 25 in Skegness
543 reviews
0.7 mi away
North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
0.1 mi away
Merrydale
Merrydale
#21 of 25 in Skegness
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eastleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eastleigh

Address: 60 Scarbrough Avenue, Skegness PE25 2TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Skegness
Price Range: £44 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Eastleigh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eastleigh has an enviable location, conveniently close to the seafront, Skegness Pier and North Parade, and an easy walk to the beach, the centre of town, the bowling greens and Embassy Theatre. All rooms are comfortably furnished, well-appointed doubles arranged over three floors and all are en-suite with showers. Rooms at the front have a limited sea-view, and all other rooms face the rear of the property. Many unexpected little extras make a stay at The Eastleigh a little more special. The Eastleigh is 'room-only' and does not offer any meals, which is reflected in the attractive room rates. Allocated parking in the private car park is available for some rooms, otherwise there is ample on-street unlimited free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your The Eastleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastleigh Hotel Skegness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing