We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice b&b .... shame about the weather”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Eastleigh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Eastleigh
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Skegness
Certificate of Excellence
kings lynn
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“nice b&b .... shame about the weather”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2010

Stayed in the B&B for 1 night only.

The owners seemed friendly and efficient. All appeared clean and tidy.

Did not have breakfast as felt the 08.30-9.00 breakfast slot seemed short and I do not like to rush when eating. Breakfast also needs to be booked the night before using a form for each client (common practice). However a pen to be provided in each room (even those cheap tesco ones or pencil) would facilitate filling the form as not everyone brings a pen with them.

Booking out was similarly short time - 9.30-10am, However there was not a queue & as I'd stated that I wished to pay by credit card they took it from the one I had used to secure the room when booking, so the short booking out time was not an issue.

The bedroom was of reasonable size - fitting in a double bed, 2 chairs a small table, a 'dressing' table and stool a wardrobe, and a set of drawers. The room was pleasantly decorated tho let down a little by slightly dated furniture and plastic/fake flowers.

The bathroom was also nicely decorated. There were plenty of towels including a flannel. There was also good supply of toilet roll (nice quality stuff too). The bathroom was on small side but did fit in everything needed for a short stay - shower with ok pressure that kept a constant temp, sink, mirror with overhead light, toilet.

The bedding was clean and adequate for our stay, had we have been cold there was an extra blanket in the wardrobe. The bed was not the softest mattress I have slept on but did provide a reasonable night sleep. There were plently of pillows.

The hotel itself is on a street just off the main drag, practically opposite the pier. On the corner is a pub. However during my staff I did not experience a lot of loud noise from either the pub or the main road. Though the chance of this may increase as the season gets busier.

LITTLE EXTRAS - the hosts have provided PLENTY of tea, coffee, milk, cream, sugar - even some hot choc for use during the stay (wish that ALL B&Bs/hotels would be this generous). They have also provided toiletries & not those difficult to open sachet things, but full size bottles of shampoo, shower gel, conditioner, handwash, face cleanser, face toner etc.

Eastleigh also provides an iron/ironing board should you require it. They run a honesty bar which provides drinks (soft and alcoholic) but no snacks (crisps/choc bars) - no critisism here, just info. They have free wifi (though we did not use it so can't comment on reliabilty). They also have a free car park, but again we did not use it as we managed to park on the street.

GENERAL

The chinese take away the hosts have menu for on Roman Bank is fab :) if u order the set menu for 2 (option D) like we did you will have enough food for approx 4 people! The hosts will also provide you plates & cutlery etc so you can eat in your room.

The food in the pub/bar on the main drag called (I think) Harveys is damn awful. Avoid it.

The pier amusements are good fun and have toilets within their building. The crazy golf is fun - even (or especially??) in the pouring rain like we did it.

OVERALL

A nice enough room tho I would not necessarily describe as luxury/deluxe and feel that for the price breakfast should have been included not extra.
The B&B is easy to find and in good location.
The hosts are friendly, cheerful and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doinkmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    96
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
60
283
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2010

excellent hotel, room adequate with good extra touches, only needed to take tooth brush and tooth paste as all shower gel, shampoo, soaps, face creams were available to use in the room. Breakfast very good. Proprieters extremely friendly and were treated to a very special one night stay. Will return to this hotel and will pass on to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan_wilcockson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2010

With this hotel you definitely don't get what you pay for!

Amazing value for money, the hotel is in easy walking distance of the train station (especially handy for us as we don't drive), situated opposite the pier & near enough everything you'd like it to be, but still incredibly quiet, so it's ideal for everyone.

Couldn't fault anything, friendly reception the minute we arrived, the owners couldn't do enough for anyone there, the rooms were beautifully decorated, cosy, comfortable & with everything you could need - including plenty of tea & coffee, enough pillows (it's so nice not having to ask for extra supplies), luxury handwash, shower gel, shampoo & hand cream, plus the little extras of cotton wool pads & make up remover. Not to mention the enormous breakfasts...

All I can say is it's an experience I definitely want to repeat!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenny2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2010

A fantastic little B&B situated just off the sea front. Ideally situated for all Skegness' main attractions without being surrounded by the noise of parts of the resort.

We received a warm welcome on our arrival and excellent service throughout our stay. Our room was clean and very comfortable. This family run B&B is perfect for couples or families wanting a comfortable and quiet base in the centre of the resort.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bex21st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skegness hotels
0.4 mi away
Kildare Hotel
Kildare Hotel
#1 of 26 in Skegness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Vine Hotel
BEST WESTERN Vine Hotel
#6 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Links Hotel
The Links Hotel
#5 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.1 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#7 of 26 in Skegness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.7 mi away
North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eastleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eastleigh

Property: The Eastleigh
Address: 60 Scarbrough Avenue, Skegness PE25 2TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Skegness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Eastleigh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eastleigh has an enviable location, conveniently close to the seafront, Skegness Pier and North Parade, and an easy walk to the beach, the centre of town, the bowling greens and Embassy Theatre. All rooms are comfortably furnished, well-appointed doubles arranged over three floors and all are en-suite with showers. Rooms at the front have a limited sea-view, and all other rooms face the rear of the property. Many unexpected little extras make a stay at The Eastleigh a little more special. The Eastleigh is 'room-only' and does not offer any meals, which is reflected in the attractive room rates. Allocated parking in the private car park is available for some rooms, otherwise there is ample on-street unlimited free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Eastleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastleigh Hotel Skegness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing