We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Grand" little hotel”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #15 of 93 Skegness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“"Grand" little hotel”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Nice friendly owners. Well kept and clean. Nice little bar. Can't understand the complaints about the car park. It's small and you're getting it for nothing, and cars have to be shifted around, that's why the owners ask for the keys. Some people think they should have the car park to themselves and sod everybody else.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    39
    14
    4
    12
See reviews for
41
90
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Just stayed at the grand for one night 20th july,room was very nice,we did not have a sea view,but then again we never asked for one. Got there late so was a little nervous would have trouble parking car,but this was not an issue as my place was there waiting for me. Were met by roger & his wife who are a lovely couple,the breakfast as usual was second to none,fruit cerials,or full english all on display,as is buffet style,superb.My wife & i always stay at this hotel as is so close to the theatre in skegness.

Room Tip: Rooms on top with sea view,superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I had a short break at this hotel,and was pleased with it,I would use it again.It was reasonably priced,the room was clean and comfortable,with a nice ensuite shower room.
I thought the breakfast was very good.It was buffet style, with some really nice fruit which I really enjoyed,plus cooked breakfast,cereal,toast,yogurts,catering for all tastes. The food was nicely cooked and they kept everything well topped up.
The owners were helpful,I didn't try the bar area ,but it looked nice enough.I don't agree with the bad reviews,it's a nice seaside hotel,you don't try to compare it to a big city hotel.It 's in an excellent sea front position,quiet yet near to everything.

Room Tip: I didn't have one with a sea view,but you could ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Junenoreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night Monday 1st July , never stayed before but did so on a recommendation ,
Checked in with no problems very polite lady , was directed to park at the rear if the hotel , down a alley which didn't look safe but turned out to be no problem ,
Our room was 10ft x 10ft no bigger , a double bed , TV set of draws and wardrobe , basic stuff , tea and coffee making stuff was a kettle perched on a shelf with the cable dangling , massive health and safety issue here not only for kids but anyone who brushed past it , could easy pull kettle down on your self , tv plugged in to another extension lead on top of wardrobe , unsightly and not ideal
We asked the lady if there was a Chinese restaurant anywhere near in Skeg ? And we was told not , a few takeaways but no eat in places , we later found out in a local coffee shop there is a buffet style chinky just down the rd which is top draw , and well worth a visit ,
Windows would not open to let the smell out , cross between fusty and a sort of tcp smell ??
Slept with patio door open all night due to it being warm , the noise from the traffic kept us awake half the night !!
Breakfast was ok buffet style , apart from the plastic very cheap basic sausages , real let down , the guy owner is the breakfast waiter so to speak , looked like he had just got up himself and hardly spoke apart from to ask if tea or coffee '
The fee of £75 per night is way way to much for this hotel and for what you get for your cash ,
We wouldn't stay again !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kev A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedworth,warwickshire
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Decided last minute to go to Skegness for the first time ever for the May Bank Holiday, had a lovely drive down and were welcomed by Roger the owner at the hotel, pleasantly surprised ...no "musty" seaside hotel smell, whole hotel is lovely and clean, had a couple of drinks in the little bar..draught drinks obviously kept well as they were lovely. Breakfast beautiful, I like fruit, yogurt and cereal/toast...hubby likes cereal and full english so we were both well catered for and happy, eat as much as you like buffet..if I were to return I would have a room at the front as the view at the back is dismal, we had room 11 spotlessy clean and more than adequate but the outlook is dreadful. Dont be put off by bad reviews, you will never please everyone but at the end of the day its Skegness not a 5* in Miami .... enjoy your stay if you go..we did !!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank acovanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingleton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

weve just returned from a stop over/business meeting in Skegness and found and loved this dog friendly hotel. Where nothing was too much trouble as we have just started our diets, Shirley was only too happy to accommodate us, we had delicious poached egg and beans on toast with a fresh fruit salad and all-bran flakes. . so all very healthy.. gorgeous location, sea view, 2 mins from main high street... loved it.. definately recommend .. dont bother reading all the nasty reviews, the couple who run this hotel arent fake, not in your face and false, just down to earth friendly hoteliers, just how we like it.

Room Tip: We had room 6, but i reckon room 7 would be awesome as it had it owns balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NBA2583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We have just returned from a lovely Easter break in Skeggy (my first time ever and I loved the place!!). The Grand was a perfect base - on the sea front and a small walking distance to the Pier and shops. The B&B was clean and the staff were really friendly. The breakfast was amazing each morning and the perfect start to the day. I would only recommend to stay away from the Clock House Restaurant - it was extremely expensive for what it served plus the quality of the food was very disappointing. The Sun Castle is a must for sure, its a bit quirky price for drinks was really reasonable.

Room Tip: If possible when booking a double room as for one on the first or second floor - the third floor one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sharon_farmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skegness hotels
0.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#9 of 26 in Skegness
580 reviews
0.0 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#4 of 26 in Skegness
446 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Vine Hotel
Best Western Vine Hotel
#7 of 26 in Skegness
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 26 in Skegness
253 reviews
1.7 mi away
Southview Park Hotel - Park Resorts
0.1 mi away
The Eastleigh
The Eastleigh
#2 of 26 in Skegness
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: 14 North Parade, Skegness PE25 2UB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Skegness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel is ideally located in a prime seafront position, close to the Sun Castle Bowling Greens, the Pier, and just a 5-minute walk from Skegness Town Centre. Guests can enjoy full English breakfasts and free Wi-Fi. Grand Hotel is a family managed business comprising of 21 rooms including an suite bathroom, with a TV and free tea, coffee. Some rooms feature private balconies with views of the bowling green and seafront. The buffet-style breakfast includes a variety of continental options as well as cooked items. Guests can enjoy a drink and meet new friends in the Grand Hotel Bar. We have a fitted chair lift, providing easy access to our first and second floor bedrooms. Children cannot be accommodated at the hotel. Extra beds are not available. There is no capacity for extra beds in the room. Skegness Rail Station is just 15-minute walking distance. Also the Tower cinema, Skegness Arcade, and Lifestyle Leisure Centre are only 15 minutes away on foot. The Embassy Theatre is just 5 minutes' walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing