We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good position”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #9 of 93 Skegness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2013

hotel in need of update but very clean.staff exceptional, food excellent, bar was opened for us,stair lift helped me, as did mobility scooter. very close to Embassy + most facilities, we would certainly book them again. one complaint was the VERY VERY tiny bathroom .

Room Tip: have a balcony if possible
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tierie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
There are newer reviews for The Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

Stayed for one night ,as had booked a show at embassy.Roger the owner is a very nice guy,we did not have time to cancel a single room which was booked for my daughter,until we were about to leave,we were told it wasent a problem & assured me he would not charge us,true to his word i had a full refund a few days after.My wife & i have stayed here before,& we have always been impressed with not only the hotel,but the breakfast is second to none,only grumble we had,is we had to come home.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I stayed for two nights in early October as we had a funeral to go to nearby. The hotel staff and owners were all very attentive, pleasant and helpful. It was nice to spend time in a cosy home from home.

Room Tip: Room 5 although at the back was very roomy and quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed for two nights end of September. Very clean hotel. Wide breakfast selection all nicely presented. All staff made every effort to impress. Had a nice sea view room which was well furnished, a good size and overlooked the pitch and putt green. Just one small problem was the lack of a lift to get two floors up but even then staff helped carry cases. There were chair lifts to each floor but one was very tired with my weight.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigun9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

we arrived at skegness and decided to stay the night, this hotel was the only hotel with rooms left and they only had 1, the staff were excellent and the reception was open after 8pm so we were able to book/check in. we got our key and went up few flights of stairs to the very top of the hotel into what seemed to be a loft conversion. the room was small and in places had lack of head room but it did have an en suite which was suprising due to the room size also it had a balcony which looks out onto the road (north parade) the bed was comfortable and the room had all the facilities you would expect like kettle/drink making facilities and tv but no phone? we had a peaceful nights sleep with no disturbances but we went off season so not sure what it would be like during the main season. In the morning we went down to the dining room which was very pokey. Not much room but the grub was good overall this was a pleasant stay and would go again but at £75 walk in price may think about booking in advance.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the grand for a weekend the parking is limited but were advised of a little street nearby where we could park.
The owners were very nice answered any queries very nicely
The rooms were clean and nice and neat , bathroom also very clean
The breakfast was fab
Would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eve1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Just back from 7 days at the Grand hotel where I took my elderly parents. I read some reviews that left me daunted at what to expect yet these were totally unjustified in our visit. In fact mum and dad had their best time in ages. On arrival our hosts were very helpfull in every way and stepped above our needs at every opportunity and were very friendly to all guests.Rooms were clean, appealing, warm and fully equiped. The cleaning staff were very friendly and helped you feel at home. Our hosts offered to make sandwiches as and when required in the evenings which was a great help with mum and dad. Nothing was too small, and all went to make mum and dads break special. Stayed in no 7 with a lovely balcony and a great view of the sea front.
Our hosts even placed extra seating so that we could all enjoy the view from the balcony.The breakfast was a treasure and even got dad eating well after a lengthy hospital stay.
Thanks to Roger and Shirley and all staff. We will be back.
.

Room Tip: When you book ask for a sea view with a balcony. (well worth it) Will suit all and the stairs have a...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renrag57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skegness hotels
1.7 mi away
Southview Park Hotel - Park Resorts
0.1 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#4 of 25 in Skegness
468 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Sun Hotel
The Sun Hotel
#18 of 25 in Skegness
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#11 of 25 in Skegness
265 reviews
0.6 mi away
North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
0.0 mi away
The Quorn Hotel
The Quorn Hotel
#2 of 25 in Skegness
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: 14 North Parade, Skegness PE25 2UB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Skegness
Price Range: £68 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel is ideally located in a prime seafront position, close to the Sun Castle Bowling Greens, the Pier, and just a 5-minute walk from Skegness Town Centre. Guests can enjoy full English breakfasts and free Wi-Fi. Grand Hotel is a family managed business comprising of 21 rooms including an suite bathroom, with a TV and free tea, coffee. Some rooms feature private balconies with views of the bowling green and seafront. The buffet-style breakfast includes a variety of continental options as well as cooked items. Guests can enjoy a drink and meet new friends in the Grand Hotel Bar. We have a fitted chair lift, providing easy access to our first and second floor bedrooms. Children cannot be accommodated at the hotel. Extra beds are not available. There is no capacity for extra beds in the room. Skegness Rail Station is just 15-minute walking distance. Also the Tower cinema, Skegness Arcade, and Lifestyle Leisure Centre are only 15 minutes away on foot. The Embassy Theatre is just 5 minutes' walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing