We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality meals if a little expensive for two Onion Bhaji's starter.”
Review of The Gandhi

The Gandhi
Ranked #35 of 215 Restaurants in Skegness
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$26
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The first and most established Indian restaurant in Skegness. We first opened in 1986 and have since become one of the most well known Indian restaurants in Lincolnshire. We serve authentic Indian cuisine cooked with fresh authentic spices. Our extensive menu provides options for everyone and we are always more than willing to help you choose a dish that suits you. Come an dine in our elegant and comfortable restaurant. Relax and indulge in the true flavours of the East. We also offer a takeaway service with 10% discount on collected orders. Free delivery service on takeaways over £12 within 2 mile radius. Charges apply to distances beyond 2 miles.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good quality meals if a little expensive for two Onion Bhaji's starter.”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Ordered for takeaway chicken vindaloo(£5.20) chicken tika masala(£6.70) one naan bread(£2.10) one keema naan bread(£2.60) one pillau rice(£2.00) and one portion of onion Bhaji(£2.70 for two pieces of onion bhaji's !) £21.30 minus 10% takeaway discount = £19.20. Both meals were to our liking with lovely large pieces of tender chicken. I love hot curries and i was not left disappointed by the vindaloo strenght ! (tip=pour the mint sauce onto one corner of the plate to add to the flavour...very nice combination of flavours. Only slight disappointment was you only get two onion baji's which although nice cost a bit too much for only two.....4 would have been better. Overall i would definitely recommend for quality but i am sure a bigger discount for takeaway price would attract even more customers.(Local curry shop in Huddersfield do two currys rice naan, mixed starter and 2 cans of pop for £12).

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terrier1908Bhoy1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belalmiah, Manager at The Gandhi, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your review. The meat, vegetables and spices we use are of the highest quality and we do not settle for second best. Quality does come at a price and unfortunately, we cannot discount the food further. You get 10% on takeaway orders, which is how it has been since we opened in 1986. Our Onion Bajhis are served as starters and are the size of tennis balls. Two of them is most certainly enough for a starter and over the 26 years, customers have actually commented on how big they are compared to elsewhere.

We can guarantee quality food at reasonable prices in an elegant environment. Sorry, but we cannot guarantee you will get a bargain at the same time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    57
    19
    15
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

First time at this restaurant. Pre booked table however no need co uld have just turned up to be seated plenty of room. Car parking can be a problem.

I will be back, lamb just melts in your mouth, lovely atmosphere, lovely food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lellymoocow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skegness
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Curry Night in Skeg”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

As a Brummy i know a good curry and skegg seems to strugle a bit and the Gandhi is the only one that comes close to a Brummy Curry!!!!
would go again

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
144 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“One of the best Indian restaurants in Skegness”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

There are plenty of Indian restaurants and takeaways to choose from in Skegness, and many people tend to stick with their favourite. We were no different and always went to Saffron for our curry fix.
Neighbours suggested The Gandhi as being equally good but with better service and a wider choice. We gave it a try and were pleasantly surprised!
The menu is extensive and has all the usual dishes as well as many we've not yet heard of or tried. The dining room is decorated like a typical Indian restaurant, which means it's neither appealing nor disappointing. The staff were attentive but could do with some lesson on how to speak to guests. We don't like being called 'mate'.
All in all it was a good experience and we now have a choice of two restaurants when we fancy Indian.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank meowf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding food”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Arrived at restaurant, was immediately greeted and shown to our table, service was quick, and the table looked wowwww, the food was the best iv ever eaten in any resturant, full credit goes to there chief, well done and next holiday I can't wait to come back, thankyou.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharonhextall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gandhi also viewed

Skegness, Lincolnshire
Skegness, Lincolnshire
 
Skegness, Lincolnshire
Skegness, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The Gandhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing