We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good for non-smokers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Aldor Guest House
Ranked #6 of 97 Skegness B&B and Inns
Nuneaton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not good for non-smokers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We were under the impression that the hotel was non smoking throughout (as advertised on Laterooms) however, on arrival it was clear smoking was going on downstairs, perhaps in the owners accomodation, none the less, smoke travels and could be smelt on the top floor which was extremely unpleasant. We stayed in the family room for 4 (double bed and bunks) The room and bathroom were clean but both very small and not really suited to a family of four (only 2 cups for drinks) The shower dribbled and it took a very long time for hot water to reach the taps. The heating was good and the room stayed warm. The hotel is in a lovely quiet location and only a few minutes walk from the front and shops. Mark and Theresa were great hosts and breakfast was really nice. Our children ages 9 and 11 liked helping themselves to toast and cereal. Overall cleanliness of the hotel was not good. The skirting boards were filthy by the stair lift and coffee/tea stains were on the walls, the stair carpets needed a good hoovering too. First impressions are important and ours were not good! From the previous reviews, we expected a much higher standard of accomodation. We will no doubt be back to Skeggy, but not back to The Aldor.

Room Tip: If you are a non smoker, avoid this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Aldor Guest House, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Sorry to hear about your bad experience at our guest house, I wasn't made aware of it at the time!
perhaps I could explain a few things, firstly we haven't been here long enough to be able to update everything as when we bought the house it was completely empty apart from the stair lift and carpet, and there have been many problems with plumbing and electrics which have had to be addressed but not budgeted for.
We do not have any staff so sometimes not everything gets done to the highest spec although we try to make sure the rooms are clean and comfortable for all, if we did pay somebody to clean public areas we would have to increase our prices to cover this and feel as a budget guest house people would not like this.
Unfortunately we cannot change the size of rooms/en-suites, that would be structural and expensive (again increasing our charges).
Last and far from least I am sorry that you had an uncomfortable time with the smell of smoke, this will either be from guests standing outside the front door and it drifting in (and as you rightly say everything goes all the way to the top of the stairs due to thier shape), or from my poorly old mum who used to live with us but will no longer burden any guests as she passed away in the new year.
I wish you every happiness in your future trips to our lovely town and hope you find accomodation which suits your whole family, but just ask that if you have a problem with anything you really should tell the person responsible at the time to give them chance to rectify or explain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    9
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
28
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cambridge
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

Just spent the last 3 nights 4 days in this very nice,and comfortable hotel,14-17 August.The owners Theresa,and Mark, were very pleasant,friendly,good start to the day, is a well cooked, and plentiful breakfast,and they sure did that. Mark runs the bar, in the evenings, and we found the selection of drinks,and prices very good.Pool table in the bar,as well as a good selection of music,you just tell him what you like to hear and he'll be the D J, a very warm and welcome atmosphere.
Rooms, clean, comfortable,and plenty of tea/coffee/sugar/milk,if you want anymore just ask,and it will be re filled.The location is quiet, and central, only about 5 to 10 mins walk from the usual seaside,entertainments. Catered for all people, mobility problems, looked after, with a stair lift to the 1st floor,families with children nothing has been left out,there is also a very pretty garden area,to the front of the Hotel,with seating,and lights,and a feature fountain.
The only down side was the parking,although it is in a quiet street, it does get busy in the day,we arrived early afternoon,and after looking and driving around, could only found a place to park around in another road,altogether,although to be fair, once the daytime traffic had gone we did get a parking place on the road outside of the Hotel, but the same applied if you went out in the day, you would have to wait until the evening to get to park outside near the hotel again.This probably wouldn't apply if you were staying out of peak holiday times, but it is still.worth pointing out.
In summary,a good well established Hotel,with friendly owners, well worth staying here,comfort abounds, well done Theresa and Mark.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norwich
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

a lovely little B and B - the personal service from the owners was great. Rooms nice and clean and the breakfast was really very good. Very helpful owners in providing help when there was a problem with a noisy nieghbour, all sorted as would be expected. Recommended if staying in Skeggie, only a 5min walk to the Pier. Great location.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stepheneaglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We have stayed at the aldor on 2 occassions, firstly myself and my husband with my mum,dad and sisters family and secondly with our 2 children and extended family(13 in total). On both occasions we were greeted into a warm, friendly environment. The rooms were spotless and were well suited to our needs (travel cots for the babies that were all made up with bedding when we arrived.) Mark(Barry) and Theresa are fantastic hosts and nothing was a bother for them, even warming up our bottles for our youngest when needed. We do have a tendency to take over the place, with our hoards of pushchairs and 5 young children but this was never seen as a problem. All round amazing stay which really did feel like a home from home. Would highly recommend to families regardless of your childrens age, All our needs were met and Ive never seen my girls so happy. Thank you Mark and Theresa for 2 wonderful stays, we will be back in the not so distant future.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

stayed at the hotel last year for weekend. it was good price and had a bar which was good prices nothing was any trouble if you need something just ask. breakfast was lovely really enjoyed my breakfast . rooms were spotless and Mark and Teresa were very friendly. not far from the town and not far from the ship. enjoyed that much booked before i left for 2012.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chez45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOYTRE
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We were recommended the hotel after my parents stayed there in 201 just after it had been bought by Mark and Theresa. We stayed there in feb 2012, our room was perfect for us and our 11 year old boy, the room was clean and tidy with lovely towels and adequate tea making facilities. The breakfast was perfect and set us up for the day, with plenty choice. Our son was entertained again by the Wii and the pool table and also by the owners son, who is polite and friendly. We went out for our evening meal but were told we could bring a takeaway back to eat if we wanted - something that is not offered at other B&B we have stayed at and does take some pressure off if all you want to do is kick back at the end of a busy day with tired children. The hotel is ideally situated to all amenities and there was ample parking on the street outside. We would recommend the Aldor and would not hesitate in returning.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

Have just spent 4 nights here and cannot fault it at all. Mark & Theresa have a fantastic cosy hotel in the ideal location..far enough from the hustle of the bright lights on the front, but no more than 3 or 4 mins walk to either the beach or main shops in town. The room was clean, the public areas of the hotel are bright & welcoming, and the food wonderful both in taste and presentation. Even better - no nasty sky high bar prices!

What makes the hotel special though is Mark & Theresa themselves. They are genuinely friendly and welcoming, and put their heart and soul into making your stay in their home very special indeed.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HampshireTrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skegness hotels
0.2 mi away
The Eastleigh
The Eastleigh
#3 of 26 in Skegness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.7 mi away
North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
0.4 mi away
Kildare Hotel
Kildare Hotel
#1 of 26 in Skegness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Vine Hotel
BEST WESTERN Vine Hotel
#5 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.2 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#7 of 26 in Skegness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aldor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aldor Guest House

Property: The Aldor Guest House
Address: 19 Scarbrough Avenue, Skegness PE25 2SZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Skegness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Aldor Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aldor Guest House(under new Management),we are situated on a quiet tree-lined avenue over looking St Matthews Church. We are a Family run business that offers a warm and comfortable stay, we are only a 5 minutes walk to all local amenities and all the attractions of the sea front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Aldor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing