We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would I stay again”
Review of The Links Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Links Hotel
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Skegness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Couple friendly but the hotel old and tied which is no fault of there's.how ever the cleanliness of the place is,that place has not seen a Hoover and duster in god knows how long.our room was dusty sink and toilet not cleaned,I had to buy wipes to clean them before we could use them,curtains was not fix to the rail ,,used bits of soap in the bathroom,,water lovely and hot how ever shamed it didn't come out of the shower head,,I could carry on .its a shame it's a hotel with a lot of potential and just going to waste,,,',,,any to the answer above no I wouldn't stay again

Room Tip: Would love to but cant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank rose_smedley369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

This time last week we were arriving for our stay at the Links were we warmly greeted made to feel at home and shown to our rooms, we have stopped here beforehand and know it is on a holding which ties the hand of the owners somewhat but this lovely couple did everything in their power to make our stay a very pleasant one. In fact the only unpleasant thing was the rather rowdy guests, lucky for us they were leaving the following day but not before they had managed to wake up us in the early hours after drinking after time in another pub, this 'caused friction and it is to this I attribute their moaning, The Links is a friendly hotel well run welcoming to families and ideal for the nearby golf course they complained re breakfast our only complaint was asking for it to be CUT DOWN. Perhaps the complainers should try a 5star next time -but of course that would be 5star payments. Rev G Downie & family.

Room Tip: our rooms were perfect as they were completely self contained and yet joined by a separate door keep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gayledownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Very friendly staff, couldn't do enough for us, even lent me their iron and ironed for us! Could do with redecorating/refurbishing, decent bar, breakfast was excellent, good value for money and would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Archibold169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephanie w, Manager at The Links Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

thank you for very much, for your lovely comments. we look forward to your custom in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I agree that the place needs refurbishment, but both Steve and Steph work Very hard on keeping the place clean, and its a Friendly Family oriented pub, where kids can feel safe while the parents can have a social drink. The rooms were spotless, and we had brand new towels, even the showers were hot. If you read the reviews from Dennis V, and gnome8258, DISCARD THEM !! they were a group of 17 supposed golfers, who took great delight at destroying the rooms and hallways, keeping all other guests up until past 3am with their yelling, and banging on Everyones doors. If the discarded rollups were anything to go by, they will not be using this pub/hotel ever again, as they are barred. GOD HELP any other hotel that have to put up with them in future. Steve and Steph are the interim managers until Marstons sell the place, and Marstons will not help with any refurbishing until its sold, they work very hard, and will go out of their way to help any customers.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daddyken50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

On arrival the hotel looked very nice from the outside but on entering the premises it soon appeared very dirty. The owners were observed to be unkept and lacked in communication skills at times.

On entering our rooms it was apparent how unclean the rooms were, there were also no tv and the showers were cold and had no preasure making the showering experience a horrible experience.

There was 17 of us staying at the hotel and the breakfast was that bad not one person could manage to eat it. The food was greasy with very little taste. We purchased all our other food outside the hotel as we could not believe the food was so distasteful.

I would like to say something good about the Links hotel but there is nothing good you could say so on that note i would not recomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephanie w, Manager at The Links Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

this is second response of the party of golfers. i will know say,has regards to the dirty towels. they would have been cleaned,dried and put outside your door. only one of your team did that. how can that be our fault?. we was all dressed in trousers,shoes and shirts. the golfers never saw our children,because they was never here to see them.our children are always well presented, never run around in nappies. needless to say the only child in nappies is our seven month old and can not run around yet.
Your report was very unfair and dishonest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

What a dump, dirty, cobwebs, dirty towels, in need of total refurbishment, breakfast is just grease on a plate, paper thin walls, sugar bowls are empty yoghurt pots? Children in nappies running around.
Seems some residents were put in there by DHSS.
This is a honest review, even on a tight budget you can get much better standards than here.
Only stayed as I was part of a golfing group otherwise would have walked staight out.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gnome8285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephanie w, Manager at The Links Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

We consider this a very unfair description. Has this is at pub under a holding management, and the buildingis very outdated and needs some major refurb. We as holding managers use what ever we have got, to the best quality we can. has for your complaints on this hotel they are rubbish. when you arrived you was all given rooms on a sharing basis, no sooner had you come in and said that you wanted a indian meal.we arranged for you to have a meal else where. as for the antics of the major part of your group on the first night,coming in at two o'clock in the morning banging on all the hotel doors and shouting around. we had some major complaints from other residents,which was not DHSS. as we do not accept them. that was the past history from a previous landlord. as for breakfast, there was nothing wrong with it,from the other residents. the fact was you was to druck from the previous night drinking at another pub,till the early hours. to a point that one of your crowd had a bite of a hash brown and said he could face his breakfast because he was to hung over. On your second night here you came in between 2.30 to 3.30 in the morning,after going out for an evening meal.has we do not serve a evening meal.your antics of leaflets all over and hover wire spread over to of stairs not goog enough behavior not welcome here anymore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This pub used to be my local. Since new people took over it is a filthy pub. You go in for a pint, landlady got child straped to her or either feeding child on the bar. Children running allover. To be honest it feels like the pub is there livind quarters and not using as a pub. I think it should be looked into by marstons. Come back alan and roz.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smally9666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephanie w, Manager at The Links Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

this is a family run pub,not like it was ten years ago.where it was a drinking pub.we would never change or feed a child at the bar. neither to they run about like head less chickens. please be away that this is our home as well has it been a business.all children are welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skegness hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#11 of 25 in Skegness
279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Vine Hotel
Best Western Vine Hotel
#6 of 25 in Skegness
544 reviews
1.6 mi away
North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Southview Park Hotel - Park Resorts
1 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#3 of 25 in Skegness
483 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#12 of 25 in Skegness
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Links Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Links Hotel

Address: 198-202 Drummond Road, Skegness PE25 3BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Skegness
#7 Romantic Hotel in Skegness
Price Range: £40 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Links Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Link's Hotel was taken over by your hosts Mark & Gina in January 2015. They would like to welcome you all to their business where you would get a home cooked meal and warm bed for the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your The Links Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Links Hotel Skegness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing