We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very happy”
Review of Carlton B&B

Carlton B&B
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carlton B&B
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Skegness
Reviewed 19 August 2013

we booked the Carlton last minute when we arrived in Skegness to meet friends.Such lovely happy owners,Simon and Charlotte.Our room was a double and a single,it was small,but we had only wanted to sleep so no problem.We had a on-suit ,tea and coffee etc..the only downside was the smell of cigarettes in the bedroom.Breakfast was ready and waiting,starting with cornflakes and fresh orange juice,then hot toast and a beautifully cooked English.Lovely banter as it was served .Great value for money at only £62 for three,our child was half price,not many do that,would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elz0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

Booked a family room for 1 night for 5 people. First room had a double bed and a balcony. Second had bunk beds and a single. Both rooms good sized with a shower down the corridor all areas clean and tidy. we would stop again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenJames43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I booked a room and payed in full before arriving, on arrival to the hotel and going into the room we noticed the room was dirty and trows were put over the bedding to cover it up, there was a broken mirror on the wall and the window would not lock which would leave our possessions at risk.. We spoke to the owners who basically said the room looked fine to them and refused to give us our money back!! Needless to say we did not stay there!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Not the newest place on earth but we prefer older places - the welcome was great - would stay again any time. A real contrast to some of the other places in Skeg but this place works -
Well done to the owners -

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Stayed here for two nights with a load of family and we had 4 rooms in total.

We arrived very early (7am) and whilst Charlotte was very busy serving breakfast she allowed us in to one of the rooms which was ready and as soon as she was finished serving breakfast she cleaned the remaining rooms so that we could leave our bags and go out in to Skeggy.

Breakfast was great, and the drinks from the bar were nicely priced! What more could you want?

I cannot stress enough how accommodating Charlotte was - very helpful despite her very long days!

I must admit I was never a big fan of Skegness but I had a great couple of days and if I go back again, I will definitely be going back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBFG5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

myself and my partner went to skegness originally booked into another b and b which was like the guest house from hell, (feel free to check out my review on auntie ruths guest house) Simon had a roomn spare so we booked it, the room was maybe a little basic but clean comfy and had everything you needed. Great value with a top notch breakfast. The Carlton managed to turn our break round from a near disaster to a great night away, thanks to simon and the Carlton. think the bad reviews of this place must be mixed up with somewhere else or wanted the hilton for £22 pppn including breakfast

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisandgail39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Great value, great hospitality. Simon who runs it is very accomodating, helpful and friendly. Clean and a great breakfast! Situated just off the main streatch, close to the town centre, arcades and the sea. Free parking when available, licenced bar and WIFI. Love staying there.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kat1esc0tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skegness hotels
1.9 mi away
Southview Park Hotel - Park Resorts
0.4 mi away
The Links Hotel
The Links Hotel
#7 of 25 in Skegness
305 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#23 of 25 in Skegness
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#12 of 25 in Skegness
70 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Quorn Hotel
The Quorn Hotel
#2 of 25 in Skegness
251 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Vine Hotel
Best Western Vine Hotel
#6 of 25 in Skegness
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton B&B

Address: 70 Drummond Road, Skegness PE25 3EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Skegness
Price Range: £58 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run premise situated close to the seafront of Skegness, a premier East coast of England holiday resort and base for exploring the hidden treasures of Lincolnshire. Offering a variety of room types for B&B All at competetive rates. close to all ameneties. We recently purchaced the buisness and have done a lot of work to update it . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Carlton B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing