We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay Again”
Review of Carlton B&B

Carlton B&B
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carlton B&B
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Skegness
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Spent a couple of nights in Skeg at the Carlton Hotel. Simon was as welcoming as ever. Nothing is too much trouble. Had a great family room as we had three of the grandkids with us. Thinking of going to Skegness? Book the Carlton. Do not pay any attention to the negative reviews, some people are just too finicky.

If I owned a B&B I would be just like Basil Fawlty. Yes, you are? Manuel.

Room Tip: Be a devil take pot luck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank trickygeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

We went there in July me and my wife for a weekend break. When asked to see room before paying the owner very abruptly said this has been booked and you have to pay before we show you to your room, we were soon to find out why! We did pay and he gave us a key and left us to it, when we entered the room we were greeted by a dirty smell, it was disgusting we went and complained to which he said he didn't have another room and there was nothing wrong with his rooms he was very rude and not interested he refused to give us our money back. So we went back to the room only to find the sheets had cigarette burns and stains on them. The shower had mould in it and smelt really damp and generally unclean.
Hence to say we did not stay! Avoid at all cost

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Ali D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We have stayed at the Carlton many times over the last few years and we just thought it deserved a mention on Trip Advisor. Simon always welcomes you and is always on hand to handle any queries. The hotel is clean, the breakfasts are very good, you can order something different if you don't fancy the Full English. The lounge is at your disposal where you can relax almost as if you were at home. Drummond Road is very handy for the town centre, the sea front and the beach.

Beware the Fashion Police are out in full force in Skegness.

Room Tip: Rooms at back are generally quieter. However stairs will be an issue so specify a room on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trickygeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

we booked the Carlton last minute when we arrived in Skegness to meet friends.Such lovely happy owners,Simon and Charlotte.Our room was a double and a single,it was small,but we had only wanted to sleep so no problem.We had a on-suit ,tea and coffee etc..the only downside was the smell of cigarettes in the bedroom.Breakfast was ready and waiting,starting with cornflakes and fresh orange juice,then hot toast and a beautifully cooked English.Lovely banter as it was served .Great value for money at only £62 for three,our child was half price,not many do that,would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elz0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

Booked a family room for 1 night for 5 people. First room had a double bed and a balcony. Second had bunk beds and a single. Both rooms good sized with a shower down the corridor all areas clean and tidy. we would stop again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenJames43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I booked a room and payed in full before arriving, on arrival to the hotel and going into the room we noticed the room was dirty and trows were put over the bedding to cover it up, there was a broken mirror on the wall and the window would not lock which would leave our possessions at risk.. We spoke to the owners who basically said the room looked fine to them and refused to give us our money back!! Needless to say we did not stay there!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Not the newest place on earth but we prefer older places - the welcome was great - would stay again any time. A real contrast to some of the other places in Skeg but this place works -
Well done to the owners -

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skegness hotels
1.9 mi away
Southview Park Hotel - Park Resorts
0.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#11 of 25 in Skegness
270 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Links Hotel
The Links Hotel
#5 of 25 in Skegness
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Vine Hotel
Best Western Vine Hotel
#6 of 25 in Skegness
536 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sun Hotel
The Sun Hotel
#18 of 25 in Skegness
254 reviews
1.2 mi away
North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton B&B

Address: 70 Drummond Road, Skegness PE25 3EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Skegness
Price Range: £59 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run premise situated close to the seafront of Skegness, a premier East coast of England holiday resort and base for exploring the hidden treasures of Lincolnshire. Offering a variety of room types for B&B All at competetive rates. close to all ameneties. We recently purchaced the buisness and have done a lot of work to update it . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Carlton B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing