We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stop”
Review of Epton Ltd

Epton Ltd
Ranked #31 of 215 Restaurants in Skegness
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Seafood, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
353 reviews
291 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
“Good stop”
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Crusty, savoury, delicate, big, deepfried haddock upon an hill of chips, mushy peas or beans, gravy or mustard, in the oldest "fish & chips" shop in Skegness is a must,
along with pies, chicken, prawns and all the real British cuisine can offer.
Shouldn't be missed!

Helpful?
Thank smeRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    26
    13
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“First and last visit”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Called in here on our first day trip to Skegness. Chose it because it was on the so called "chip shop alley" and was quite busy. We both had haddock, chips and peas, with bread and butter. The fish consisted mainly of rock hard batter, the chips had no taste whatsoever and the bread was aweful. We had a pot of tea for 2 but were hard pressed to get 2 cups from it. Our local chip shop sells better quality fish and chips. Eptons need to go up the coast to Whitby, to the Magpie Cafe to see how a proper fish and chip meal should be served. Needless to say we will not be going again. For that matter we will not be going to Skegness again.......once, is one visit too many!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tiger1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“The best”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

If ever we are in Skegness we have our dinner at Eptons good well cooked fish and chips and good service and very good value for money

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shaun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“No1 for fish and chips in Skegness...”
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

Went to Epsons for our fish and chips fix whilst in Skegness (its the law.!)...
Good valve,piping hot fish and chips with bread and butter plus a side of mushy peas,baked beans or gravy,your choice plus a drink....cant be bad..excellent all round.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wakeypride59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
244 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Best chippy ever”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We always visit Eptons when we are in Skegness and it has always been first class for quality. The large haddock and chips is lovely and good value if you eat at the tables outside. We are usually unable to finish everything as you get so much to eat! The restaurant is very clean and if you opt o eat inside as we do during the winter the service is excellent. Great meal but not for those on a diet!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jacqui43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Epton Ltd also viewed

Skegness, Lincolnshire
Skegness, Lincolnshire
 
Skegness, Lincolnshire
Skegness, Lincolnshire
 
Skegness, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Epton Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing