We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family holiday”
Review of Butlins

Butlins
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great family holiday”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Visited this Butlins site for the first time at the end of July with my husband, 13 year old autistic son and 6 year old daughter. We were very impressed with the check in and apartment, but do have to say the check out procedure was not very clear in welcome pack (only gave a time, not where to leave keys or if you could stay on site after checkout). We all really enjoyed the fairground (although daughter was upset that I could not win an evil minion for her lol), Also enjoyed splash waterworld (son really enjoyed the flumes). Ate at most of the eateries on site and the staff in them were great, especially in Ludos and Firehouse and waiting times for tables were good. Didn't see much of the entertainment in Skyline Pavilion but did go to Centre Stage to watch African Fusion and really enjoyed it, really appreciated the short show times (son can struggle with sitting still for long periods of time). We will be back again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanJeannie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    680
    440
    205
    82
    110
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Funpacked day out with the family”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Paid £60 for a day pass which allowed access in the park from 10am to 6pm and we had a full funpacked day. My 7 and 5 yr old boys absolutely loved their first taste of Butlins. They were engrossed by the fireman Sam and scooby doo shows, we went in splash world which was excellent although very busy and had to wait for changing rooms. Spent the afternoon in the fairground, arcades and soft play area. All the facilities are very good and the staff we came across were all very polite and friendly towards towards the kids. Hope to be able to return for a weekend some time or even try a Butlins resort a little further afield. Had a fab day.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsgritty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Seeing Butlins from another viewpoint”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Having been to Butlins, Skegness twice before with my grand daughter, I decided to book 4 nights this year in July/August. Having had pleasant experiences the last two times we went, we were confident that all would be well. Unfortunately, my partner was confined to a wheelchair hired from Butlins & I was truly amazed how wheelchair unfriendly Butlins is. The paths are full of potholes and there is a bridge just past reds that is almost impossible to push the chair on because of the roughness of the stones. As for entering premises, the doors were mostly double swing doors with a lip running across the bottom which made it very difficult to push the chair over while trying to hold the door open. Butlins are reputed to be a family friendly concern but I'm afraid that does not include "wheelchair friendly" I will not be returning to Butlins again, even though my grand daughter loves the place. To make matters worse, there seems to be no way of actually complaining to Butlins to let them know how serious this problem is.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Runningvicar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Just what the children ordered”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We spent a week here with the grandchildren. The apartments are clean and well maintained. It is wall to wall entertainment for the children and next door to the beach. The entertainment was good and Dick & Dom were hilarious.
The grandchildren really loved all the extras that they could have but we did spend a lot of time on the beach.

if your children are under 12 think about a holiday here.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JanetJohn18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great family fun”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Went here for a day trip with the mrs and 3 children u 5. Lots to do for the kids. Rides, arcades etc. soho cafe especially nice for lunch. Definitely go again soon.

Helpful?
Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlins, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Hi Jamie C

Thank you for leaving a review - we are so pleased to hear you had a good time with us at Skegness, and that you plan to return.

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Butlins also viewed

 
Ingoldmells, Skegness
Skegness, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Butlins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing