We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay”
Review of The Sherwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sherwood
Ranked #25 of 93 Skegness B&B and Inns
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great stay”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay again at the sherwood hotel. We stayed in room 7 one of there newly decorated rooms, fantastic bathroom huge shower very nice room and number 8 looked fantastic to a room 7 & 8 are a little more expensive than the other rooms but we'll worth it. We will be back again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    19
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
53
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This is a lovely hotel in a great location. Rob and Linda are wonderful hosts. We normally stay bed and breakfast only as there are plenty of eating places in the area, however, if you decide to have a night in you can guarantee a good and wholesome meal will be supplied. Clean and comfortable what more could you ask for.

We go every year and are never disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This was a lovely cosy B&B owned by some of the most friendliest people you will ever meet. You can tell that they enjoy what they do.
The room was a little on the small side, however it was en-suite and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast again was a little small, but was delicious non the less.
The B&B is only a couple of minutes away from the beach front, with a walk through a park, and the town centre is literally just down the road. There is also free parking just outside the accommodation.
The highlight though were the owners! So friendly and made the stay awesome!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gareth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east yorks
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Nice warm welcome from Linda shown to room and every thing explained, clean and cosy room, beds were comfortable. very good choice of food for breakfast, well cooked and presented. The sea front is a just a short walk through the park and main shops at the top of the road so is very well located for all your needs. My wife and I would stay again on our next visit to Skeggy.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spikeEastYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Thought I had done a review for my stay in May.I loved it Linda and Rob are great hosts, room spotless breakfast as good as you can get... Going back there again in 2014I wouldn`t think about staying anywhere else unless they were fully booked

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marymac L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My friend and I stayed there for only 1 night. Linda and Rob made us feel very welcome after a long day travelling by train. (Our train was cancelled and arrived 90 min late!) Rob immediately carried our case up to a lovely twin room with en-suite. Everything was spotlessly clean. The breakfast was great. Choice of 4 cereal, natural yoghurt and summer fruits. Then full English and as much tea/coffee and toast as we wanted. Great value for money. Will definitely stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrandmaT1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We have just returned from a weekend in Skegness having stayed at The Sherwood Hotel. This is the 3rd time we have stayed there and will go there again.The owners Linda & Rob give you a warm welcome every time & can not do enough to make you feel welcome & at home.The rooms are very clean with en suites & very comfortable beds.You get a lovely full English breakfast with as much tea & coffee as you can drink.We get treated like old friends when we go there now & highly recommend staying there.The hotel is situated right off the main high st & only a very short walk to the beach & ammusments it could not be better situated with carparking at the front.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank helen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skegness hotels
0.2 mi away
The Eastleigh
The Eastleigh
#2 of 26 in Skegness
463 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Links Hotel
The Links Hotel
#8 of 26 in Skegness
282 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#13 of 26 in Skegness
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Greystones Hotel
Greystones Hotel
#43 of 93 in Skegness
47 reviews
0.3 mi away
Serena Court Hotel
Serena Court Hotel
#1 of 93 in Skegness
250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarence House
Clarence House
#13 of 93 in Skegness
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sherwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sherwood

Property: The Sherwood
Address: 11 Rutland Road, Skegness PE25 2AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Skegness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sherwood 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sherwood, Skegness, is a family-owned and run bed & breakfast in a quiet, convenient location in Skegness. With views across Tower Gardens to The Embassy Theatre. The Sherwood is set in a Victorian villa in a quiet residentialjust off Lumley Road the main Shopping area in Skegness, whilst being just a gentle walk from the sea front and aquarium and 10 minute walk from the rail and bus station. A full English breakfast is included in our rates. We have limited car parking for only 3 cars, which is complimentary for our guests. Rutland Road offers free car parking where available and Skegness has many paid car parking only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Sherwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing