We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Southwold Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sun Hotel(Skegness)
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Hotel(Skegness)(Great Value!)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Bell Hotel(Skegness)
US$105
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Hotel(Skegness)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Links Hotel(Skegness)
US$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
73
30
6
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
73
30
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bsea frontstayed herefull english breakfastfish chip shoproom was cleantea and coffee making facilitiescouple who runcooked breakfastquiet roadhome from homefriendly ownersthree nightsfantastic hostsrogernightlifestorage
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
107 - 111 of 111 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Just stayed one of many weekends spent here,food really good and a very pleasant welcome from the proprietors who make every effort for your comfort if they can,and you tell them of course-people cannot read minds.Going back soon for another weekend,comfy rooms and decent breakfasts,away from the noise of the immediate town,short walk for a small shop/newsagent and the pub,sea front nearby too.Dandy!

Room Tip: persons who are infirm may not want to be in the upper rooms,due to steep second set of stairs.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnB1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

The room was small, no walkway in the room, the bedding had stains on the sheets, the bed was uncomfortable ! there was dust everywhere on the top of wardrobe , window sill, tops of photo frames , bathroom you couldn't even walk in, water was cold! the hotel wasn't what it was made out to be! Wasn't worth the money, breakfast was to early Infact there was no wake up call for breakfast so we missed it! kettle was so tiny enough to make 1 cup of tea at a time! no iron facilities , no hair dryer (even tho they were stated in room description) lounge door was always shut lights were always off , the hotel mini bar was never open ! Lights again always off! And there was never anyone around to talk to or ask if we were ok - it says it's a modern hotel very old fashioned! Deff never going back

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nat17_xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger1giles, Owner at Southwold Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

I find the comments to be totally out of order. First we are not a hotel but a guest house that take pride in all we do. I feel the statments about breakfast is wrong. We tell all our guest what time breakfast is . We ask if they need a call. I have no control over guest that oversleep. Our guest lounge is open untill 10pm everynight. and as we live on site we are her at all times to respond to any of our guests problems. I understand that we cant please all our guest . but if there is any problems they can be sorted by talking to us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

we were visiting family and stayed at the southwold, we can throughly recommend it. clean comfortable room, small en-suite (but everything you need) and plenty of hot water. for breakfast we choose what we wanted. our welcome on arrival was 2nd to none & we even had a call before we left home to warn us of road works outside. Roger took us to where we were to met the family, thats what i call going above and beyond duty. i'm only sorry we couldn't stay longer & we hope to stay there again

Room Tip: look at the web site
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller6080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I was performing at The Embassy Theatre in Skegness and decided at the last minute to stay over.
I read the reviews on Trip Advisor and booked into The Southwold.
It's conveniently situated for the beach and town. The welcome I received was warm and friendly. My room was small but perfectly formed, with a nice ensuite and powerful shower. I had a good night's rest. I didn't have breakfast as I was up and out early.
It's certainly a place I'd stay at again
Mark Rough - Comedian

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews