We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Vine Hotel
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Skegness
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
584 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Mostly good”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I've given this 3 stars, simply because there isn't a 'good' rating available. (Trip Advisor take note?)
The Vine is an interesting building as much pub as hotel. In general it was adequate (and may well be the best hotel in the town – this, however, says more about the town than the hotel).

Reception was fine and our room was ready, even though we had arrived before the stated check-in time. The room was clean (though a huge quantity of air-freshener had been used and we had to prop the door open for a while to allow it to dissipate). The room was well-appointed. The decor is (in our opinion) bizarre: the only description we could decide upon was ‘gypsy wedding glam’. The chair (only 1: if you want to watch TV, you have to do it from the bed) was sort-of zebra, most of the remainder was ‘faux alligator’ with mirrored drawers (most broken) and one mirror in a rococo frame. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was fine (though the shower was difficult to use, and the toilet seat was loose), with nice towels. The room needed better lighting: 1 bedside lamp and some ceiling spots are not enough for those of us who like to read in bed.

Some of the public areas were not in particularly good repair; for example, there was water damage to the ceiling and wallpaper in the upstairs hall and banisters were sticky.

Breakfasts were good (though heavy on the fried food – can’t decide if this is a good or bad point :) ) and the team serving them were excellent. However, the restaurant also suffers from the work of the maddened designer responsible for the bedrooms.

We ate one meal in the bar: the food is fine, though ‘pub’ rather than restaurant. When we came to check out, the food hadn’t made it to our bill, though.

Would we stay here again? Well, probably – but only because everywhere else looks really depressing!

Room Tip: The upper staircases are narrow, steep and twisty: certainly unsuitable for anyone with even a minor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Bob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternv, Manager at Best Western Vine Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you for your comments, we take all comments seriously and the points you have raised have been passed on to the relevant people. I am sorry that the décor was not to your taste and the issues you had with your room. If you would like to call me to discuss these further I would be more than happy. The positive comments about the staff have been passed on. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Vine if you are ever in Skegness

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    177
    59
    11
    21
See reviews for
140
191
13
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We were in the suite on 2nd floor. Room sizes excellent as was the cleanliness, toiletries, towels and hospitality tray. There is a separate sitting room, I call it that as it did not have a TV! On enquiring we were told that guests cannot understand why there isn't one in the there. The massive TV in the bedroom had to be viewed from the bed as no chairs in bedroom. If we had wanted a bedroom with a TV we wouldn't have booked a suite. There were no drawers to hold clothing a chest of drawers would assist greatly. We were staying for 5 days but many guests only stay for a night or two and are not affected. The bedroom did not have bedside lights so reading in bed had to be done by torchlight, glad we took them with us.
The food both at dinner and breakfast was superb with a good choice. We couldn't understand the supplements on some items e.g.£6 on a fish dish...
We reported a housekeeping repair on our first day and it was not rectified by the time we left 5 days later.
It is a lovely hotel with great staff, especially Toni, but with a little more thought it could be excellent all round.
We would definitely stay again and hope our suggestions have been taken on board.

Room Tip: Book a normal bedroom do not waste money on a suite with no TV in the sitting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancesandStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternv, Manager at Best Western Vine Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are currently dealing with the points you have highlighted and I apologise that we did not meet with your expectations. By using your comments and points we can ensure that we endeavour to achieve the ultimate experience for yourselves and for future guests. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Vine in the future. If you would like to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact me direct on 01754 610611

Kind regards
Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Me and my partner visited the vine hotel for a one night stay for a nice break. Having stayed at Skegness before and the bad reputation skegness has, I wasn't expecting much at all really. When we got to the hotel they were having some work done near to the entrance but this did not change how aesthetically pleasing the hotel is. We were greater by a lady behind the reception who gave us our key and told us the directions to our room, she also offered us to opened a tab for room service, drink and meals etc. Our room was situated on the third floor and was beautiful. It had stripped teal coloured wall paper which was matched with the bed linen, curtains and chair. The decor looked expensive. The whole room inc bathroom was just gorgeous. We didn't have a meal or a drink there but when we walked past the bar there seemed to be a great atmosphere and it was full too. The restaurant also looked lovely, if I was to visit skegness again I would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternv, Manager at Best Western Vine Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments, it is always a pleasure to receive them, they have been passed onto all members of staff. I am pleased you enjoyed your visit to Skegness and look forward to welcoming you back to the Vine in the very near future

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Had chance of a weekend away but could only get one night what a pity could have easily stayed a couple more. Check in was easy plenty of parking spaces. Room was excellent clean and well appointed . Had drinks in the garden then took a taxi into town but walked back easily in 20 minutes. Liked the position of the hotel and its tranquil grounds. Breakfast was very tasty with a good choice and excellent service. Would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillM824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternv, Manager at Best Western Vine Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for your positive comments, it is always a pleasure to receive these and pass them onto all the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Vine in the very near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Just returned from 2 nights ( dinner , bed and breakfast) at this hotel as a birthday treat for my chap.
I am going to try to be very fair as our visit was very mixed - good and dreadful points.
Good :- lovely building, large grounds, easy parking, friendly staff, very clean, decor finished to a high standard, quality of food in restaurant - very good, good value considering size of suite and food quality. Breakfast of good quality and served by a very efficient waitress - Toni
Disappointing aspects:- Bad booking experience. I had booked a luxury suite through Best Western. On making a courtesy call, on day of arrival, to book dinner I was told I had booked 2 double rooms, no suite available. After 40 angst filled minutes this was sorted by Sean at Best Western and we did have complimentary bottle of wine at dinner.
No robes in room on arrival - were delivered when I asked but goodness they were very very small, - mine could just be fastened ( I am size 16), My chaps ( 6ft 3 ins) couldn't wear his at all
Water turned off first morning - no warning given which could have been disastrous if anyone had been in the shower ( they could have been badly scalded). On mentioning this at reception their reply was we did not know it was going to happen - but the workmen were right outside the door!
At dinner separate menu for residents with numerous supplements that didn't really make sense so I asked and did get the tempura fish as starters as part of package.
Service in restaurant very slow even though only us in there the first night. On the second evening - starters and main course arrived ok but we were left after that with no sight of waitress or waiter for at least 30 minutes, then after ordering another 25 minutes passed so we gave up. I had ordered a dessert that had a supplement - this was added to bill even though I didn't have it so do ask to see what the supplements on your bill are for.
Overall this hotel has much potential especially if Best Western and the team there liaise better.
I do not understand why they chose very modern " boutique" style refurbishment in such an old building when country house decor would have suited better but I did like how light and airy our suite was.
Kirsty and Toni were helpful and efficient but I did not think other staff took my concerns seriously.
Would we stay here again??? pondered this on way home and we would probably try here again in the hope all the negatives were a "one off". I would book directly with the hotel in future though

Room Tip: Suite very spacious. We were on the second floor room 23 and no one had to pass our room to access t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank odonjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternv, Manager at Best Western Vine Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you for your comments, Positive and Negative comments are welcomed because without them we cannot strive to deliver the ultimate experience. Your comments have been investigated and I can only apologise for what was one bad experience after another. Issues you raised have been addressed and hopefully rectified. However if you wish to contact me to discuss these issues further I would be happy to do so. In the meantime if you do decide to visit us again, please call me direct to arrange the booking.
I look forward to welcoming you back to The Vine in the very near future

Regards
Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Very nice hotel ,but stairs to top floor were very hard and step to use , we had a hard job getting our case up them , room was very good first class apart fro the shower which was the worst i have had . This is not up to the standard off best weston!! we were only there for 2 nights so made use off the bath , restaurant was very good and nice prices first class service would stay again but not on the second floor

Room Tip: nice and quite place to stay away from the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pipkinbythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternv, Manager at Best Western Vine Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for your comments, I do apologise for the shower. I can assure you that all the showers in the Hotel are due to be refurbished within the next few months. Hopefully upon your return to the Vine, these will all be completed and you can enjoy stay. With regard to the second floor, please mention you require a room on the first floor and this will be actioned on booking. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Vine in the very near future

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Stayed 2 nights and pleased the hotel is situated in a residential area away from the centre of town, although in walking distance. Overall the 2 bars and restaurant are very nice as was our room on the first floor. We had a fan in the room which was welcome as it was warm at night . We had our evening meals in the bar which were very good.The beer was very good too.
Breakfast in the restaurant was excellent with a good choice. Overall we would stay here again if in the vicinity. One word of warning - don't park under the trees if you don't want bird droppings all over your car!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pandora0225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternv, Manager at Best Western Vine Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments, It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Skegness and The Vine in the very near future. Just to let you know that the birds have been reprimanded!!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skegness hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 26 in Skegness
253 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Links Hotel
The Links Hotel
#8 of 26 in Skegness
279 reviews
1.7 mi away
North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Southview Park Hotel - Park Resorts
1.0 mi away
The Eastleigh
The Eastleigh
#2 of 26 in Skegness
462 reviews
1.1 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#4 of 26 in Skegness
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Vine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Vine Hotel

Property: Best Western Vine Hotel
Address: Vine Road, Skegness PE25 3DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Skegness
#10 Romantic Hotel in Skegness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Vine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built & established as a Hotel in the 1770's, BEST WESTERN The Vine Hotel boasts beautiful surroundings in a quiet location. Ideal for a Seaside Holiday, but away from the lively seafront. Under New Ownership in 2012, The Vine Hotel has undergone major refurbishment. All 25 en-suite bedrooms have been upgraded and are individually designed with different grades of room available. All Rooms offer free Wi-Fi, Freeview TV, Tea & Coffee Making, Hairdryer. Wi-Fi is available in all areas of the Hotel. The newly refurbished Gingerlily Restaurant offers a varied Menu using fresh local produce, this is complimented by an extensive Wine List. The Tennyson Bar & Oak Bar offer Bar Meals served daily along with Traditional Local Ales being served. Only a 20 minute walk from the lively Grand Parade and Skegness Pier or less than 3 miles to Gibraltar Point Nature Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Vine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Skegness
Skegness Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing