We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab birthday meal!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Vine Hotel
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Skegness
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fab birthday meal!”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We recently had my 21st and my Dad's 50th joint birthday meal in the restaurant of the hotel and it was a lovely evening, with everyone commenting how much they enjoyed the food.

The menu is new and has a good variety of foods including you standard pub/restaurant meals, steaks, fish meals, vegetarian meals, burgers and more. I personally had 'Fisherman's basket' which included a salmon fishcake, scampi and fish pieces with chips and peas and it was lovely. One of the best places I've had a meal and a lot of the other people at the meal commented it was lovely too.

The meal was also very fairly priced. Our meal bill, including 3 bottles of wine, came to £262 for 10 starters, 14 main meals, 1 children's main meal and 4 desserts. This we thought was very good value for money. Drinks were also fairly priced in the bar.

Also, the staff were lovely and very accommodating of us. They set the table up very well and allowed us to bring our own balloons, posters and table decorations. We also took our own cake to the meal which they brought out when we asked. They were very helpful, considerate and had a good sense of humour.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternv, Manager at Best Western Vine Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments, these have been passed onto the team. So pleased you had an enjoyable birthday celebration. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Vine in the very near future

Kind Regards

Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    176
    59
    11
    21
See reviews for
139
189
13
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Being local since 1981 the thing I have missed most since emigrating from Birmingham is fine Indian food but I'm pleased to say we have found it ...at the Vine!
There is a great Indian take away on Roman Bank -'Goa cuisine' but as Restaurants go the Vine gets our vote!... The bars are varied in style with a real ale selection as well as quality lager which is a bonus.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alanavfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternv, Manager at Best Western Vine Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for your comments, these have been passed onto the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Vine in the very near future


Kind Regards
Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Great first impressions. Good looking hotel, speedy check in, buzzing bar and the restaurant was surprisingly busy and on a Wednesday!

Room was modern, very clean and with good standard of tea, coffee etc. with wonderful new crisp white bedding with the bathroom looking new and again very clean and stocked with quality toiletries.

Beers and my Bar meal was excellent quality with good service albeit a bit pricey.

Very comfortable bed and a good nights sleep. Breakfast was about as good as it can be.

Not all perfect though- the stairs carpet up to my room was filthy, paint work was badly chipped and damaged with wallpaper peeling off and mould on the ceiling. All very strange when compared to other parts of this good quality hotel but not off putting enough to prevent me from staying when I'm next in the area.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ggtandj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternv, Manager at Best Western Vine Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your comments, it is always a pleasure to receive them. With regard to your comments about the carpets and hallways, these are next on the list for refurbishment therefore please accept my apologies. Hopefully on your next visit these will be all completed. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Vine in the very near future




Kind Regards
Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Having family who live very close to the Vine I have visited many times for food and drinks and been to many christenings and birthday parties at this venue. The staff are so friendly and attentive and make you feel very welcome. The food is excellent quality for such a small little gem in Skegness. At the restaurant 'Gingerlily' the steak is one of the best my boyfriend has ever tasted (and he's tasted a lot!) and the seabass is beautifully cooked. Some of the favourites from the evening menu in the bar area have to be the Triple Piggy Sandwich and the Baby back barbecue ribs - these are amazing!

The sunday lunch is also great even creating horseradish mash to go with the beef perfectly and this I would recommend to anyone!

I have one criticism however..... Why is the flaming smorgesboard no longer on the menu?! I travelled all the way from Lincoln for this incredible dessert (on my birthday as well!) only to be told that it has been taken off the menu. Bad move The Vine, this was a favourite of a few I have spoken to!

Other than that I suggest that everyone should visit and try their amazing food and hospitality you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freya J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternv, Manager at Best Western Vine Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments about our food and service, I will be checking with Chef when your favourite dessert is next on our menu. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next birthday celebration


Kind Regards
Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

This was our first stay and we were so impressed with everything!! The food, room and service was all excellent!!! The Sunday roast is a must as well as the fish platter!! It had everything we could possibly need. We look forward to returning soon!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Selena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternv, Manager at Best Western Vine Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments, they have been passed onto the team. we look forward to welcoming you back to the Vine in the very near future


kind regards
Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LTNJET
Level Contributor
55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Booked into the Vine Hotel Skegness on DBB for Easter Saturday night. Very warm welcome, well appointed double room [22], if a little on the small size but everything worked and was very clean. Excellent Wi Fi reception.
Dinner did not get off to a very good start as the Restaurant had a large family group with lots of children running about everywhere. However they had left before we tucked into a very good three course dinner served by very friendly staff. Breakfast was just as good with more than the average portion of the 'Full English' ! The beach is only 5 mins from hotel.
A very pleasant stay with welcoming staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LTNJET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternv, Manager at Best Western Vine Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your comments, it is always a pleasure to receive them. They have been passed onto the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Vine in the very near future



Kind Regards
Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Great weekend , lovely rooms , lovely food , the staff cant do enough for you ! great oak bar with lots of character : some great beers on , a nice and quite part of Skeggness , will be staying again .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob2164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternv, Manager at Best Western Vine Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your comments, which have been passed onto the team. It is always a pleasure to receive them. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Vine in the very near future


Kind Regards
Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skegness hotels
0.1 mi away
The Links Hotel
The Links Hotel
#7 of 26 in Skegness
273 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 26 in Skegness
250 reviews
1.7 mi away
North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Southview Park Hotel - Park Resorts
1.0 mi away
The Eastleigh
The Eastleigh
#3 of 26 in Skegness
459 reviews
1.1 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#4 of 26 in Skegness
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Vine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Vine Hotel

Property: Best Western Vine Hotel
Address: Vine Road, Skegness PE25 3DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Skegness
#10 Romantic Hotel in Skegness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Vine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built & established as a Hotel in the 1770's, BEST WESTERN The Vine Hotel boasts beautiful surroundings in a quiet location. Ideal for a Seaside Holiday, but away from the lively seafront. Under New Ownership in 2012, The Vine Hotel has undergone major refurbishment. All 25 en-suite bedrooms have been upgraded and are individually designed with different grades of room available. All Rooms offer free Wi-Fi, Freeview TV, Tea & Coffee Making, Hairdryer. Wi-Fi is available in all areas of the Hotel. The newly refurbished Gingerlily Restaurant offers a varied Menu using fresh local produce, this is complimented by an extensive Wine List. The Tennyson Bar & Oak Bar offer Bar Meals served daily along with Traditional Local Ales being served. Only a 20 minute walk from the lively Grand Parade and Skegness Pier or less than 3 miles to Gibraltar Point Nature Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Vine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Skegness
Skegness Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing