We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Michelin star for breakfast!!.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Monsell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Monsell Hotel
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Michelin star for breakfast!!.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

Extremely warm welcome to this lovely hotel, room was nice, coffee, tea making facilities, with nice little touches like chocolate on the pillows, bottles of water, and if you book through there website free bottle of wine, good nights kip due to the comfortable mattress, breakfast in the morning was a1, plenty of choice cereals, juice etc, and thanks to masterchef tony!! For making a lovely full english, defo recommend this hotel and wish alison and tony good success in the future, from darren and lynda room 19.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lifeguard72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMonsell, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Hi darren and lynda Thank you for your lovely review. It is great that you had a really good stay and hope you stay again soon. Alison x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    35
    22
    10
    32
See reviews for
16
114
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Stayed at the hotel for a two night break. From start to finish we had a lovely experience. Arrived two hours early to be greeted by Tony who is really helpful. We were allowed to check in 2 hours early and following a quick tutorial on the key system we where escorted to our room and took advantage of half price room upgrade to the spacious master suite. The hotel is sited in a brilliant location in centre of town but isn't effected by lots of traffic and is quiet at night. The reviews you read are a good reflection of the experience you will have. Hands down the best hotel bed / room we've stayed in. We would recommend the hotel without a doubt and will certainly stay again.

Thanks for the lovely time!!!!!!

Kraig and Rachel

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappiBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMonsell, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Hi Kraig and Rachel we do really appreciate your lovely review and look forward to you visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

Tony & Alison are very welcoming, telling us where to go and the best taxis to use!
The hotel is at a great centeral location, we stayed in the superior room which was value for money it was stunning!!!!! WE WOULD RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO EVERYONE!
Its an adults only so no children are running about, but also its a 24hr hotel so not restricted at night when to come back!!!

Mr Brown

Room Tip: We stayed in room 11, it was a front road room, but no traffic noise was heard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Browny271190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyandAly E, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Hi thank you for your lovely review and recommending us to everyone.

We enjoyed meeting you both and are very pleased you loved your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Aly and Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

We booked through the website . The room was big modern and very tidy , we were also greeted with a free bottle of wine ! It was also located in the heart of skegness !Could not ask for more for the price we had a great stay thank you

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacknlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyandAly E, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Hi Thank you for your wonderful review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Monsell. We hope you enjoyed your bottle of wine and will use your voucher to come back and see us again soon. Aly and Tony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

Very clean and welcoming hotel, owners very friendly, room was nice and cosy, very enjoyable and would definately not hesitate in reccomending to anyone.

Off-road parking also available, very modern and extremelly welcoming.

Room Tip: Nice cozy room for one is Room 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark_pb_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyandAly E, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thank you for your lovely review Mark, it was a pleasure having you stay at the Monsell and we would welcome you back anytime in the future. Hoping to see you soon. Aly and Tony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

I never booked in advice I landed up at 8.30pm they were very welcome-ing room is very nice bath room looks good chocolates on the pillow very nice touch Nice big rooms I was room 14 tony and Alison were very welcome

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigcomfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyandAly E, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Monsell and hope you will visit us again in the future. If you phone us before booking you can pick which ever room is available that you like. Best wishes Tony and Aly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mundford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

Under new management Tony&Alison were very friendly hosts. Their hotel was very clean secure and comfortable.
Hotel only re opened 2 week's a go making a very good job of it so far.
Would return without question All the very best for the future. Mick&Lorna.

Room Tip: East facing rooms are sunnier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickeybalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyandAly E, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Hi we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Monsell and we hope you will come and visit us again soon. We have been doing more decorating over winter and we are looking forward to our first full new season. We are now offering a full English Breakfast as well as the continental choice. We are also having some new windows over the next couple of weeks which will make the Hotel even more cosy and secure. Alison and Tony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skegness hotels
0.6 mi away
Merrydale
Merrydale
#22 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Eastleigh
The Eastleigh
#3 of 26 in Skegness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Southwold Hotel
Southwold Hotel
#23 of 97 in Skegness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coasters Hotel & Apartments
0.5 mi away
Lyndene Holiday Apartments
Lyndene Holiday Apartments
#28 of 35 in Skegness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Monsell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Monsell Hotel

Property: The Monsell Hotel
Address: 2 Firbeck Avenue, Skegness PE25 3JY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Skegness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Monsell Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We extend a warm welcome to all our guests staying at the Monsell Hotel. We are an hotel offering a friendly service in a quiet residential area of Skegness. We are situated within a 5 minute walk from the beach, promenade, shops and many local attractions. Skegness coach and train stations are only a ten minute walk away. All our bedrooms are fully en-suite with free Wi-fi and flat screen TV. Our bedrooms are newly decorated and furnished and have been designed with your comfort in mind. Free tea and coffee facilities are available in all rooms. We have a large separate dining room and offer an option of a full English breakfast. The Monsell has a key fob door entry system and a large car park. We also have a large comfortable lounge with TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Monsell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing