We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a weekend break”
Review of The Monsell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Monsell Hotel
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Stayed here for 1 night, the room was ok beds were comfortable, tea and coffee facilities in the room. No problems at all, our welcome was friendly the only disappointment was £6.50 for breakfast?? I thought that was quite expensive, I am not sure what the quality of the breakfast was like because I declined and had some on the sea front

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room but at night it was quiet enough
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevefloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMonsell, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Thank you for your review we are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Monsell. Breakfast was optional at the time you booked. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
There are newer reviews for The Monsell Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

Excellent room, nice little extras in room, such as tea / coffee making facilities, bottles of water, packet of tissues, chocolates on pillow , hairdryer in room , excellent night sleep . Close to centre of town. We would definitely stay here again . David and Carol

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMonsell, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Hi David and Carol, Thank you very much for your kind review. We are very pleased you loved your stay and would welcome you back at any time. x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

Extremely warm welcome to this lovely hotel, room was nice, coffee, tea making facilities, with nice little touches like chocolate on the pillows, bottles of water, and if you book through there website free bottle of wine, good nights kip due to the comfortable mattress, breakfast in the morning was a1, plenty of choice cereals, juice etc, and thanks to masterchef tony!! For making a lovely full english, defo recommend this hotel and wish alison and tony good success in the future, from darren and lynda room 19.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lifeguard72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMonsell, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Hi darren and lynda Thank you for your lovely review. It is great that you had a really good stay and hope you stay again soon. Alison x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Stayed at the hotel for a two night break. From start to finish we had a lovely experience. Arrived two hours early to be greeted by Tony who is really helpful. We were allowed to check in 2 hours early and following a quick tutorial on the key system we where escorted to our room and took advantage of half price room upgrade to the spacious master suite. The hotel is sited in a brilliant location in centre of town but isn't effected by lots of traffic and is quiet at night. The reviews you read are a good reflection of the experience you will have. Hands down the best hotel bed / room we've stayed in. We would recommend the hotel without a doubt and will certainly stay again.

Thanks for the lovely time!!!!!!

Kraig and Rachel

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappiBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMonsell, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Hi Kraig and Rachel we do really appreciate your lovely review and look forward to you visiting us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Tony & Alison are very welcoming, telling us where to go and the best taxis to use!
The hotel is at a great centeral location, we stayed in the superior room which was value for money it was stunning!!!!! WE WOULD RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO EVERYONE!
Its an adults only so no children are running about, but also its a 24hr hotel so not restricted at night when to come back!!!

Mr Brown

Room Tip: We stayed in room 11, it was a front road room, but no traffic noise was heard!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Browny271190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyandAly E, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Hi thank you for your lovely review and recommending us to everyone.

We enjoyed meeting you both and are very pleased you loved your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Aly and Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We booked through the website . The room was big modern and very tidy , we were also greeted with a free bottle of wine ! It was also located in the heart of skegness !Could not ask for more for the price we had a great stay thank you

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacknlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyandAly E, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Hi Thank you for your wonderful review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Monsell. We hope you enjoyed your bottle of wine and will use your voucher to come back and see us again soon. Aly and Tony.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Very clean and welcoming hotel, owners very friendly, room was nice and cosy, very enjoyable and would definately not hesitate in reccomending to anyone.

Off-road parking also available, very modern and extremelly welcoming.

Room Tip: Nice cozy room for one is Room 12
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark_pb_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyandAly E, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Thank you for your lovely review Mark, it was a pleasure having you stay at the Monsell and we would welcome you back anytime in the future. Hoping to see you soon. Aly and Tony.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skegness hotels
0.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#11 of 25 in Skegness
265 reviews
1.8 mi away
Southview Park Hotel - Park Resorts
0.4 mi away
The Eastleigh
The Eastleigh
#3 of 25 in Skegness
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Merrydale
Merrydale
#21 of 25 in Skegness
129 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#24 of 25 in Skegness
135 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Links Hotel
The Links Hotel
#5 of 25 in Skegness
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Monsell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Monsell Hotel

Address: 2 Firbeck Avenue, Skegness PE25 3JY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Skegness
Price Range: £34 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Monsell Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We extend a warm welcome to all our guests staying at the Monsell Hotel. We are an hotel offering a friendly service in a quiet residential area of Skegness. We are situated within a 5 minute walk from the beach, promenade, shops and many local attractions. Skegness coach and train stations are only a ten minute walk away. All our bedrooms are fully en-suite with free Wi-fi and flat screen TV. Our bedrooms are newly decorated and furnished and have been designed with your comfort in mind. Free tea and coffee facilities are available in all rooms. We have a large separate dining room and offer an option of a full English breakfast. The Monsell has a key fob door entry system and a large car park. We also have a large comfortable lounge with TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your The Monsell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing