We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Monsell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Monsell Hotel
1 review
“AMAZING”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I would highly recommend this hotel its absolutely beautiful, spacious and very welcoming,all staff are very friendly the hotel is in a tidy condition one of the best places i have stayed EVER!! we booked into the hotel as a rest point from a long drive and left feeling more relaxed than ever,
we are staying between all hotels as moving house and this is by far the best one we have stayed at.. very good value for money if anyone says they don't like this hotel they are completely wrong as it a well situated hotel and truly enjoyable to stay,
Thanks Monsell Staff Your Very good at your jobs....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison229, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review, we are so happy you had such a lovely stay with us and we appreciate your comments. You would be very welcome to return whenever you wish. and we look forward to seeing you again.x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    35
    22
    10
    32
See reviews for
16
113
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I have stayed in Skegness for a lot of time over the last 4 - 5 months both through and work and socially. The Monsell Hotel stands out as being one of the best stays I have had in the area.
On arrival at the Hotel I have been greeted by friendly staff that are more then happy to do everything to make your stay enjoyable and relaxing.

The rooms are spacious, well styled and clean throughout. The bed and the night sleep we had at the Monsell was superb and exactly what we needed.

I would recommend the Monsell to anyone in or around the area, you will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison229, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Hi Matthew Thank you for your brilliant review and we are very pleased you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. We do appreciate people writing us a review and we look forward to seeing you again soon. x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We arrived at the hotel on Friday and stayed till Sunday. We were greeted by Devon who was really friendly and made us both feel comfortable and showed us to our room and explained everything. It is literally a five minute walk from the town and the beach so was easy to get to all the places we wanted to go. We had breakfast which was gorgeous, and the room was spacious, clean and very well set up. Overall, we really enjoyed our weekend. Couldn't fault the place at all we will be coming again soon defiantly. I would recommend it to everyone

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren070493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison229, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Hi Thank you for your excellent review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we are happy when nice people stay with us. Please come and see us again soon x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

stayed at the hotel on spur of moment more than pleased we did
we were greeted on arrival and shown to our room
very clean large flat screen tv very spacious
breakfast was more than sufficient we will be staying there again soon

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank premierebill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison229, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Hi Thank you for taking the time to give us a very good review, we always appreciate people taking the time to do so. We are very happy you had a quiet and comfortable weekend and look forward to seeing you again.x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We have just got back from a 1 night stayat this hotel on the positive the manager Devon was very help[ful he showed us to our room which was on the ground floor, very small room with 2 single beds in no room to swing a cat, then we noticed we had no milk to go with our tea in the morning which he rectified and fetched us some with extra t bags, then i had to ask him how to turn the heating on because it was very cold even though it was a small room which he turned the radiator on but to be honest it did'nt make any difference i was frozen all night, we was asked if we wanted breakfast at £5 each to which i said yes well i wish i had'nt, we sat down to breakfast a little earlier than we said 8.30 instead of 9, we helped ourself to cereal and i had only taken a couple of mouthfuls when he fetched our hot breakfast but not very nice bacon was so hard my husband could'nt eat it and toast was hard and crunchy, i think it was all pre cooked and just warmed up, so we wont be going here anymore not worth £60 we paid and £10 for breakfast

Room Tip: stay away and dont bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison229, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you for your review, we are sorry you were cold, if you had enquired at Reception an additional heater would of been supplied for your room. We are also sorry on the overlook of milk. We consider our breakfasts very good value at 5 pound each and it is clearly stated on the website you are paying for room only upon booking. All our breakfasts are cooked fresh to order and we appreciate our guests turning up for breakfast at the booked time for obvious reasons. The room is a standard twin double which is approximately 12 feet by 13 feet plus en-suite. Our Superior rooms are 40 per cent larger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Last minute booking on overnight in Skegness.Within walking distance to town centre and Promenade.Quiet clean rooms wifi and flat screen tv, tea and coffee facilities clean bedding and towels all that was needed for a comfortable nights stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison229, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Hi Thank you very much for taking the time to give us a good review. We are pleased you had a comfortable night and hope you will return to see us again. x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel was very poor. Very dirty room. Bed that looked like it had been slept in. Questionable positioning of electrics. Cobwebs everywhere. Bathroom very dirty. Shower was unclean and poor .. you felt like you needed another after being in there. Apparently it has recently been taken over. .. they have an awful lot of work to do to get this to a 4star.. at the moment it does not warrant any stars. It may be cheap but so are travelodges and at least they are clean.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank travelaloteast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison229, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your review, we are concerned you did not enjoy your stay with us. We can still confirm that we can't let you have a free holiday at the time of your stay as requested.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Skegness hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skegness hotels
0.6 mi away
Merrydale
Merrydale
#22 of 26 in Skegness
120 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#13 of 26 in Skegness
237 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Eastleigh
The Eastleigh
#3 of 26 in Skegness
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Southwold Hotel
Southwold Hotel
#22 of 97 in Skegness
98 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coasters Hotel & Apartments
0.5 mi away
Lyndene Holiday Apartments
Lyndene Holiday Apartments
#29 of 35 in Skegness
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Monsell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Monsell Hotel

Property: The Monsell Hotel
Address: 2 Firbeck Avenue, Skegness PE25 3JY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Skegness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Monsell Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We extend a warm welcome to all our guests staying at the Monsell Hotel. We are an hotel offering a friendly service in a quiet residential area of Skegness. We are situated within a 5 minute walk from the beach, promenade, shops and many local attractions. Skegness coach and train stations are only a ten minute walk away. All our bedrooms are fully en-suite with free Wi-fi and flat screen TV. Our bedrooms are newly decorated and furnished and have been designed with your comfort in mind. Free tea and coffee facilities are available in all rooms. We have a large separate dining room and offer an option of a full English breakfast. The Monsell has a key fob door entry system and a large car park. We also have a large comfortable lounge with TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Monsell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing