We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and great service”
Review of The Monsell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Monsell Hotel
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great value and great service”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Me and 3 friends stayed at the Monsell last night and we had no regrets about our booking. Devon, the manager, showed us how to go about the place with keys etc.... And provided a service that was second to none. The rooms were clean, comfortable and included various creature comforts. Collectively, we would happily recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Don't expect the Hilton if you're not paying Hilton prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison229, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hi Thank you for your excellent review, we really love having nice people to stay at the Hotel. We hope you will find time to come back and stay with us again soon. Thanks again for staying at the Monsell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    40
    22
    10
    35
See reviews for
21
133
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Just stayed the one night at Monsell but was welcomed with a smile from the reception staff who showed us how to use key fob and what to do if no one was on reception. The room was very spacious with a nice sofa bed on top (which was a nice surprise), we booked a Superior Room. Tea, coffee, sugar, milk, biscuits and mints supplied. The bed was very comfortable and I had a great nights sleep. The location was a 5 min walk to the town centre but far enough away to to be quiet enough at night. I would recommend the b&b to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jakal3222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison229, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Hello, Thank you for kind review we are glad you found the Monsell to be clean and comfortable. We always like nice guests staying and hope you will come back and see us again some timex.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

i stayed here with my friend friday night, we booked the room friday afternoon over the phone, the lady we spoke to was extremely friendly and patient with us (we were driving whilst booking the room and signal was not great on my mobile). when we arrived we had a great welcome to the place, we got showed how to use the key fob and got showed into our room. the manager was extremely friendly and had a great sense of humour which made me and my mate feel very relaxed and welcomed. The room was a nice size with a tv, kettle, hairdryer and a table and was nice and clean. Although the hotel is situated very close to the beach and shops, it was lovely and quiet. wish i had stayed for longer! and i will definitely be back soon!! :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison229, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Hi Rebecca Thank you taking the time to write your lovely review, we are happy you enjoyed your stay at the Monsell and that you consider it an excellent place to stay. We hope you will come back and stay with us again soonx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My mum and I recently stayed here over the may bank holiday, we were greeted by the manager, to be told that our room wasn't ready yet, so had to wait for about 15 mins, Devon (the manager) couldn't recommend anywhere for a meal, apart from yate's (she's in her 60's) so not somewhere id take her !! During the rest of our stay we didn't see any staff or management at all !! Room was disappointing, as to was hearing people in the kitchen in the late or early hours of the day, as were the location of the power sockets, over all we were disappointed, with the experience !!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bunnybear123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison229, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, in response to your comments we would like to point out that check in is at 4pm and is well advertised on all websites. Unfortunately we do not have time to find all our guest's suitable restaurants especially as we offer evening meals in our Hotel and we would recommend you do your research before you leave home if you have special requirements. We are sorry you did not enjoy Skegness as a holiday resort. Regards to the noise experience please remember you did book on a bank holiday and the Monsell is a very popular hotel and unfortunately there is noise from the kitchen when our staff are preparing meals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Skegness hotels

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my partner this weekend. It's located about two minutes from the Clock Tower and although it's that close it was really quiet and peaceful at night.
We were welcomed by Devon, what a great bloke, really friendly and funny man that made us feel welcome instantly. The rooms were clean and quite large, really bright andThe bed was really comfy. All in all I give this place 10/10. Couldn't have asked for better service.
We will definitely be back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank wendie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison229, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hi Thank you for your brilliant review, we are really pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and we hope you will be able to come back and stay with us again in the near future x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The people at The Monsell hotel really know howto look after their guests. There are cheaper places to stay in Skeggy,there are more expensive ones too, but they`d have to be exceptional to out do the welcome you get here at The Monsell. It`s not the classiest of places I`ve stopped in but the bed was comfortable, the food was good, nothing was too much trouble for the proprietors, all in all, our stay here was thouroughly enjoyable.

Room Tip: We only used one room, didn`t see any others but if they`re all treated the same, it won`t matter wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kriptonfactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison229, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Hi thank you for your very good review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your kind comments. We hope you will be able to come back and visit us again soonx.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Just returned from the Monsell. Welcomed by Devon and he showed us how to use key fob and what we needed to do if no one was on reception. We were shown to our room by Devon which was very spacious, we booked a Superior Room which was on the top floor. Tea, coffee, milk & biscuits supplied. Loved the mint imperials. The bed was very comfortable, the best bed I have slept in whilst staying in a B & B. Asked if we wanted breakfast but as we dont eat early in the morning decided against that. We came and went as we pleased. On the second day when we saw Devon he asked if we had everything that we wanted in our room. No noise issues all very quiet. Hope to visit again later in the year. Keep up the good work and see you both soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oakley2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison229, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Hi thank you for your lovely review, we are very happy you had such a pleasant stay with us. We are looking forward to your return visit later in the year x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skegness hotels
0.5 mi away
The Eastleigh
The Eastleigh
#2 of 26 in Skegness
462 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 26 in Skegness
253 reviews
0.6 mi away
Merrydale
Merrydale
#22 of 26 in Skegness
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#25 of 26 in Skegness
133 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Vine Hotel
Best Western Vine Hotel
#7 of 26 in Skegness
506 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Links Hotel
The Links Hotel
#8 of 26 in Skegness
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Monsell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Monsell Hotel

Property: The Monsell Hotel
Address: 2 Firbeck Avenue, Skegness PE25 3JY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Skegness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Monsell Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We extend a warm welcome to all our guests staying at the Monsell Hotel. We are an hotel offering a friendly service in a quiet residential area of Skegness. We are situated within a 5 minute walk from the beach, promenade, shops and many local attractions. Skegness coach and train stations are only a ten minute walk away. All our bedrooms are fully en-suite with free Wi-fi and flat screen TV. Our bedrooms are newly decorated and furnished and have been designed with your comfort in mind. Free tea and coffee facilities are available in all rooms. We have a large separate dining room and offer an option of a full English breakfast. The Monsell has a key fob door entry system and a large car park. We also have a large comfortable lounge with TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The Monsell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing