We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (323)
Filter reviews
323 results
Traveller rating
189
53
27
14
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
189
53
27
14
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely couple couple of nights stayed here for nights cooked breakfast comfy bed great weekend town centre next year hosts keith seafront
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
194 - 199 of 323 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Monsell for two nights & on our arrival we were welcomed by a lovely friendly couple that had only been running this place for 2 days! Dee & Aubrey were very warm & welcoming & nothing was too much trouble. Yes this hotel is in need of a little TLC but to see what this couple have done in just 2 days was quite impressive, from the new bar & lounge they were building to the scrubbing, cleaning & decorating. When we originally booked through the previous owners no breakfast was offered so we made alternative arrangements but when we arrived Dee & Aubrey offered us breakfast & the smell the next morning was mouthwatering with other guests sounding highly impressed, needless to say we'll certainly try it next time!
Our room was clean & spacious with a good size tv & a very comfortable bed, the room was lovely & warm as it was freezing outdoors! We also had an ensuite with a lovely hot shower & tea making facilities in the room too. This hotel is in a fantastic location close to all the delights Skegness has to offer! We can't wait to stay here again & look forward to seeing more changes made by Dee & Aubrey to further improve this great hotel!

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank les120973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMonsell, Guest Relations Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2016

Dear Guest, thank you for your superior review, it is so nice to have real genuine nice guests like yourself give reviews. We really enjoyed your company at the Monsell hotel and we welcome you back any time you wish as it was a pleasure having you stay at the Monsell Hotel and we hope to see you again soon, once again thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed here 3 times,always had a clean room,friendly and helpful staff,basic but ideal if you only want it as a base..Near all the shops/pubs etc ..8 minute walk to the seafront.
Have been told new management are taking over , so I hope they keep it running like it is now..

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank janecQ8472MF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMonsell, Guest Relations Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2016

Dear Guest Thank you for your good review, we are pleased you enjoy staying at our Hotel and can confirm new Managers are at The Monsell Hotel. They will be pleased to meet you on your next visit and make you very welcome and thanks again, see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2016

As I was working, the most important thing for me was WiFi, and I booked this Hotel because they advertised WiFi in the rooms. The WiFi was excellent, the room was very clean and large and the bed clean and comfortable.I was given a friendly welcome and I was able to park easily. They don't do Breakfast, but I was able to find a cafe in the high street that did a great breakfast for £2.50 and I was able to park right outside. The owner recommended an Indian restaurant 5 minutes walk up the road which was very good. A great place to stay if working, and cheap as chips!

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CasandandyWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMonsell, Front Office Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Dear Guest, thank you for your superior review, it is so nice to have real genuine nice guests like yourself give reviews. We really enjoyed your company at the Monsell hotel and we welcome you back any time you wish as it was a pleasure having you stay at the Monsell Hotel and we hope to see you again soon, once again thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

We had a good stay here, the room was basic yet modern and clean. There was no problem finding somewhere to park and the hotel came at a good price. The only issue we had was noise with someone outside the front of the hotel at 1am yelling in the street to be let in which went on for quite a while and loudly.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank r0thlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2016

Dear Guest, thank you for your great review, it is so nice to have real genuine nice guests like yourself give reviews. We really enjoyed your company at the Monsell hotel and we welcome you back any time you wish as it was a pleasure having you stay at the Monsell Hotel and we hope to see you again soon, once again thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

Impromptu visit to Skegness with my partner lead us here. We were greeted by a very polite, tall gentleman who was informative when showing us to our room (14). The room was basic, plain furnishings and a en suite which was again basic. Everything was perfectly clean from shower tray to plugin kettle. Bed waa decent size and comfy along with soft pillows which are hard to find. Would stay again :)

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Shawn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Dear Guest, thank you for your good review, it is so nice to have real genuine nice guests like yourself give reviews. We really enjoyed your company at the Monsell hotel and we welcome you back any time you wish as it was a pleasure having you stay at the Monsell Hotel and we hope to see you again soon, once again thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews