We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (323)
Filter reviews
323 results
Traveller rating
189
53
27
14
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
189
53
27
14
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely couple couple of nights stayed here for nights cooked breakfast comfy bed great weekend town centre next year hosts keith seafront
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
187 - 192 of 323 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2016

This hotel was near to Horncastle where we had a grave to visit but also served as a base for the Xmas market in Lincoln.

We had an awful trip up from Gloucester, but were pleasantly surprised when the managers called to see if we were ok, lovely touch, we got there two hours after reception closed to find them waiting for us, that is real service, Room on top floor was clean spacious and warm.

Breakfast in the morning was wonderful AND it had black pudding, so nothing could be wrong :)

Both nights were very comfortable, and we spent some time Sunday talking to the managers, who have only been in place four weeks. They are really keen to rectify the faults that exist in a old building, we reported a shower leak and they were onto it straight away, the moral is if you don't report it to reception how can they fix it.
There manner made you feel one of the family and when we left we told them we are coming back next year and it will be sooner than later.

Next year if all goes well they will have a bar added so no long trek looking for a pub

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 537bobg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2016

Thank you for your review which is very much appreciated,we look forward to seeing you again very soon. Aubrey and Dee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

Myself and my partner at the time stayed here for 1 night as a last minute trip.

Overall the hotel could use quite a bit of upgrading/modernising. There were a few issues, however the service provided by the hotel managers was faultless. We felt welcomed from the second we walked in. They were incredibly helpful and just for this reason alone I would 100% return to this establishment.

Thank you so much

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank qwertyyuoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMonsell, Guest Relations Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2016

Dear Guest, thank you for your superior review, it is so nice to have real genuine nice guests like yourself give reviews. We really enjoyed your company at the Monsell hotel and we welcome you back any time you wish as it was a pleasure having you stay at the Monsell Hotel and we hope to see you again soon, once again thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for the night with my friend after a show in Skegness and will definitely be returning! As soon as we arrived the owners greeted us and were very friendly and welcoming. Our room was lovely and had everything we needed. Didn't manage to have breakfast the following morning due to having to get back early but I've heard it's an amazing! thank you very much for an enjoyable stay :)

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank jcarter86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMonsell, Guest Relations Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2016

Dear Guest, thank you for your superior review, it is so nice to have real genuine nice guests like yourself give reviews. We really enjoyed your company at the Monsell hotel and we welcome you back any time you wish as it was a pleasure having you stay at the Monsell Hotel and we hope to see you again soon, once again thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2016 via mobile

Me and my partner came for a night away and we found this bed and breakfast online and talk about value for money! As soon as we walked in the door we was welcomed in with open arms. We arrived at 6pm and it was freezing outside and we walked in and it was warm and cosy. We got to know the managers Aubrey and Dee and they showed us to our room and we got settled in. The room was lovely and clean, tea and coffee with a kettle in the room so we could make ourselves a drink as and when we wanted which was great. They recommended an Italian restaurant to us which was great and then we went back and had a chat with Dee and Aubrey before going upto bed. Absolutely fabulous breakfast and overall a wonderful stay. If you want value for money this is the place to come. We will definitely be returning to stay again very soon.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jade H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMonsell, Guest Relations Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2016

Dear Guest, thank you for your superior review, it is so nice to have real genuine nice guests like yourself give reviews. We really enjoyed your company at the Monsell hotel and we welcome you back any time you wish as it was a pleasure having you stay at the Monsell Hotel and we hope to see you again soon, once again thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

What an amazing little treat, hosts are wonderful and cook up a grand breakfast.
With the addition of a full size pool table and soon to have a licenced bar.

Dee and Aubrey have put there fantastic stamp on this beautiful hotel looking forward to our return.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank ScottPhilipson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMonsell, Guest Relations Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2016

Dear Guest, thank you for your superior review, it is so nice to have real genuine nice guests like yourself give reviews. We really enjoyed your company at the Monsell hotel and we welcome you back any time you wish as it was a pleasure having you stay at the Monsell Hotel and we hope to see you again soon, once again thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews