We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Shelby
Worksop, United Kingdom

Last minute birthday stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Jun 2024
Lovely greeting by the team. Room was spotless, just what we needed. Great location, quiet so you can get rest but not too far away from the town centre and pier so you can enjoy Skegness. Breakfast in the morning was nice and hot, thoroughly enjoyed. Will definitely book again.
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Monsell Hotel, General Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 6 Jun 2024
Dear Guest, thank you for your great review, it is so nice to have real genuine nice guests like yourself give reviews. We really enjoyed your company at the Monsell hotel and look forward to welcoming you back any time you wish as it was a pleasure having you stay at the Monsell Hotel and we hope to see you again soon, once again thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£139
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £173
  • Trip.com
0.5 miles from The Monsell Hotel
Free parking
Beachfront
£98
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
1.2 miles from The Monsell Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
flowers in the seating area
£86
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £86
0.6 miles from The Monsell Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.1 miles from The Monsell Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Streetview of The Eastleigh
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £78
  • Expedia.com
    £80
0.4 miles from The Monsell Hotel
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.0 miles from The Monsell Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Algotels
  • eDreams
  • Skyscanner.com
0.5 miles from The Monsell Hotel
Coasters Hotel & Apartments
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    £131
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
0.5 miles from The Monsell Hotel
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
    £109
  • Booking.com
0.5 miles from The Monsell Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £73
  • Agoda.com
4.3 miles from The Monsell Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Skegness
Reviews (399)
Filter reviews
400 results
Traveller rating
238
68
29
16
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
238
68
29
16
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews couple of nights brilliant location tea and coffee facilities sea front an enjoyable stay night's sleep few minutes walk a lovely stay lovely room lovely hosts short break town centre great weekend breakfast was delicious family room seafront paul
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 400 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2024 via mobile

Mould in bedroom and bathroom. Carpet with previous people rubbish on floor. Stains on the bedding. To much to mention. Dirty footprints in bathroom. Plastic p***s holding curtains up. Shocking. Finger marks around door handles wallpaper coming off the walls due to damp damage.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Monsell Hotel, General Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2024

You have raised some concerns about the service that you have had at the Monsell hotel. Please be assured that we will look into this for you and let you know, however if you have problems in any hotel in the future please go to reception and ring the bell, staff are on site 24/7 to report them straight away rather than going home and putting a review on the Internet when things can no longer be sorted out. The Monsell Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2024

Arrived much earlier than expected, and was warmly welcomed by the friendly and helpful hosts, who let us check in and have our room straight away - which is very helpful when you have children.

The room was a good size and the beds were "super comfortable!" according to my 4 year old. The shower was good and the large windows gave the room an airy feel, with good ventilation.

Parking is easy, the distance to the town and seafront is an easy 5 minute walk. Reception has a good supply of snacks and drinks and breakfast is available.

Overall a really nice stay for our mini break. Yes, some of the furniture needs an overhaul, but it all works, it's great value and you can clearly see the hosts are investing in the property, and genuinely care that everything is fine - which it was. Thank you.

Room tip: If parking isn't available at the hotel itself, there's plenty of on street, free and unrestricted parking in the surrounding roads.
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silverstoneben
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Monsell Hotel, General Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2024

Dear Guest, thank you for your great review, it is so nice to have real genuine nice guests like yourself give reviews. We really enjoyed your company at the Monsell hotel and look forward to welcoming you back any time you wish as it was a pleasure having you stay at the Monsell Hotel and we hope to see you again soon, once again thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2024

On arrival staff member was really pleasant. Excellent location, parking on site and very cheap. However room was tired and not clean, bathroom was dirty ie sink toilet shower. You got a fob for main door as reception wasn't personed all the time. We were travelling so didn't bother unpacking we just slept got up early and left... We didn't see any staff to tell them of complaints so dropped keys and left.....

Room tip: N/a
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Monsell Hotel, General Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2024

Dear Guest, thank you for reviewing our hotel, we are pleased you found our staff friendly, liked the free parking,
you have raised some concerns about the service that you have had at the Monsell hotel. Please be assured that we will look into this for you and let you know, however if you have problems in any hotel in the future please go to reception and ring the bell, staff are on site 24/7 to report them straight away rather than going home and putting a review on the Internet when things can no longer be sorted out. The Monsell Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2024

Easy check in done on phone before arrival, got a parking space easily enough, our room was quite large on ground floor with en-suite
Good basic accommodation , bed was comfortable, had tea making facilities in room
Only negative was no blackout curtains
Got very bright very early
Good position easy walk into town
Will definitely stay again

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandi201226
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Monsell Hotel, General Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2024

Dear Guest, thank you for your great review, it is so nice to have real genuine nice guests like yourself give reviews. We really enjoyed your company at the Monsell hotel and look forward to welcoming you back any time you wish as it was a pleasure having you stay at the Monsell Hotel and we hope to see you again soon, once again thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2024 via mobile

Good welcome on arrival and good to see a (limited) range of refreshments on offer including large bottles of water at great prices.
Spacious hotel and room very clean and functional, shower good and hot. Very comfortable nights sleep after a foray into Skeggie’s evening life. Unfortunately cannot report on breakfast but I’ll do my best next time!
Thanks you guys.

Room tip: Good street parking if the spaces are all used up
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank SouthCoastRichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Monsell Hotel, General Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2024

Dear Guest, thank you for your superior review, it is so nice to have real genuine nice guests like yourself give reviews. We really enjoyed your company at the Monsell hotel and look forward to welcoming you back any time you wish as it was a pleasure having you stay at the Monsell Hotel and we hope to see you again soon, once again thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews