We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in a great position!”
Review of The Laurels Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Laurels Hotel
Ranked #55 of 92 Skegness B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I'm struggling to understand the negative reviews on here, I can only think that they went to a different hotel to me! I stayed in this hotel during a trip to Skegness, and the thing that has stayed in my mind was that the room and common areas were spotlessly clean. We booked a double en-suite room, which was spacious and well furnished. The lady owner was very bubbly and sociable, and helped us with a few local queries. Breakfast was plentiful and well cooked. Seaside towns like Skegness always have some excellent hotels and some terrible ones, and this is one of the best. I'm pleased with my stay and have recommended the hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lesley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 34 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

My stay in August 2013 was the worst experience I have ever had. The hotel was in disrepair, it was dirty, cobwebs everywhere, you could not see the carpet for the bits on it. The room was advertised as a double and that was the price I paid, but I could not even describe it as a large singe. There was a three quarter bed in there with 1 chair, not enough room for two people by the side of the bed.
There was no customer service provided by the owner, a particularly rude person with no manners and clearly lacked any sociable skills. I was told when I dared mention the lack of cleaning in our room that our price paid for this room was allowing her to go off on a cruise.
I would not advise anyone to stay at this so called hotel, there are plenty of others on the road and they are just as competitive as The Laurels and take the management of a hotel very seriously.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LuLu007WestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

After staying at the Laurels for a long weekend we found the owners couldn't do enough for us . The breakfast was very good and the rooms were good with T.V and ensuite ,good location & value for money

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Berridge2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We loved this hotel the hosts were warm and welcoming couldnt do enough for you
the rooms were clean and tidy with every thing you would expect
I would definitely stay there again
it is ideally placed on the front at Skegness

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigphillip14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Myself and my grandparents visited this hotel at the beginning of May and after looking at the hotels website we thought it would be an ideal place to stay due to its location etc.... However we was VERY disappointed with the standard of service we received!.. I dont know have the owners have the cheek to advertise that they have a 'bar' as the 1st night we was there we thought we'd have a quiet drink in the hotel. The so called bar had hardly anything to choose from including the simplist of soft drinks and so we decided to have a can of beer which was advertised at £2.50 a can, which to our surprise when the owner asked us for £3 per can, we pointed out the notice that said £2.50 she replied 'oh no they are £3 now!'... left stunned by this we returned to our family and didnt think anything else if it until the next morning at breakfast. Normally in a B&B you pay for all your breakfast needs in the price however not with the Laurels, there was a sign sayibg you coukd only have ONE small glass of orange with your breakfast and any additional glasses would be charged at 50p a glass... again Shocking!!!... but not only were the owners tight with their orange juice, my grandmother made the mistake of helping herself to 2 pieces of Weetabix, to which the owner very rudely advised her she could only have 1 piece of Weetabix per person!..... I think they proprietors should be ashamed of themselves!.. oh and to add the rooms were small and dingey! Not worth the price and we will not be returning!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank Loubie_louxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurels H, Owner at The Laurels Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

I actually remember this couple as they had brought there grandparents to stay for a few days, although they only stayed for the one night, We do have a well stocked bar during the season but unfortunately the day they arrived I did not have many soft drinks in other than fresh orange juice and cordials,
But the following day I went and stocked up on soft drinks, I even asked her Grandma what she would like me to get her, the reason I remember is because I put myself out for them during there whole stay as I do all my Guests.
I even told them that when they wanted a drink to ring the bell upstairs and I would come up and serve them to save them climbing the stairs. as far as the price of the beers they are clearly priced at £3.00 which is very reasonable and I am just so shocked as to why they have left such a negative comment, and would make up lies.
At breakfast I do have a polite sign saying that more than one glass of orange juice is 50p a glass, this is just to deter people from taking advantage as some people do. but a s rule if anyone was to help themselves to another glass or to ask for another I would not say anything and would not mind at all.
As far as the weetabix, well that really is a lie as I would never say that to a guest, they may have 2, 3 or 4 if they wish and still have some other cereal and there full English breakfast with unlimited toast.
I am always very accommodating and very polite towards my guests, and have extremely good return trade. Never once did these people complain to me or say they were not happy, actually quite the opposite.
I am and will remain bewildered by this review,
I would just like to end by saying her Grandma could not praise the hotel enough as they had a very large room and were very well looked after, and they said they would look forward to returning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Poor accomodation for a family room. No drink in the room for kids. Every step taken trod on badly squeaking floor boards. Couldnt swing a cat in there for £75. VERY DISSAPOINTED. The host was not welcoming when we arrived. Cobwebs in the dining room. I say no more.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurels H, Owner at The Laurels Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2016

The Family rooms we have are very spacious as seen on the pictures. We provide soft drinks for children in our bar down stairs which is where you signed in on arrival, and there is Tea and Coffee in all rooms with cups. The water is also drinking water.
The Carpets have all been replaced this year and when doing so the Floor boards were also sorted.
We also have always taken great pride in our cleanliness.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skegness hotels
0.2 mi away
The Mayfair Hotel
The Mayfair Hotel
#14 of 25 in Skegness
40 reviews
1.9 mi away
Southview Park Hotel - Park Resorts
0.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#11 of 25 in Skegness
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#12 of 25 in Skegness
70 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Balmoral Guest House
The Balmoral Guest House
#7 of 92 in Skegness
111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Greystones Hotel
Greystones Hotel
#43 of 92 in Skegness
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Laurels Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Laurels Hotel

Address: 50 South Parade, Skegness PE25 3HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Skegness
Price Range: £68 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Laurels Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing