We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Skegness
nottingham
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Stayed here as we are looking to buy a static caravan and we like Best Western. Hotel is situated a few yards from the beach and sits just above the golf course. We stayed in 'the lodge' which is actually on the golf course and consists of just three rooms. It was very nice and comfortable - the only slight grumble we had about the room was the lack of an easy chair and coffee table. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is ideally situated just outside Skegness so away from all the hustle and bustle but with some fantastic walks along the beach.
We ate in the bar area as the menu in the restaurant was not to our taste. The food on both nights was good and there was plenty of it and it was not expensive. Although there was a golf tournament on it was never over crowded.
Breakfasts were good with a good choice.
All in all we would go back again but have now bought our static caravan at Anderby Creek so will be staying there but will definitely recommend it to any one else.

Room Tip: we stayed in the lodge which was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maureenb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William H, General Manager at North Shore Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for your review, and I have
passed these onto the staff.
I hope you have very enjoyable times
in your caravan, but look forward to
seeing you in the bar for a meal when
you are next this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    160
    77
    31
    20
See reviews for
108
185
17
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
aylesbury, bucks
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Recently took a group of 11 golfers. I had room 119, a turret room, a twin room with a king sized bed. Good sized room, views over golf course and some sea. I possibly had a better room as organiser, but no complaints from my party apart from shower pressure. Hotel only 100 yards from sea, good 15 min walk to town. Excellent breakfasts, excellent, large evening meals with a menu that changed each day. Snooker room. Golf course- links part in poor condition after dry summer and greens were poor, but I think we all enjoyed our round. The course mixes the links and parkland parts very well to give a lot of fun. £20 per round for hotel guests so very good value, just like the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david_anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William H, General Manager at North Shore Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Many thanks for your generous comments
following your receny stay at Northshore.
I have passed these onto the Team, and
look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skegness
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Called in for lunch Thursday 26th Sept. Not many people around at the time, first thing very poorly stocked bar (wines) My wife's roast lunch was uneatable and my cili con carnie was really mince. As the bar filled up with golfers and another party the lone barman was doing everything, there didn't seem to be any staff. We did get a refund for the roast lunch from the duty manager but all in all never again.
It is supposed to be a Best Western, so it needs to make its mind up whether to be a Golf Club or a Hotel./restaurant as we felt we were intruding on a social club, with all the reserved parking,notices everywhere etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William H, General Manager at North Shore Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
I was saddened to see your review regarding your meal
at the Hotel.
I can assure you this is not our usual standard, and can
only apologise on behalf of the Team.
The Hotel does have a mix of clients which does vary at different times
of the year. We do however try to keep a balance.
We only have 3 reserved spaces in our car park.
I would like to think you would give us another chance
at some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Visited this hotel yesterday as part of a day trip to Skegness and not wanting to eat the endless fish and chips. Wish we hadn't bothered. The main problem was too few staff - the poor lad on the bar was serving food as well and hadn't time to do either job properly. I had steak - which came burnt on the outside but almost fitted the description of 'rare' (as I had ordered) within. However, I usually like a spot of Dijon mustard with my steak (in the absence of any other sauce, which there didn't appear to be on offer). Having asked the young man for this when he brought the meals to the table, I then had to go to the bar and interrupt his serving duties to get some. To give him his due, he did admit he had forgotten - not surprising really when he had so much to do, but that is not MY problem. The hotel seems to promote itself as being fairly high up the scale, when you see all the golfing associations (special car parking places for golfing committee members, special ladies' entrance for lady golfers, signs for customers to keep quiet when golfers are teeing off, etc etc) but this image doesn't tally well with packets of Heinz sauces (HP, salad cream, English mustard etc) on the table. Could have got all that at any of the numerous fish restaurants in town. I would have preferred a down-to-earth fish and chip meal instead of this pretence at a high-class environment. By the way, the ladies' toilets were spotless.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthYorkshireWoolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William H, General Manager at North Shore Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
I am sorry we did not meet your expectations
when you recently visited the Hotel.
I am sure you will see our previous reviews,
and that our reputation is very good.
I cannot make up for your disappointment but
assure you that if you return to us you will not
be disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed with 8 golfers over the weekend. The Pro shop is very well stocked, friendly and couldnt do enough for you, including changing tee times due to weather forcast. The course itself is great, challenging, with some great holes and views.
The hotel is in good condition, all the staff are great, the rooms good, but the food is superb. The restaurant menu was one of the best ive seen, great value and tasty. All 8 of us agreed it was the best meal/service we have had. The breakfast was just as good, a good range and great Full English.
This golf weekend is great value for money, we are coming back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olleysean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William H, General Manager at North Shore Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you for your response.It is nice for the staff
to receive recognition of their hard work.
I look forward to welcoming you back to
Best Western North Shore Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed a short walk from the hotel on our family holiday and spent quite a few evenings in the hotel restaraunt and bar.
We had a lovely family meal one evening in the Braids bar.
All the staff were extremely friendly and made us feel very welcome.
A special mention for Amy on the bar as she was the star of this excellent hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffteeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William H, General Manager at North Shore Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Many thanks for your review, which has been passed onto
the Team. Amy is over the moon with her special mention.
Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skegness, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

It was our wedding on the 24th August 2013 , having been let down badly by the previous manager at the hotel we were glad when Bill became manager and finally things started moving what a diamond he is just so hard working and thoughtful thank you Bill for making our day so special and not to be forgotten . The food is to die for and just too much to eat ,same goes for the night buffet , not one person complained about anything at all so if you are looking for a wedding venue please consider north shore and BIll and his team they will NOT let you down . Nothing was too much trouble they all bent over backwards to make our day the best . THANK YOU BILL AND THE TEAM FOR OUR SPECIAL DAY .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William H, General Manager at North Shore Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Many thanks for your outstanding comments.
Your comments have been passed onto the
Team. It was a truly memorable day, and will
live with me forever.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skegness hotels
1.7 mi away
Best Western Vine Hotel
Best Western Vine Hotel
#6 of 26 in Skegness
502 reviews
1.7 mi away
Southview Park Hotel - Park Resorts
1.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 26 in Skegness
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Links Hotel
The Links Hotel
#7 of 26 in Skegness
273 reviews
0.7 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#5 of 26 in Skegness
434 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#9 of 26 in Skegness
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Shore Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Shore Hotel and Golf Club

Property: North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
Address: North Shore Road, Skegness PE25 1DN, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN North Shore Hotel and Golf Club)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Skegness
#9 Romantic Hotel in Skegness
#12 Family Hotel in Skegness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — North Shore Hotel and Golf Club 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on our own James Braid designed 18 hole golf course and next to the beach many of our rooms offer unrivaled views for Skegness. From breakfast in our oak paneled restaurant, lunch in the Braid Bar, a choice of 3 course TDH evening dining or extensive bar menu to the quick nightcap before bed we aim to make your stay with us as enjoyable and relaxing as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your North Shore Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Shore Hotel Course

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing