We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT SEA FRONT HOTEL WITH EXCELLENT MANAGER”
Review of County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
County Hotel
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Skegness
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT SEA FRONT HOTEL WITH EXCELLENT MANAGER”
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Stayed for just the one night in May. The hotel is in an excellent position, being on the main seafront road. Literally 5 minutes walk to the beach, amusements, pier, shops etc but no rowdiness as the hotel is further along Nth Parade. Art deco style hotel, it must have been wonderful when first built, although modern now, it retains a few decorative touches from yesteryear.
Free parking is included in the price of the room, and is secure and out of the way.
There is a lift available.
The hotel was very clean and the room spacious. I had room number 36 which had views of the sea and promenade.
Double bed with bedside tables and reading lamps, large desk containing kettle/tea/coffee etc along with drawer storage. Double wardrobe with extra pillows & blankets, remote control lcd tv, hairdryer and large mirror. Bathroom was a full size bath with shower over, washbasin and loo. Complimentary soaps.
Breakfast was included in the price and consisted of a choice of cereals/ fruit & juices and then either a full english or lighter option of eggs or smoked kippers. Toast and preserves were bought to the table along with tea and/or coffee. A table is reserved ready for each room at breakfast.
The hotel seems to cater mainly for more mature customers, 2 coaches full were there at the same time as us, so although the atmosphere in the hotel was buzzing, there were no late night noises to contend with.
Lastly, if you really wanted to stay in a hotel where you were warmly welcomed by the manager then stay here. The manager Ross is a jolly scot who is fantastic in his job. Having just met us for the first time ever when checking in,and having a full hotel, he remembered our names the next morning when greeting us at breakfast. Marvellous man doing a marvellous job.
We would certainly return here without hesitation.

Room Tip: Room 36 had side views of seaside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank HOLIDAY-A-LOT-BUNCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    146
    40
    7
    18
See reviews for
92
166
28
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, Hampshire
Level Contributor
453 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

The County Hotel is towards the Northern end of North Parade - this makes it a little quieter than hotels nearer the centre - yet it is a very convenient location.
The hotle first opened in 1935 and retains some of the original character although it has clearly been updated over the years. We were greeted by name by the manager (Ross). He ws very friendly and helpful - also knowledgable aboiut local restaurants. The hotel has a fir sized car park at the rear - which is free - but as the hotel serves quite a few coach parties, space can get taken very quickly. It was basically full when we arrived mid-week on a cold May day at about 4.30pm.
The hotel has a reasonable bar and a restaurant - but given the focus on coach parties dinner is served early - 6.30, and it's probably not a good option if you want to be a bit more private.
The breakfast was reasonable, with a good choice of cereals and fruit as well as the traditional English breakfast - kippers were also on the breakfast menu.
Although just the two of us, we were given a family room (no.19) which is one the side of the hotel, but has something of a sea view. The room was large, well equipped and clean. Everything worked. Good sized bathroom with bath with shower over. Room was great for two, but I think would be crowded for a family - it had a double and two single beds.
We booked on-line and were happy to pay £65 for bed and breakfast

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rexbarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I liked the hotel, but was disappointed in the entertainment. They have a beautiful dance floor but did not use it. the other floor was on hire to line dancers. We were left with a little lounge and the floor was carpeted so was not good for dancing.
We only went thinking we would get dancing

Room Tip: we were on the first floor but did not have a sea view. Room was still nice and clean.Never heard an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank marion678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Stayed here for one night in April as we were going to the Embassy Theatre to see a band. We actually live quite locally, but thought we'd have a full night out in Skeg Vegas without the hassle of a 15 mile taxi trip post alcohol!
The County came up very reasonably priced on a hotel search site and as this was a governing factor we went for it. Ross the manager gave us a very warm welcome on arrival and gave us an upgrade to our booking, which was a much appreciated surprise.
Because we arrived quite late we literally dumped our bags in our room, went down the sea front to The Embassy which is about a five minute walk away and had our night out.
One thing that surprised us on our return later that night/morning was the night porter warned us that the lights were off in the hotel and he wasn't kidding! Because we were slightly the worse for wear we never got to the bottom of it (whether it was a temporary fault or the norm), but we literally had to fumble our way up several flights of stairs and down pitch black corridors by the light of a mobile phone! Not the best when you're sober, but after a skin full......our apologies if we disturbed anyone!
The hotel itself is a grand old building with hints of art deco and past grandeur, unfortunately it is quite bland and un-inspiring, particularly upstairs, with long drab corridors and plain functional bedrooms.
This is not a major criticism as such because it is quite functional and clean, which is for most people the most important factor, but it is a shame when you look past the façade and see what it could have been.
We had a good nights sleep in the hotel and had an excellent breakfast the next morning, which was much needed, with attentive staff and Ross himself taking an active part in the serving.
All in all we had a decent night at the County and would stay again as it was very good value.

Room Tip: Book early, ask for sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambs
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Excellent all round value. Very clean rooms, great food, wonderful staff - nothing too much trouble. Hope to visit again. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

we arrived at the county easter monday and even though the hotel was full there was plenty of room in the car park . We were greeted at reception by Ross the larger than life general manager ,he knows everyone by name . The room we had booked had a sea view, was well decorated and very clean . The food was quickly served even though the hotel was full . There was plenty of choice for all 4 courses and it was all very tasty . The 1930's hotel has a lift that looks original more like a goods lift but it works ok . The tv in the room is new and is chained to the drawers it stands on (not very trusting ). There was also entertainment most evenings which was quite good .

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I find this hotel to be Excellent value for money, location is fab. Staff are all professional and thorough when serving breakfeast in the morning....Breakfeast is outstanding! i would say the best in skeggness. lots of choice and top ups. Rooms are nice and warm, just what you want when you have young children. The manager has always made me and my family feel welcome therefore i would not go anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaela_rhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skegness hotels
1.1 mi away
Best Western Vine Hotel
Best Western Vine Hotel
#6 of 26 in Skegness
502 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 26 in Skegness
250 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Links Hotel
The Links Hotel
#7 of 26 in Skegness
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
0.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#9 of 26 in Skegness
573 reviews
1.7 mi away
Southview Park Hotel - Park Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Hotel

Property: County Hotel
Address: North Parade, Skegness PE25 2UB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Skegness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — County Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing