We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“County hotel Skegness”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
County Hotel
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Skegness
Certificate of Excellence
Hull, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“County hotel Skegness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

I went to this hotel with my girlfriend for one week and the staff are very polite and helpful especially the manager ross who was a great help. This was not our first visit to this hotel and will not be our last as its in a great location and can accommodate any need you may have

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    142
    38
    7
    18
See reviews for
86
165
28
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

Myself and two friends took an over 55's coach tour staying at this hotel. The manager must have had a bit of a personality transplant that week as we found him to be slightly overbearing and not always helpful. Hotel was clean. The single room I had was of an adequate size with a sideways sea view . As stated before meals were a little bland at times and the mashed potato served at many times was lumpy! Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lynda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnsley
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

Stayed for one night at the county hotel Staff very friendly and the manager likewise.As we booked
In we were asked to select what we wanted for our evening meal.The room was clean and quiet
Acceptable.The evening meal was served at a breathtaking pace,the next course,arriving as you digested the last,although the waitress was very pleasant.The meal was rather bland and tasteless,cabbage and watery gravy.At the end of the meal we felt obliged to leave as the tables near to us we're set for breakfast.
Breakfast was sfrictly portion control,one sausage,one rasher of bacon,one spoon of beans small scrambled eggs.the weakest porridge I have ever tasted ,rock hard toast
would suggest staying for b&b,forget the evening meal

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johngBarnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

As a young boy we went to Skegness for many years staying in flats and apartments. The County Hotel was a place I could only dream of staying. This weekend I full filled my chidhood ambitio: with my wife and parents we have just spent the weekend at the two star County Hotel. The general manager Ross was very hospitable and friendly, the waiting staff in the restaurant the same. The county is an Art Deko hotel and whilst our double sea view room was comfortable but the ensuite bathroom was on the small side. The public areas are in need of re-furbishment but they are acceptable. We stayed on a dinner bed and breakfast rate, the food is not fantastic but for what you pay it is good, dinner consists of a 4 course's with tea or coffee to finish. The Breakfast menu is good and the food was very good. Fresh brew coffee is available throughout the day and is free to residents.
For what we paid I consider this hotel good value for money and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: My parents had room 57 a double seaview room with a good ensuite bathroom, very good I had room 27...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

What a wonderful holiday we had at the County Hotel. Ross you should be so proud of yourself and your staff, from the moment we arrived till we departed I felt like a Queen. Food was excellent, rooms were spotless and all staff were so lovely and made us so welcome. Also like to thank Pete our driver (Glenton) lovely chap, great driver. Ross =(aka ironboard lady) thanks for a great holiday, we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandie45041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

I must write to you all and encourage you all to stay at this marvelous hotel, the food is absolutely great, and more than enough with 4 courses, all as excellent as one another. Ross the manager is brilliant nothing is to much trouble for him, my 5 year old Grand daughter Sydney is quite shy, but Ross is like a shining star to her, she loves him. The other staff are also brilliant, especially Amy who is always smiling and looks after you like you are the only clients there. The rooms are clean and spacious and the bed sheets look brand new every time, I would advise anyone who is looking for a home to home experience to visit the County Hotel and we are returning in 5 weeks and it cant come soon enough x

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mummysydneyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Stayed for just the one night in May. The hotel is in an excellent position, being on the main seafront road. Literally 5 minutes walk to the beach, amusements, pier, shops etc but no rowdiness as the hotel is further along Nth Parade. Art deco style hotel, it must have been wonderful when first built, although modern now, it retains a few decorative touches from yesteryear.
Free parking is included in the price of the room, and is secure and out of the way.
There is a lift available.
The hotel was very clean and the room spacious. I had room number 36 which had views of the sea and promenade.
Double bed with bedside tables and reading lamps, large desk containing kettle/tea/coffee etc along with drawer storage. Double wardrobe with extra pillows & blankets, remote control lcd tv, hairdryer and large mirror. Bathroom was a full size bath with shower over, washbasin and loo. Complimentary soaps.
Breakfast was included in the price and consisted of a choice of cereals/ fruit & juices and then either a full english or lighter option of eggs or smoked kippers. Toast and preserves were bought to the table along with tea and/or coffee. A table is reserved ready for each room at breakfast.
The hotel seems to cater mainly for more mature customers, 2 coaches full were there at the same time as us, so although the atmosphere in the hotel was buzzing, there were no late night noises to contend with.
Lastly, if you really wanted to stay in a hotel where you were warmly welcomed by the manager then stay here. The manager Ross is a jolly scot who is fantastic in his job. Having just met us for the first time ever when checking in,and having a full hotel, he remembered our names the next morning when greeting us at breakfast. Marvellous man doing a marvellous job.
We would certainly return here without hesitation.

Room Tip: Room 36 had side views of seaside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank HOLIDAY-A-LOT-BUNCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skegness hotels
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Vine Hotel
BEST WESTERN Vine Hotel
#6 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.7 mi away
North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#10 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Links Hotel
The Links Hotel
#5 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Eastleigh
The Eastleigh
#2 of 26 in Skegness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Hotel

Property: County Hotel
Address: North Parade, Skegness PE25 2UB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Skegness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — County Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing