We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The County Hotel for me!”
Review of County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
County Hotel
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Skegness
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The County Hotel for me!”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I'm Steve from Arnold in Nottingham and having been a regular visitor to Skegness for decades and having stayed in many hotels and guest houses let me say that I believe the County to be the cream of the crop.

Look at its virtues:

excellent location - only 5 minutes walk from all amenities and night life but not so close that you'll be kept awake at night.

a lovely spacious and very well designed hotel with a warm and cosy feel that envelops you from the moment you walk in.

there is no need to worry about getting in too late as a night porter is on duty throughout the night and will let you in as soon as you ring the bell.

a superb breakfast with a great deal of choice served by pleasant and attentive staff

ample car parking on site which not too many Skegness hotels can boast of

a word must also be said for Ross Muirhead the manager - this man was born to run a hotel - he genuinely wants your stay in his hotel to be nothing less than perfect.

he is thoughtful,approachable and amicable at all times.Nothing is too much trouble for him.
in fact having stayed there regularly for the last 7 years I would go as far as to say that the County wouldn't be the County without Ross.

go on - give it a try!

Room Tip: if you're a couple ask for a seaview this is the icing on the cake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gina Vanessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    146
    40
    7
    18
See reviews for
92
166
28
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DERBY
Level Contributor
70 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

I regularly stay in this hotel. Ross the Manager is always warm and welcoming.Even at busy times of year he will always have time to speak and be very helpful to all guests. The rooms are clean and pleasant some with sea views. Breakfast is always good and well-structured and the staff always friendly.Very close to the beach and all the facilities in Skegness.There is a small lift and ramps for those who have trouble with steps and you will always find someone to help.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter but rooms at the front have a lovely seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STEVE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2012

I went to this hotel with my girlfriend for one week and the staff are very polite and helpful especially the manager ross who was a great help. This was not our first visit to this hotel and will not be our last as its in a great location and can accommodate any need you may have

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Myself and two friends took an over 55's coach tour staying at this hotel. The manager must have had a bit of a personality transplant that week as we found him to be slightly overbearing and not always helpful. Hotel was clean. The single room I had was of an adequate size with a sideways sea view . As stated before meals were a little bland at times and the mashed potato served at many times was lumpy! Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lynda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnsley
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Stayed for one night at the county hotel Staff very friendly and the manager likewise.As we booked
In we were asked to select what we wanted for our evening meal.The room was clean and quiet
Acceptable.The evening meal was served at a breathtaking pace,the next course,arriving as you digested the last,although the waitress was very pleasant.The meal was rather bland and tasteless,cabbage and watery gravy.At the end of the meal we felt obliged to leave as the tables near to us we're set for breakfast.
Breakfast was sfrictly portion control,one sausage,one rasher of bacon,one spoon of beans small scrambled eggs.the weakest porridge I have ever tasted ,rock hard toast
would suggest staying for b&b,forget the evening meal

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johngBarnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

As a young boy we went to Skegness for many years staying in flats and apartments. The County Hotel was a place I could only dream of staying. This weekend I full filled my chidhood ambitio: with my wife and parents we have just spent the weekend at the two star County Hotel. The general manager Ross was very hospitable and friendly, the waiting staff in the restaurant the same. The county is an Art Deko hotel and whilst our double sea view room was comfortable but the ensuite bathroom was on the small side. The public areas are in need of re-furbishment but they are acceptable. We stayed on a dinner bed and breakfast rate, the food is not fantastic but for what you pay it is good, dinner consists of a 4 course's with tea or coffee to finish. The Breakfast menu is good and the food was very good. Fresh brew coffee is available throughout the day and is free to residents.
For what we paid I consider this hotel good value for money and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: My parents had room 57 a double seaview room with a good ensuite bathroom, very good I had room 27...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

What a wonderful holiday we had at the County Hotel. Ross you should be so proud of yourself and your staff, from the moment we arrived till we departed I felt like a Queen. Food was excellent, rooms were spotless and all staff were so lovely and made us so welcome. Also like to thank Pete our driver (Glenton) lovely chap, great driver. Ross =(aka ironboard lady) thanks for a great holiday, we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandie45041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skegness hotels
1.1 mi away
Best Western Vine Hotel
Best Western Vine Hotel
#6 of 26 in Skegness
502 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 26 in Skegness
250 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Links Hotel
The Links Hotel
#7 of 26 in Skegness
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
0.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#10 of 26 in Skegness
570 reviews
1.7 mi away
Southview Park Hotel - Park Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Hotel

Property: County Hotel
Address: North Parade, Skegness PE25 2UB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Skegness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — County Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing