We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm And Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
County Hotel
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Skegness
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Warm And Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

Just back from a weekend stay at the County Hotel.
Been there several times and it never ceases to amaze me how friendly and warming the staff re towards the guest. Lead by Ross the manager they simply can't do enough for you, whatever you want you get it, and with a smile too.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew P, Hotel Group Operations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Many thanks for your positive review

I will pass this on the Ross and his team at the County - Skegness and I am sure they will be very pleased to read your comments.

Once again many thanks

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    142
    38
    7
    18
See reviews for
86
165
28
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
coventry
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

We were at this hotel over New Year. 14 of us. The staff were so warm and friendly, nothing was too much trouble to make our stay enjoyable. My single room was very nice (no.38) The only thing I thought needed replacing in my room was the pillows, they were very flat. But my friends were fine, and I'm sure if I had asked they would have replaced them. ..The meals were very nice, with plenty of choice. The bar was on the ground floor, and entertainments room on the first. Staff did a waitress service with drinks, so I think it would have been better to get a bar upstairs as there is plenty of room. Two out of the 3 nights, the entertainment was good, I wasn't too impressed with the first night, a quizz and bingo, but some would probally like it...It did end quite early, but not on New Years Eve, that carried on until after 12.30am. Everytime we went out in the coach the manager stood in the cold to wave us off, and on our last day a lot of the staff joined him. The bus stops right outside the hotel to take you further along the coast.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abigailCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew P, Hotel Group Operations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2013
Many thanks for your comments and was gald to read you and your party enjoyed their stay.

I am sure that if you had asked for a different pillow it would have been replaced immeadiately.

I will forward your kind comments on the the management and staff who willbe very pleaed to recieve them.

Once again thank you.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

I have stopped at this Hotel on a number of occaissions, with my friends on our 'meet's'.
Everything about this hotel has been 'A1' on my visits, friendly obliging staff who are alway's helpful, always clean, super accomodation and food, a very helpful manager in Ross. I look forward to my next visit, very soon. Highly recommended, ( Deserves another star at least! )

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haparangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew P, Hotel Group Operations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Many thanks for your feedback with reference to the County hotel - Skegness and the team.

The team will be proud to read your comments of which I will be passing on to them shortly.

Once again many thanks..

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

Have been to the County Hotel several times and I find it to be welcoming from both Management and all staff who have now become part of my extended family. Great time had there by all in our Party and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Hotel to anyone. The Staff are to be commended for their attention to the Hotel Guests.. Thanks Gang, all your efforts, very much appreciated.
Keith

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tyrosmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew P, Hotel Group Operations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. I will make sure Ross and his team are aware of them

Once again, many thanks

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, united Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

This Hotel gave us great service. Staff are second to none. We had the use of a lovely ballroom. The food was well cooked and quite a lot of variety also. We have been going for the two years, and are looking forward to another stay in March

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew P, Hotel Group Operations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Thank you for your kind coments with reference to the management, staff and the hotel.

I am sure everyone at the hotel will be proud to read them.

Once again, many thanks.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmarthen
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

My wife and i go on a long weekend twice a year to meet up with some good friends and we find the county hotel exelent .the manager Ross and the staff all make sure you are well looked after and go out of the way to make sure your stay with them is pleasant as possible the rooms are clean and well looked after .the meals are very nice with plenty of variation .on our visits you are treated like being part of there family . i would definately recomend you pay this hotel a visit we will be going again in March and October 2013

Room Tip: Corner rooms arelarge and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew P, Hotel Group Operations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Thank you for your generous comments re your weekends away at the County Hotel - Skegness. We are very proud of the team there and they will be please to read your comments.

Once again many thanks

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

We have just returned from a 4 night Christmas break at the County Hotel, Skegness.
This hotel is a grand old 1930's style building and one can imagine the fabulous parties and balls that must have been held over the years. Today, it is a warm and comfortable place to spend Christmas. Our package with Grand UK Holidays included breakfast, lunch and dinner and could not be faulted. It even included a trip to Horncastle on Christmas Eve, and a visit to the panto at the Embassy Theatre on Boxing Day.
The standard of the food was excellent and Christmas Day lunch was superb. The kitchen is run with military precision and each course was served within minutes by the friendly servers.
All this was supplemented by live entertainment in the ballroom every evening.
Of course, service such as this does not come without a good team of staff, and this was headed
up by the inimitable Ross Muirhead, whose enthusiasm was infectious! He personally arranged quizzes and appeared as Santa to distribute presents at the Christmas lunch.
Many thanks to Ross and the County Hotel team for making our Christmas so good.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew P, Hotel Group Operations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments about your Christmas stay at the County Hotel - Skegness.

Both myself the manager and his team are always please to read good comments as we are to constructive comments. I am sure Ross and his team will be very please to read them.

Once again, kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skegness hotels
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Vine Hotel
BEST WESTERN Vine Hotel
#6 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.7 mi away
North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#10 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Links Hotel
The Links Hotel
#7 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Eastleigh
The Eastleigh
#3 of 26 in Skegness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Hotel

Property: County Hotel
Address: North Parade, Skegness PE25 2UB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Skegness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — County Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing