We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (680)
Filter reviews
680 results
Traveller rating
231
228
125
51
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
231
228
125
51
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buffet breakfast sea view single room sunday carvery coach trip lovely hotel south parade one night stay town centre enjoyable stay lovely room clock tower sea front weekend break evening entertainment great weekend tlc
Filter
Updating list...
522 - 527 of 680 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Pleasant and comfortable room overlooking the sea. The hotel is elegant although a little faded - but that added to the charm. Hotel staff friendly and breakfast good, Would recommend a meal at the Bollywood restaurant - food very tasty although service a little forgetful.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank lucyflan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This is a throw back to a more tranquil era. The hotel itself is well worn, but is fine for a couple of nights. Beds comfortable enough, breakfast very nice. Good value for golfers, and only a few minutes form Seacroft

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We were a group of 11 adults and spent a very enjoyable weekend at the Royal. The staff were very polite and helpful. The breakfast was 1st class with as much as you could eat. We had a meal in the Viceroy which is part of the hotel and again the staff and food was 1st class. The bar had a fair choice and 1 cask ale. The bedrooms were good but a bit tired. Overall we would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank porchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I was one of 90 delegates who spent an enjoyable weekend at the Royal May 24th - 26th. the rooms were of reasonable size, the hotel was a lovely old building steeped in history. The bar and lounges were comfortable and the restaurants well presented with good food.
They also serve excellent Indian food in the attached Bollywood Balti House.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the sea have the best aspect.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1969fred13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

My wife and I spent 4 days at the royal last week, we were very lucky with the weather, he plumbed for an upgraded room, which as small lounge opening on to balcony bedroom and bathroom. plenty of room, the staff really were nice and helpful.
What I like about this hotel apart from the excellent value for money is that it is a proper hotel with plenty of sitting areas. there are two restaurants and the foodis served efficiently in a friendly manner, good value wines and excellent breakfast. Like any hotel there is room for improvement, agree with comments about litter on balcony, I would prefer no pets but understand this is a difficult one, overall very good, they do try to please.

Room Tip: check on location of rooms, go for rooms over looking sea
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews