We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cancelation after booking earlier in the year.”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Skegness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2013

July 2013
Disgusted with the Royal Hotel Skegness that they should ring up the tour operator Nova Tours that my 88 year old mother usually goes on holiday with to say that they were over booked and cancelled several single already booked rooms with the tour operators visit 3 days before their arrival.

I hope that the other people looking forward to their holiday as much as my mum were also disappointed. Mum unfortunately this year suffered a spell in hospital herself and also became a widow after loosing her husband in late February 2013.

I did some research on the internet looking at the Royal Hotel in Skegness previous to telling mum what a nice place it seemed to be which boosted her ego and was so looking forward to it. Now she is back down on a low ebb as at this time of the year it is almost impossible to book another holiday to replace the one she had as they are already booked up for the rest of the season.

My opinion is that this hotel had no consideration for the people it has disappointed leaving the time to tell them 3 days before their arrival to inform them of the cancellation. Its unprofessional and Irresponsible as they have lots of time to review and check their bookings before hand.

May be the hotel might like to console my old very unhappy disappointed mother. I think that its not first come first served its more about cancel the single rooms for the nice old dears and lets let them out as doubles and make more money seeing as the sun is shinning and lots of people are looking for rooms

I now rest my case from a disappointed son of a very nice old and unhappy mother.

Be careful when you book this hotel, there is no guarantee you will get your room especially if you are a single person !!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
8  Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 614 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2013

firstly i would like to say i totally disagree with the last 2 reviews although the atrocious spelling means i could not understand what fredtheterrier was trying to say! i had a single room-216-as did my dad-room 210-both having a sea view,plenty of storage space,comfy bed,spotlessly clean everywhere, a good size bathroom with fluffy white towels, a bath and a shower. yes ,the dining room staff were foreign but we had no problem with communication-they were young,friendly,efficient and very hard working and as we were leaving they came out to wave us off. the food was very good-always hot and served on hot plates,plenty of choice at mealtimes including vegetarian. a lady staying in the room opposite me had her dog with her and me being an animal lover we often chatted-she was happy with all aspects of her dogs stay.as for making your own toast this is common in many hotels here and abroad-i would rather do this than have cold chewy toast from the kitchen which has been made for some time.imporovements were in progress during our stay-good to see our money being reinvested. there were small areas needing a lick of paint or new flooring and i am sure the owners are aware of this.the day we left promised to be a scorcher so the hotel gave us all a free bottle of icecold water which rounded off a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: costs more but ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PontypoolSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

party of 13 stayed at the hotel which we booked direct with them. Varioys types of rooms booked from premier with Balcony to a family room. The rooms are very clean and a credit to the cleaning staff. Hotel is great and staff equally so - nothing was too much for anybody from storing and hiding the cake to allowing us to decorate our parents room with balloons.
Short walk into Skegness but very peacefully situated. Meal in the English restaurant was wonderful, the only drawback was we did not have time to sample from the Indian restaurant which smelt fantastic!
Overall a lovely weekend and would definitely stay again. Special thanks to reservations for arranging everything.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Pleasant and comfortable room overlooking the sea. The hotel is elegant although a little faded - but that added to the charm. Hotel staff friendly and breakfast good, Would recommend a meal at the Bollywood restaurant - food very tasty although service a little forgetful.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank lucyflan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This is a throw back to a more tranquil era. The hotel itself is well worn, but is fine for a couple of nights. Beds comfortable enough, breakfast very nice. Good value for golfers, and only a few minutes form Seacroft

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We were a group of 11 adults and spent a very enjoyable weekend at the Royal. The staff were very polite and helpful. The breakfast was 1st class with as much as you could eat. We had a meal in the Viceroy which is part of the hotel and again the staff and food was 1st class. The bar had a fair choice and 1 cask ale. The bedrooms were good but a bit tired. Overall we would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank porchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I was one of 90 delegates who spent an enjoyable weekend at the Royal May 24th - 26th. the rooms were of reasonable size, the hotel was a lovely old building steeped in history. The bar and lounges were comfortable and the restaurants well presented with good food.
They also serve excellent Indian food in the attached Bollywood Balti House.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the sea have the best aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1969fred13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skegness hotels
1.3 mi away
North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
2 mi away
Southview Park Hotel - Park Resorts
0.4 mi away
Best Western Vine Hotel
Best Western Vine Hotel
#6 of 25 in Skegness
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#11 of 25 in Skegness
281 reviews
0.8 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#2 of 25 in Skegness
485 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Links Hotel
The Links Hotel
#7 of 25 in Skegness
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: South Parade, Skegness PE25 3EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Skegness
Price Range: £47 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Renaissance Hotel is a lovingly restored elegant Victorian Hotel situated within it's own grounds in Skegness, Lincolnshire, with spectacular landscaped gardens and breathtaking sea views. A private family run hotel with caring and professional service from the moment you arrive, ensuring that you will visit Skegness and The Royal Renaissance Hotel time and time again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Skegness
Royal Hotel Skegness
Skegness Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing