We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“turkey and tinsel”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Skegness
Certificate of Excellence
yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“turkey and tinsel”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

we went here on the 4th November for the turkey and tinsel break we have been here a few times before and have enjoyed it , but we were very disappointed this year as it was the same time as bonfire night so it was over crowded with non resident people the entertainment at night was rubbish it was the same people as last year and there was only two nights out of the four that entertainment was on. the toilets downstairs had a leak in the roof which I reported , the bedroom toilet was very small and when you went to the toilet the door of the bedroom caught on the bed,the bar service was slow and you had to wait for the receptionist to come and serve you and some of the staff were rude, On the plus side the meals were nice

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    199
    107
    43
    36
See reviews for
134
262
24
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Phew..just back from yet another Pinfield Weekend at the Royal....yet again superb stay...best yet..always come away thinking it cant get any better but always manages to surpass itself every time. ..Hotel brilliant for price as usual... staff exceptional as always...after many visits beginning to feel like a proper home from home..Cant compliment Annat and the staff enough...always smiling and always keen to help...Must also congratulate the Bollywood next door ...brilliant steak night and service to match.....roll on next visit...SUPERB...ps Big Thanks to Brian for all his efforts in organising our stay ....Big Big thank you to all concerned.

Room Tip: Pick a Pinfield weekend if you havent tried it before, you wont be dissappointed....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

had a perfect stay at the royal the hotel was clean, as was the room
and the breakfast was bob on with plenty to choose from.
the staff were very helpful too
we both enjoyed our stay
we will definitely be returning

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt19702013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

great location. staff very friendly and helpful.
The room was clean and had plenty of space, we stayed in the family room.
the only thing I would say is that the bathroom was tiny and anyone above average size would struggle to move in it.
The breakfast was delicious and the waiting on staff were lovely. Can also recommend the Bollywood indian restaurant there great food

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gingerdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The Royal is in a great location and the staff are fine. Parts have been refurbished and the rest needs to be done. The main concern is that rooms on the floor above reception/bar/function rooms are not sound proofed. On our first night we needed an early night but we could not even hear the television as the music etc was so loud, it might just as well have been actually in our room. We comlpained and were moved. As this must happen a lot why are people booking not told? Tip - ask for the 4th floor!

Room Tip: Rooms above floor 3 are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tozilch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

we have been here few times before, always been pleased with everything.
stayed for the duvalie celebrations we had a brilliant time
the staff were very friendly nothing was to much trouble for them.
the rooms were kept very clean the house maids did a really great job looking after us nothing was to much for them

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank premierebill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Staff are very nice .. my room was ok until you tried to use the toilet...you had to sit on the toilet with your feet in the shower tray it was that small..... left for another hotel as I couldn't get any sleep due to the next room having their TV too loud...hotel did ask them to turn it down but they ignored them

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank 364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skegness hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Vine Hotel
Best Western Vine Hotel
#7 of 26 in Skegness
506 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 26 in Skegness
253 reviews
0.7 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#4 of 26 in Skegness
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Southview Park Hotel - Park Resorts
1.4 mi away
North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
0.3 mi away
The Links Hotel
The Links Hotel
#8 of 26 in Skegness
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: South Parade, Skegness PE25 3EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Skegness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Renaissance Hotel is a lovingly restored elegant Victorian Hotel situated within it's own grounds in Skegness, Lincolnshire, with spectacular landscaped gardens and breathtaking sea views. A private family run hotel with caring and professional service from the moment you arrive, ensuring that you will visit Skegness and The Royal Renaissance Hotel time and time again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Skegness
Royal Hotel Skegness
Skegness Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing