We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sunday Carvery”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Skegness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Haven't stayed at the hotel as were residents of Skegness but I know friends who stay there regularly and have never had a problem. But we would definatly recommend the Sunday Carvery and the Bollywood restaurant, we haven't found a better Sunday Carvery in Skegness at £5.95 and you get a loyalty card as well, after 4 meals it entitles you to a free sweet and your ninth Carvery is free.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank barbfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (606)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 606 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

As always had a fab time. We mainly come here to bring our two dogs who also enjoy themselves as the beach is less than 5 mins walk. The breakfast and food in general is very good and excellent value for money. Janet on the front desk is a credit to the Hotel always so friendly and pleased to see all four of us!!! It's like home from home our room which we have every time we visit is large and always clean. We shall still come for our little breaks this is our 5th time.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sals60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Not been to Skegness before but heard about it !! Anyway, I thought we better look at the top end Hotels based on 'hear say' and I took the TA reviews and booked it.
It really deserves an 'Excellent' based on the 'superior room' we booked (326) overlooking the sea, with a walk out balcony , sitting area with huge flat screen , huge bed, seperate bathroom and seperate shower room too including the best English breakfast I have had in a long time. However, the jewel in the Royal crown, was the Bollywood Indian restraunt ! Fantastic. All at a price that would make you blush, You should not be disappointed and Skeg' is better than I thought too.

Room Tip: 1st floor front rooms have sea view and balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jr_walker70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Still here whilst wrting this. Would just like to say after reading the negative reviews we were a little worried. However, could not fault anything. Staff courteous and very accomodating. I couldn't get tv signal on arrival this was resolved straight away. Evening meal and breakfat fantastic. I honestly feel sme people want 1st class servive on a shoestring budget. Would defentatly recommend and will return.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndyW_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

On reading reviews I can not understand the awful comments about a member of staff.
We have stayed at the Royal many times and cant praise the staff highly enough, as for the member of staff who got a slating in one review all I can say is Rob's always been very helpful, kind and caring whenever we have been to the hotel and we believe him to be a real asset to the place we just miss him being behind the bar.
Jen & Dave Whiting

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed at the hotel on Friday 2nd May what a fab hotel great bar even better restaurant room was fine for what we payed every thing was perfect had a great nite until we went to reception there was a guy working on the nite no name badge but overheard one of the bar staff call him rob all I can say in all my years of staying in different hotels and b and b's I have never met such a arrogant nasty person every question seemed to be a problem totally unhelpful and such a shame as prior to our experience with him we couldn't praise the hotel enough to our friends and family over the phone will we return maybe yes if they sort there reception staff out.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms stay clear of rob!!!! Behind reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stayed here for one night last weekend - had a lovely stay. Rooms are a little tired but very clean. Large bathroom with bath and separate shower! Had a fantastic meal in the Bollywood restaurant. Food and ambience were both excellent (at reasonable prices). Will definitely come back again and bring our friends.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Atul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skegness hotels
0.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#11 of 25 in Skegness
278 reviews
2 mi away
Southview Park Hotel - Park Resorts
0.8 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#3 of 25 in Skegness
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Vine Hotel
Best Western Vine Hotel
#6 of 25 in Skegness
544 reviews
1.3 mi away
North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
0.3 mi away
The Links Hotel
The Links Hotel
#7 of 25 in Skegness
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: South Parade, Skegness PE25 3EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Skegness
Price Range: £45 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Renaissance Hotel is a lovingly restored elegant Victorian Hotel situated within it's own grounds in Skegness, Lincolnshire, with spectacular landscaped gardens and breathtaking sea views. A private family run hotel with caring and professional service from the moment you arrive, ensuring that you will visit Skegness and The Royal Renaissance Hotel time and time again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Skegness
Royal Hotel Skegness
Skegness Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing