We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay at The Royal”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Skegness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Just returned from a two night break . We enjoyed our selves very much .The reception staff were very polite and helpful .We had a lovely room .The breakfast was self serve buffet with cereals yogurts fruit and full English including hash browns and mushrooms When things ran out it was soon replenished Also you helped yourself to toast .All very nice . We enjoyed it so much we have booked for one of there 4 night bbem breaks for September . Can't wait .

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank fluffyblackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (600)
There are newer reviews for The Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 600 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have just returned from a weekend at The Royal hotel, we paid extra to go in a superior room but was very disappointed, first of all we could not get in the room with the swipe card so had to go to reception so he then gave us a key, the room was small but had a nice view of the sea and gardens, shower room very small, no hairdryer, iron or ironing board in the room, but did receive one from reception when asked, the next day the maid never came to our room to clean it or even to replenish the tea and coffee.
The picture of the rooms on the internet are not always what you get so be aware.
The bollywood restaurant has offers on the internet with wine, but when we asked for the meal deal they said it was only on Tuesday, did not state anything on internet.
All in all i think the hotel was very overpriced for what we received

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed in this lovely hotel during a mini break in Skegness. It was our first time of visiting Skegness and wasn't sure of its location. On arrival, the reception area was very pleasing and details at the check-in was explained. The gardens were spacious, with chairs and tables for those who chose to have a relaxing drink outside and there was plenty of parking spaces. Our room and en-suite was a bit on the small side, but adequate for our stay. The location was really good, just a short walk to the clock tower and beach. We visited the beach nearer to the hotel, which was peaceful and quiet, further up to the centre it was busy but had a nice holiday atmosphere. There is plenty to see and do in Skegness and the weather during our stay was hot and sunny. The breakfast was brilliant, with a help yourself type of service. The food was delicious and plenty, even at busy times, with continuous re-stocking of mushrooms, hash browns etc. and as I am a vegetarian, there was still plenty of choice. The bar had a relaxing feel and although we didn't go into the entertainment room, it appeared busy with people enjoying themselves. Overall, we had a really nice time in a lovely hotel, and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Have just returned from a 2 night stay to attend a wedding, elsewhere in Skegness.
On first impressions the hotel appears a little tried, the front fountain doesn't work thoroughly and a wall to the right of the front door is partially collapsed.
On walking In, however, the guy on reception was really friendly and attentive. Explained everything we needed to know and booked us a table for the Indian on site restaurant for that evening.
The room 323, superior double. Was spacious and clean, however, decor very tired. Definitely needs some sort of refurb. Bed was a little uncomfortable for me, but my husband was OK. The bathroom was a good size, but the shower hose was damaged, but working.
Anna, one of the waitresses was excellent. Friendly, attentive and chatty, great asset to the hotel.
The Bollywood Indian restaurant was great, food superb and price great. Breakfast was also good.
I feel that the price we paid is not reflected by the standard of decor in some places in the hotel, especially the room we stayed in.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caz6556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We took my 92 year old mother to The Viceroy restaurant for her birthday lunch. Our party was very pleased with both the food and the service. The waitress was very attentive and kept checking to see if all was to our satisfaction. The hotel also organised a birthday cake which was served complete with candle - not the full 92. Well worth a visit for a quiet lunch. We shall return.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Retired_Traveller-65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed for one night June 2013 and again this year. Your opinion of the Hotel will depend on which room you are allocated. Last year we had a reasonably sized double room with a full bathroom and a view towards the sea. This year we had a small double with a miniscule shower room and smells from the kitchens! Although the weather was very humid it was impossible to open the windows as the extractor fans from the kitchen (Indian resteraunt) were right outside.
Our friends room was so small that the wash basin had to be in the room, no room in the shower room, and your feet had to be in the shower to use the toilet! The beds are incredibly hard,we did find everything clean but very tired. The whole hotel looks in need of a makeover.
We ate in the Bollywood resteraunt, the food was very poor and the service worse.
We only go because of an annual charity cycle ride from Derby to Skegness and next year we will have to find another Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a large double with a bath. It will cost extra though
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bluejaybirddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My family and I are regulars to Skegness to visit family and have stayed in a number of hotels, this has to be one of the worse we have stayed in. The room intoxicating bleach oder as least reassured me that the room had been cleaned however it did not look like it! Pubes or small curly hairs in my bed and stains on the duvet. Bed was extremely hard, however I suppose eau to their own, this was not my style of mattress. Bar area was nice, and breakfast was slightly more than edible. I tried to sit on the toilet and had to sit at an angle as the bathroom was so small I did not fit facing forwards. The room didn't have a hair dryer, I mean what hotel doesn't have a hairdryer, so I had to walk to reception, which was quite a trek with soaking wet hair and pay £5 to borrow one. It also really felt that they were doing me a favour staying there and the receptionists were rude and miserable. To sum up, awful staff, disgustingly pungent room, lacked basic hotel requirements, and generally just not a very nice place to stay! My advice, do not stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HotelContemplater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skegness hotels
0.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 25 in Skegness
265 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Vine Hotel
Best Western Vine Hotel
#7 of 25 in Skegness
529 reviews
2.0 mi away
Southview Park Hotel - Park Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#3 of 25 in Skegness
468 reviews
1.3 mi away
North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
0.3 mi away
The Links Hotel
The Links Hotel
#6 of 25 in Skegness
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: South Parade, Skegness PE25 3EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Skegness
Price Range: £50 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Renaissance Hotel is a lovingly restored elegant Victorian Hotel situated within it's own grounds in Skegness, Lincolnshire, with spectacular landscaped gardens and breathtaking sea views. A private family run hotel with caring and professional service from the moment you arrive, ensuring that you will visit Skegness and The Royal Renaissance Hotel time and time again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Skegness
Royal Hotel Skegness
Skegness Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing