We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for short break”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Skegness
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Good choice for short break”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Spent a weekend in Skegness in August and stayed here in a family room. It is a nice hotel with a unique décor and some lovely grounds. The location is great as you are near the front and central area but also slightly removed which is more peaceful. The hotel has it's own parking which is a further bonus. The breakfast at the hotel was good although we didn't eat there of an evening so can't comment.
The room was clean but undersized for the furniture in it. The bathroom in particular was tiny and it was a bit of a squeeze to do anything in there.
Overall though we thought the Royal Hotel was a good choice offering a bit more than a standard B&B for a decent price.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HeartoftheCountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    199
    107
    43
    36
See reviews for
134
262
24
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We booked to stay here as we were attending a wedding reception held at the hotel. Hotel is in a good location and there is plenty of free parking. The check in member of staff was friendly, however there was a mix up with our rooms. We had booked two twins but one was made up as a double. In the end this didn't affect us as one member of our party couldn't attend. I'm sure if this was an issue it would have been resolved promptly. The rooms were basic yet spacious with comfortable beds and large TV's. They were however in need of updating, as was the whole hotel to be honest. I was disappointed with the cleanliness of the bathroom however, I found hairs in the sink, the bath wasn't clean and the surfaces were dusty. The reception was held in two adjoining rooms which were perfect for the amount of guests. The bar staff were fantastic, everyone had a great time. Breakfast was also great, choice of cereals, toast, yoghurts and a cooked buffet offering the usual - best of all it's all you can eat and was included in the room price. Staff were polite and friendly. Overall I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rls26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I returned from this hotel last thursday and must say i wont be returning.firstly on the positive side,i had room 405 which was a single room and had a very comfortable bed in there, next positive hotel in great location,plus great beer garden and lovely happy chappy who works behind the bar but he dosent start till 8pm. Ok heres the negatives the hotel is very dated,deffo needs a new roof as my sister stayed in room 401 and had water coming through ceiling so had to be moved rooms,cleaning of my room was not up too standard as was black hairs in shower,and also long black hair in my cup which put me off making my cup of tea,not mine as im blonde.also hole under sink in bathroom.i paid 49 a night. Which is rather expensive for the room i had,think this hotel could be great if only the owners would spend some money on it.you only have to look at the roof too see it needs replacing.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaela f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a week fron the first of August, the Hotel looks ok from a distance but a closer inspection reveals all its flaws, our en-suite room was tiny, you had to put the kettle on the floor and unplug the TV to make a hot drink, the shower was either a red hot or stone cold dribble, the pigeons that roost on the gutters wake you up at 05:00 every morning, the cleaning staff give the rooms a basic tidy and change towels but nothing is actually cleaned, the same applies to the bar area where dead flies and moths accumulate on the window cills, why is there no dedicated barman? Prepare for a long wait at the bar if the reception is also busy as it seems to be job share, don't expect to be able to get a snack in the afternoon either, all food stops at 14:00 and resumes at 19:00, the advertised bouncy castle was never inflated the games room, when open, is a dump, outside tables are rarely cleared and the grass is never cut.
On the plus side, Breakfast is self serve and was nicely cooked
Overall, too expensive and in decline, there are far better B&Bs in Skegness,

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Reidy111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

stayed at the Royal for 2 nights as the weather was brill and fancied a couple of days away last minute. Hotel is in a good location just up from the clock tower with plenty of free parking. room clean and spacious. breakfast buffet style which was lovely. 2 restaurants on site including an indian which was nice. staff friendly and helpful

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed in Room 207 for six nights from 20th. July 2014 with Alfa Holidays. On arrival it was our misfortune to be their thousandth coach and we were expected to gather for a group photograph - however, we managed to avoid this, but were nevertheless refused the key to our room by reception who were under instruction. After travelling since 0700 in the morning all we wanted to do was go to our room, settle in and have a wash.
The room was clean, tidy and well serviced. The beds were very comfortable and the TV picture (unusually for hotels) was perfect throughout our stay. We were also pleased to see no Gideon Bible hidden away in one of the drawers! What did let the room down was the bathroom, it was very small, cramped and badly designed. The basin was so small it was difficult to avoid hitting your head on the wall and using the toilet was awkward as your knee hit the basin pedestal. The shower head fitting was too high and the shower taps loose in the wall, also the non slip mat, if you used it, tended to block the shower water outlet. The floor tiles had loose grouting and other gaps were evident that had not been properly filled with sealant.
The decor throughout the hotel was very opulent and the ceiling 'dome' in reception quite remarkable. Staff were always dressed smartly and couldn't have been more helpful and friendly.
Self service breakfast in the restaurant was excellent. Evening meals were served promptly and the quality/quantity generally very good, although the soup and vegetables were cold on one occasion. Bar prices were good for a hotel.
Outside on the sea side (the sea was not visible from ground level), and was this the front or back, several people got confused over that, there was some pleasant seating in the garden area. A minor problem here was if a car pulled in to the car park and it was a bit windy, the dust went everywhere, maybe a hard surface should be considered. Indeed, a hard surface in both front and back car parks would also reduce early morning noise.
The hotel is conveniently located for the town shops and attractions, being about ten minutes walk away. There was plenty to do and something within easy walking range to suit most interests.
We plan to visit again next year.

Room Tip: Maybe go for a bath and not a shower in the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Planned a visit to Skegness including a one night stay with a friend. We were given room 419, a twin with en suite and a sea view. The room was very spacious and we even had our own small corridor between our room and our en suite. There was a small, clean kettle and two good sized mugs with UHT milk and branded teas and coffees, with fresh milk available upon request. There was also a small-ish tv which was a good size for the room and the amount of use it had. The room also had two good sized mirrors, one of them floor length, which we found really handy when getting ready in the morning as we didn't have to fight for the mirror!! There were a couple of easy to get to plug sockets near the mirror which was handy for phone charging and hair styling.
The beds were very comfortable and the bedding was fresh and clean, I ended up sleeping like a log.
The staff on reception were very friendly and efficient and were very helpful whilst checking us in and out again.
I was surprised that there was no hair dryer in the bedroom, but was told that I could have rented one from reception for £5.
The breakfast was of good quality, but there wasn't much of a continental choice for those who did not want a cooked breakfast.
The bar selection was quite poor and the gentleman who served me wasn't very knowledgeable about the products.
Overall, at £61 for two people to stay one night and breakfast included, I would definitely stay here again/

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosiegreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skegness hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Vine Hotel
Best Western Vine Hotel
#7 of 26 in Skegness
506 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 26 in Skegness
253 reviews
0.7 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#4 of 26 in Skegness
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Southview Park Hotel - Park Resorts
1.4 mi away
North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
0.3 mi away
The Links Hotel
The Links Hotel
#8 of 26 in Skegness
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: South Parade, Skegness PE25 3EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Skegness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Renaissance Hotel is a lovingly restored elegant Victorian Hotel situated within it's own grounds in Skegness, Lincolnshire, with spectacular landscaped gardens and breathtaking sea views. A private family run hotel with caring and professional service from the moment you arrive, ensuring that you will visit Skegness and The Royal Renaissance Hotel time and time again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Skegness
Royal Hotel Skegness
Skegness Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing