We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not for small famililes” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Skegness
rotherham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“not for small famililes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2010

Hotel not adequate for small families. Our family room wasnt ready when we arrived, toilet seat and flush was broken. No plug sockets at all in childrens side of the room for a night light. Both lamps were not working, so only light working was the main light which meant when the children went to sleep we had to keep the bathroom door open to have some light. Bathroom can only be described as a small cupboard. Toilet/small basin (water overflows everytime) and small cubicile. We have 2 children aged 2 and 5 and found it impossible to get them washed as the bathroom is only big enough for 1 small adult! Wall paper hanging off the wall! Location of hotel is great and the grounds are lovely. Our parents in law had a lovely seaview double room and a bathroom which was bigger than our bedroom! The only trouble is, this is probably the best you'll get in Skegness

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RotherhamWalshie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    183
    104
    39
    35
See reviews for
127
241
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

I stayed at the hotel for one night with having the last room avaibale. Having never been to skegness I was quite surprised and enjoyed the hotel. The room could have done with a bit of tlc but it was clean and fine for the price. It has a great location and we ate in the indian restaurant which we found brilliant - the service was especially good in there but also throughout the rest of the hotel everyone was really helpful.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amy089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2010

We were given a warm welcome at The Royal Hotel, a comfortable stay in friendly surroundings. The gardens were lovely and a safe place for children to play.
Positive: Location, Friendly helpful staff who ensure every guest is happy and looked after. Well stocked bar with reasonable prices and plenty of car parking.
The food was amazing, the breakfast is a full English Breakfast using great quality local produce. The chef even came out and told us that he sources all the ingredients locally.
One small criticism is that the portions are really large and came away after having put on a few pounds!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmoneypenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2010

This was a group booking of 4 rooms - in total this booking was worth approx £700 to the hotel. The standards of each of the rooms varied from abysmal to just satistfactory. The worst one was the double room that I stayed in. The room smelt so bad it was truly disgusting, the hotels answer to this was to spray half a can of air freshener and open the window! The room was dirty and really small. The en suite...ERM Cupboard! was well, small!

The receptionists attitude was disgraceful and couldn't have cared less, the manager could do with going on a customer service course.

I could go on...I'd like to know why this has got 3***'s

We will not be going ever again

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2010

Well where to start? Despite having a good experiance two years ago here, the hotel is now AWFUL! As soon as we stepped into the room, the strongest, mustiest smell hit mine and my parnters face making us both heave it was that bad. The room itself was extremely small, very dirty and seriously lacking in necessities such as plugs!
For £77 a night it was a joke! Despite my family having 4 rooms in the hotel, the receptionist was disinterested and rude and the manager seemed to take us for mugs and just chuckled as we complained. 3 of the four rooms we had were unlivable please please please avoid!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMiles1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
237 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2010

We were pleasantly welcomed and directed to an average sized room which had a panoramic view of the sea. The basics of cleanliness,and comfy beds were all there together witha woking toilet, shower/bath. The tea and coffee in the room were branded satchets without bIscuits. The slightly musty smell when opening the room door and the noise of the plumbing and neighbours on occassions through the night served to remind one that the hotel building dates from 1890. Breakfast was organised in a way which made it hard work for the staff and the beverages were served with an inconsistent quality that would have been overcome with a self service system.
As the last person to escape from a fire which made the BBC national news some years back, I still remember the total blackness created by the smoke and the worrying noise of glass and china exploding in the heat as I got to the exit. In the Royal our room was near the end of a long corridor which had no fire escape outside the normal entrance to the corridor and on several occassions I found the fire doors to the corridor had failed to correctly close. Experience has taught me the importance of knowing how to exit a building blind in an emergency. I would find it hard to believe that the fire precautions would get a safety certificate if this were a more modern building.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank st8sman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

This hotel is in a great spot,steeped in history,with loads of charm.
BUT and there is a but,only 5 tv channels the smallest shower / toilet Ive ever seen and no wifi.?
It seems to be a favorite with the coach parties no problem in its self but don't let the oldies kid you saying the young ones today are too noisy.
They all rolled to bed at least 1am banging and talking loudly.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank b0baj0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skegness hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Vine Hotel
BEST WESTERN Vine Hotel
#4 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.8 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#6 of 26 in Skegness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
2.0 mi away
Southview Park Hotel - Park Resorts
0.3 mi away
The Links Hotel
The Links Hotel
#7 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: South Parade, Skegness PE25 3EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Skegness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Renaissance Hotel is a lovingly restored elegant Victorian Hotel situated within it's own grounds in Skegness, Lincolnshire, with spectacular landscaped gardens and breathtaking sea views. A private family run hotel with caring and professional service from the moment you arrive, ensuring that you will visit Skegness and The Royal Renaissance Hotel time and time again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Skegness
Royal Hotel Skegness
Skegness Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing