We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel”
Review of The Sun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Sun Hotel
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Skegness
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We stayed at the sun hotel 6th november for two nights, what a great time we had. My husband and myself were not part of the coach trip, but was made to feel very much part of the group. Doris,Heather and all the rest of the gang thanks for a great weekend. We were made to feel very welcome by the owners Mark and Tina and not forgetting the lovely Dean. We had a good hearty breakfast,with plenty of coffee(thanks Dean) and very nice 3 course evening meal. The hotel was spotlessly clean,room very nice and spacious,cant fault the location, right on the sea front. Value for money we certainly got, and will return again. Thanks for a great stay...

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2011

My wife and I were on a National coach holiday last week. We could not fault anything about this hotel. Excellent accomodation, great food, and very friendly staff. Mark and Tina and their assistant manager Dean could not do enough for us. We will return.

Room Tip: Front rooms are a bit light at night at night due to the street lights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank kenneth h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

i found the staff t times at the hotel were rude
and when they come to take your meal orders at breakfast time for your evening meal they got your order wrong
also if you like carrotts you will love the hotel every meal comes with carrotts

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gary h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

i was recently lucky enough to find a spare room for bed and breakfast to stop at the sun hotel in skegness. myself and a couple of representatives of companies that supply me had a room each for a business meeting we had planned. we were VERY impressed with the way that the staff went out of their way to help us with meals out of ordinary times especially as they were catering for a bus full of holiday makers as well.
full marks to the room staff as the rooms were perfect and very spacious compared to others weve stayed in.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank phil s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Stayed once again at this lovely hotel, very clean, friendly, great breakfast and in walking distance to all attractions

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Thanks to you all, for our stay with you on our holiday from Australia.We had a wonderful time and the rooms were very nice,comfirtable and clean. The meals were awesome and friendly service made our stay enjoyable, the entertainment was fanstastic and the bar prices were good. It will be a place to book in future when we return.
The Pritchard Family

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BrianPritchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Stayed in the appartment for a week. It is a nice spacious place, great for families. It needs a little maintenance though. One of the wall cupboard doors was hanging off and when it was reported, nothing was done, till it fell off. It was put back up but fell off again later in the week. The drawers in the twin room fell off everytime you tried to open them. There was only 3 chairs around the dining table, 4th person had to have their dinner on their knee on the sofa. Room key snapped in the lock.
Electric was paid by meter and card, I found this a bit 1970's, it should be included in the price.
Having said all that, the appartment was clean, had lovely sea views, a great balcony and was good value for money. The hotel owners are very nice and friendly. Car parking is interesting, it felt like a game of chess, moving cars around to squeeze everyone in.
All in all we had a good time but felt we were forever reporting things breaking or not working.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Christa1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skegness hotels
1.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#11 of 25 in Skegness
270 reviews
1.7 mi away
Southview Park Hotel - Park Resorts
1.1 mi away
Best Western Vine Hotel
Best Western Vine Hotel
#7 of 25 in Skegness
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#3 of 25 in Skegness
470 reviews
0.6 mi away
North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
1.0 mi away
The Links Hotel
The Links Hotel
#5 of 25 in Skegness
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sun Hotel

Address: 18-19 North Parade, Skegness PE25 2UB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Skegness
Price Range: £59 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing