We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Weekend”
Review of The Sun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Sun Hotel
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Skegness
Thornaby on Tees, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Lovely Weekend”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Just spent 3 Days at the Sun Hotel with National Holidays. Excellent Weekend. Made better by Good Service - Good Food and Clean and Comftable Rooms. Many thanks to Dean for seeing to my requests Nice Wine with a Nice Room. Thank You

Room Tip: Ask for a Sea View. Excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 402RobertC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    65
    31
    12
    8
See reviews for
45
103
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisbech
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Just spent New Year break at Sun hotel, with my wife and children aged 26 and 22, we stayed in the castle Veiw apartment (can be used as self catering ),we thought the apartment was excellent plenty of room and a fantastic veiw from both main bedroom and the lounge.We had all our food in hotel and it was all good wholesome home cooked food.Right from the start of our break we were made feel very welcome not only by the owners Mark and Tina but by all of the hotel staff,Dean is there to help in any way he can. Entertainment over 3 nights, 2 of which we really enjoyed the third not for us but everybody else said what a great night they had, so all happy.The wife and i will definitely be back though the year and we are talking about having apartment for a week in summer as a self catering try. We all felt we had met new friends not just stayed in another hotel, THANKS ALL.

Room Tip: Romms with sea veiw superb, but very light at night time due to street lamps, i personally like this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

After visting this hotel in July 2011 and having a wonderful time, we thought we would give it a try for celebrating Christmas and we are so glad we did. Everything was spot on, food was delicious,rooms very comfortable and the staff joined in the festive activities the entertainment on each night was perfect. All in all it was a perfect Christmas and we would like to thank Mark, Tina and Dean for all they did, we will be back in 2012. So anyone who fancies a nice relaxing break with good food, clean rooms and exceptional service, this is the place in Skegness to be.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hilary f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

this is one of national holidays good hotels nothing was too much trouble tina gave me and my husband a loverly big room on the front and will be going back again in the summer

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank durhamtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We stayed at the sun hotel 6th november for two nights, what a great time we had. My husband and myself were not part of the coach trip, but was made to feel very much part of the group. Doris,Heather and all the rest of the gang thanks for a great weekend. We were made to feel very welcome by the owners Mark and Tina and not forgetting the lovely Dean. We had a good hearty breakfast,with plenty of coffee(thanks Dean) and very nice 3 course evening meal. The hotel was spotlessly clean,room very nice and spacious,cant fault the location, right on the sea front. Value for money we certainly got, and will return again. Thanks for a great stay...

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

My wife and I were on a National coach holiday last week. We could not fault anything about this hotel. Excellent accomodation, great food, and very friendly staff. Mark and Tina and their assistant manager Dean could not do enough for us. We will return.

Room Tip: Front rooms are a bit light at night at night due to the street lights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kenneth h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

i found the staff t times at the hotel were rude
and when they come to take your meal orders at breakfast time for your evening meal they got your order wrong
also if you like carrotts you will love the hotel every meal comes with carrotts

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gary h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skegness hotels
1.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#13 of 26 in Skegness
253 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Links Hotel
The Links Hotel
#8 of 26 in Skegness
282 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#25 of 26 in Skegness
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Premier Hotel
The Premier Hotel
#19 of 26 in Skegness
28 reviews
0.0 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#6 of 26 in Skegness
448 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Vine Hotel
Best Western Vine Hotel
#7 of 26 in Skegness
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sun Hotel

Property: The Sun Hotel
Address: 18-19 North Parade, Skegness PE25 2UB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Skegness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing