We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely weekend in a well run hotel”
Review of The Sun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Sun Hotel
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Skegness
cleveland england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“lovely weekend in a well run hotel”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

we spent a weekend from the 4th may till the 6th really enjoyed ourselves we travelled with national coaches , we had a lovely room with a small balcony room was ver clean and plenty of room for the time we spent in it.Food was good always hot bar maid was really lovely she really worked hard. Its the second time we have been to this hotel i have seen a difference with the decor and the rooms well done to you all hope i see you soon .

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pat o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    61
    30
    12
    8
See reviews for
42
102
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hyde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Just returned from a National 'break' at the Sun (Barbara, Margaret and the three Jean's). We had an excellent weekend and met lovely people. The hotel was very clean and the breakfast was first class, unfortunately the evening meal could have been a lot better. The evening entertainment on Friday 'Dale Diamond' was very good and everyone joined in singing songs from the 50's and 60's. Did ask for a little bit of Meatloaf but Dale preferred his 'Elvis'!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
192 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We have just had a three day break with National Holidays and I must say that this is the cleanest hotel that I have stayed in. The location is ideal as it is opposite the sea and the area is nice and flat. The meals were very good and plentiful. The rooms had everything that you needed and half of them at the moment have up market hairdryers, the rest are just waiting to be installed. A very warm welcome from Dean and staff. The staff had a lot to put up with whilst we were there and coped very well indeed. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. The beds are also very comfortable. We hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are very small but have everything that you need. We only used our room to sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank goldenoldie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We stayed at The sun hotel for 5 days with national holidays.The hotel and rooms were very clean and the beds comfortable.Staff were very friendly,the food was good and there was plenty of it.All in all this is a great hotel and I would definitely go back

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank satisfied7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I found this hotel fab! I said here about two years ago. And I recommend this to my customers at hays travel when they want to go to Skegness. Location was great and the hotel provide excellent customer service. No complaints here. Loved it. :) x

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laaureen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornaby on Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Just spent 3 Days at the Sun Hotel with National Holidays. Excellent Weekend. Made better by Good Service - Good Food and Clean and Comftable Rooms. Many thanks to Dean for seeing to my requests Nice Wine with a Nice Room. Thank You

Room Tip: Ask for a Sea View. Excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 402RobertC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisbech
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Just spent New Year break at Sun hotel, with my wife and children aged 26 and 22, we stayed in the castle Veiw apartment (can be used as self catering ),we thought the apartment was excellent plenty of room and a fantastic veiw from both main bedroom and the lounge.We had all our food in hotel and it was all good wholesome home cooked food.Right from the start of our break we were made feel very welcome not only by the owners Mark and Tina but by all of the hotel staff,Dean is there to help in any way he can. Entertainment over 3 nights, 2 of which we really enjoyed the third not for us but everybody else said what a great night they had, so all happy.The wife and i will definitely be back though the year and we are talking about having apartment for a week in summer as a self catering try. We all felt we had met new friends not just stayed in another hotel, THANKS ALL.

Room Tip: Romms with sea veiw superb, but very light at night time due to street lamps, i personally like this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skegness hotels
1.0 mi away
The Links Hotel
The Links Hotel
#6 of 26 in Skegness
273 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 26 in Skegness
249 reviews
0.0 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#5 of 26 in Skegness
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Vine Hotel
Best Western Vine Hotel
#7 of 26 in Skegness
501 reviews
1.7 mi away
Southview Park Hotel - Park Resorts
0.0 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#25 of 26 in Skegness
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sun Hotel

Property: The Sun Hotel
Address: 18-19 North Parade, Skegness PE25 2UB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Skegness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing