We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (311)
Filter reviews
311 results
Traveller rating
135
86
44
19
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
135
86
44
19
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews national holidays coach party lovely family run sea front coach trip third floor every evening meal times sea view lovely hotel lovely room thank you for a lovely full english twin room tea and coffee night break a lovely stay
Filter
Updating list...
231 - 236 of 311 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2012

just returned from the sun hotel from a 2 night break the staff were excellent made you feel welcome. food and entertainment was very good , rooms are spotless the sun hotel is five star great value for money didnt want to come home . i big thankyou to tina .mark and dean for making us very welcome WE WILL BE BACK VERY SOON thankyou again

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

" I have just returned from the sun hotel from a 4 night turkey and tinsel, well i have been on many turkey and tinsel breaks and this one has been the best by far, the atmosphere was brilliant, the staff were excellent and the food faultless.

I would like to also mention that the management put an extra night of entertainment on for us and in total we had 3 nights of live entertainment. Everybody was jolly and really in the Christmas spirit.

Many thanks to all the staff, Mark, Tina & Dean.
I WILL BE BACK"

Room tip: I Looked at a few rooms as a choice was given they all looked great.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We try and keep in mind that National Holiday breaks are generally cheap and good value for money so you can't expect 5* hotels or 5* treatment. The Sun Hotel leaves a lot to be desired even by National Holiday Standards. Our Tinsel and Turkey wasn't really festive at all and it is difficult to find anything positive to say about this hotel.
We believe the underlying problem is the lack of visibility of the owners of this hotel - they leave it to novices to run the whole front-of-house and it just doesn't work. Yes they try hard but that isn't good enough and the result overall is just under par for a National Holiday.
We read all the recent previous reviews and wander if we are being unfair - but then recall some of the incompetent, cynical, and unfriendly experiences we encountered in our short stay and stand by our claim that this hotel cannot be recommended.

Room tip: they generally are all the same and face onto the sides of the hotel. There are some sea view rooms but we don't think they are allocated to low-paying National Holiday guests
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShieldsDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Both me & my partner went for the turkey & tinsel this month.
We are both under 30 & didn't no what to expect..
It was fabulous and I laughed all weekend long. Hotel was fab, food was fab with a good choice.
Very clean rooms, entertainment was really good. Drink prices wer ok..
Lincoln was a good day out you get to stay there for 5 hours.

I will be going again as we enjoyed it that much.. Thankyou to everyone that made us laugh it will stay a good memory forever :)

Date of stay: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennyandshaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

me my husband barry & friends sue & gerry stayed at this lovely hotel 16th-18th november 2012.great hotel on the front,very clean & comfortable,bathrooms a bit small but u dont spend hrs in them,nice decor & beds clean & comfortable. food gd with a choice 4 vegetarians. entertainment on the fri night was gd but only a quizz & bingo on he sat nite so we went to club down the rd,stopped a couple of hrs as singer was c..p in fact one of the lads from our hotel got up to sing & he was great. we will def go back to the sun hotel, thanks 4 a lovely stay barbara & barry anderson & friends sue & gerry fawcett xxxx

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andersons2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews